Elizabeth R. (reidwifemommy) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 68 - Page:
The 1999 Women's Health Guide
The 1999 Women's Health Guide
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 8/14/2007


You'll find dozens of everyday questions, including: How much exercise is enough? Should I be taking mulitvitamins? What are the five medical exams I really need? How can I tell if I am eating right? Plus an easy to use reference guide with the best advice on 175 of the most common health problems for women. Make this your healthiest year yet.
(Summary taken from back of the book)


21 Steps To Happiness (Red Dress Ink)
21 Steps To Happiness (Red Dress Ink)
Author: F. G. Gerson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 6/2/2008


I have to write that I was disspointed in this book. I found it to be shallow in character development and decriptions of the atmosphere. At times I thought I was reading a drunk college exchange students journal, which is emphasized by the writer perodically breaking storyline to talk to the reader. I had to force myself to read it since I had waiting several months 'wishing' for it and reposted it as soon as possible in hopes that it is not lying around my house.


The Angel and the Warrior
The Angel and the Warrior
Author: Karen Kay
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 2/5/2008


As usual with Native American romance fiction, I am not keen on the cover art but I really enjoyed this book. A perfect Sunday afternoon read.


A Baby for Daisy (Conquering Heroes) (Loveswept, No 701)
A Baby for Daisy (Conquering Heroes) (Loveswept, No 701)
Author: Fayrene Preston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/9/2007


She was the kind of woman a man would always look at, even on this last day on earth, but when the lady in the barely there red dress suggested they make a baby together, Ben McGuire gazed at her with enough intensity to strip the varnish from the nightclub bar! Daisy Huntington regretted her impulsive words almost immediately but wondered if the man might just be worth the challenge. But when she found an aboandoned baby in her car minutes later, then quickly realized that violent men were searching for the child. Ben was her only hope for escape. Something in his cool gray eyes made her trust him and the electricity that arced between them was too delicious to deny.


Back in Black (SBC Fighters, Bk 7)
Back in Black (SBC Fighters, Bk 7)
Author: Lori Foster
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 236
Review Date: 2/6/2010
Helpful Score: 5


While not my favorite in the series I am glad Foster returned to planet earth. Back in Black is a good read, full of the humor, spice and steamy sex scenes I have come to expect and why I enjoy Fosters books. Two love stories are in this series but that does not detract from the book, they are not conflicting and I did not feel the main storyline was neglected or underdeveloped. If your a Foster fan I suggest you grab this book for a quiet night. If you have not read her work before start at the beginning of the series, but make no mistake that regardless of your feelings about My Man Micheal (I for one could not get through it) this book brings you right back to the ring.


Bad Boys Down Under (Bad Boys)
Bad Boys Down Under (Bad Boys)
Author: Nancy Warren
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 8/19/2007


A sexy fun read.


Bad Boys Online: Hard Drive / Press Any Key / User Friendly
Bad Boys Online: Hard Drive / Press Any Key / User Friendly
Author: Erin McCarthy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 7/23/2007


A fun read


Behind the Red Doors: Heaven Scent / Diamond Mine / Sheer Delights
Review Date: 9/24/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Out of the hundreds of mulit-story romance collections I have read this is my all time favorite. I enjoy the characters, how the stories are intertwined and that yes literally everyone in the book gets a romance. I really enjoy that the women in these stories have careers and their courtships only make them stronger women. If you read this and enjoyed it as much as I, my next suggestion is that you get Bad Boys Down Under (which is the only Bad Boys I will suggest to you) as it has all the reasons I enjoyed this book.


Bella: a novelization of the award-winning movie
Bella: a novelization of the award-winning movie
Author: Lisa Samson, Metanoia Films
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/1/2009
Helpful Score: 1


The title says it all, this book is 95% the movie. Now I am all for reading a book verses checking out the film but in this case since the film came first I would see the movie and skip the book. Even if you are a big fan of the film, the only significant thing in here is who is the father of the baby and well it seems to cheapen her instead of leaving the subject open ended as the movie did. Honestly if you really want to know send me a pm and I will tell you, you dont need the book for a few sentences. That being said the ending is a concluded with an extra sentence as well and no it is not I love you. But yes, the story continues as you hoped it would when you left the theatre. In my opinion and I am only leaving one since no one else did and as a big fan of the film I thought the book was not worth it, this is not a book that was made into a film it is a book created to contribute to spreading the message of the film (ie if you dont like movies). To put it simply rent the movie skip the book and dont bash the reviewer.


Bite Me If You Can (Argeneau Vampires, Bk 6)
Bite Me If You Can (Argeneau Vampires, Bk 6)
Author: Lynsay Sands
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 740
Review Date: 5/4/2008


I was actually surprised how much I enjoyed this book. Better than the back cover synopsis let on. Worth the reading time.


The Brass Bed (Brass Bed, Bk 1)
The Brass Bed (Brass Bed, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer Stevenson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 94
Review Date: 7/13/2008
Helpful Score: 11


A pink sky, pigeons who smoke, five pages in and I am wondering if Jennifer Stevenson would give me my money back. I am completely lost in this book, the storyline is all over the place, I worry about Jewels idea of 'great sex' that involves a swan and cannot figure out how with two men whom neither seem to appeal (other a good time) to Jewel this is a romance novel. I strongly suggest you skip it.


British Bad Boys
British Bad Boys
Author: Nancy Warren
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 5/4/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I adored Bad Boys Down Under so I thought to try this one by Nancy Warren and I dont find it to be enjoyable read. The stories are choppy, vague and lack character details. I realize it is a multi-story book but this does not even compare to Down Under.


Built to Last (Men at Work) (Loveswept, No 565)
Built to Last (Men at Work) (Loveswept, No 565)
Author: Lori Copeland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/7/2007


A fun read


Catch A Mate
Catch A Mate
Author: Gena Showalter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 209
Review Date: 3/14/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed this book. While the storyline premise might not seem to appeal to some people, myself being a bit of a skeptic in the begining, it was one of the top reads I have swapped. I plan on adding her upcoming Lords Of the Underworld trilogy to my wish list as it comes out this Spring/Summer 08. While it seems everyone is writing a paranormal romance these days I am certain her's will be apart from the norm and a delicous read.


Catch of the Day
Catch of the Day
Author: Kristan Higgins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 224
Review Date: 11/14/2007
Helpful Score: 8


I LOVE THIS BOOK!
It left me with a warm and cozy feeling. Not the traditional read for me, but I enjoyed that differences in the books I usual read. For example; we dont hear the male perspective, first adjective to come to mind for female leading character is Quirky, no description of sexual activities and contains a small town of easy to keep track of supporting characters. I seriously would watch this on say Lifetime or Hallmark.


Chambers Film Quotes
Chambers Film Quotes
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 8/14/2007


Over 200 celebrit quotations from hollywood movie makers, stars, directors, producers. "One thing's for sure. No child of mine will have a name like Kiefer." Kiefer Sutherland Young Miss, Jan-Feb. 1988


Cherokee Thunder (Conard County, Bk 2) (American Hero) (Silhouette Intimate Moments, No 463)
Review Date: 10/21/2007


Looking past the really bad cover art, I enjoyed this book a nice Sunday morning read.


Comanche Moon (Comanche, Bk 1)
Comanche Moon (Comanche, Bk 1)
Author: Catherine Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 159
Review Date: 11/3/2008
Helpful Score: 3


This is the first Anderson book I have read and while I found the length a bit larger than my usual reads I really enjoyed this book. I am usually not a fan of Native American historical works but this story is so real that I found myself immediatly immersed in the characters lives and world. A great and honorable story of how love can force us to lay down our fears of past hurts and the unknown.


Dark Defender (Paladins of Darkness, Bk 2)
Dark Defender (Paladins of Darkness, Bk 2)
Author: Alexis Morgan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 222
Review Date: 8/18/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I love this series and this book is the second one released. I enjoyed the humor and romance in this book.


Dark Need (Darkyn, Bk 3)
Dark Need (Darkyn, Bk 3)
Author: Lynn Viehl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 341
Review Date: 9/24/2008


I will admit to being a bit hesitant to review this book as I dont agree with the other reviewers. I disliked this book, to be honest I really was not up on this series from the get go and it seems to just get worse. I have issue with a book where the men are continually acting like jerks towards the women they supposedly love. There is protecting and caring for someone and then there is just making their decisions for them.
This book was the worst though, as a avid reader of vampire series I am constantly baffled by these books (I still cannot figure out why there are chapters on John when the main characters in the storyline get their developing romance shortened to not quite half the book) and while the fourth looks interesting it will be the last one I read as they all came at once. After reading almost every vampire series out there, I will not be finishing this one, because I don't care how it ends.


1 to 20 of 68 - Page: