Elizabeth R. (reidwifemommy) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 68 - Page:
Dark Protector (Paladins of Darkness, Bk 1)
Dark Protector (Paladins of Darkness, Bk 1)
Author: Alexis Morgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 226
Review Date: 8/18/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I was so glad I brought and read this book, it is the first in a series that I hopes continues for a while. I own and re-read them from time to time. It is a entertaining romp and I cannot wait til the fourth one comes out in (i think) Jan 08.


The Darkest Night (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 1)
The Darkest Night (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 1)
Author: Gena Showalter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 909
Review Date: 7/13/2008
Helpful Score: 11


While I am a fan of Gena Showalter, this once again is one of her fun to read but forgettable books. I get caught up in the moment while reading but a week or so later can't tell you what it is all about. This book is her take on the recent infatuation with immortals or otherworld beings. I enjoyed the premise of the book but I reccomend this only for a light and fun read. Seek out Sands, Ward or Joyce if you want a deeper reading experience. This book and from the excerpt for the next book is a 'beach' read.


Dates From Hell: Undead in the Garden of Good and Evil / The Claire Switch Project / Chaotic / Dead Man Dating
Review Date: 1/27/2008
Helpful Score: 7


So dissapointed in this book. The first story let me with a what? feeling and seriously wanting the ten minutes it took to read it back. The second story was not much better, I expected more from lynsay sands. Her story felt like she crammed for a final paper instead of developing a storyline and characters. The third story was a great improvement, so much that I plan on searching out more Kelley Armstrong books. The fourth story was the best but did not make the time I spent reading this book worthwhile.
If you have credits to burn I would order it for the last two stories,or if you want to say you read everything by Armstrong and Handeland. Otherwise look elsewhere.


Dead Right (aka Blood at the Root) (Inspector Banks, Bk 9)
Dead Right (aka Blood at the Root) (Inspector Banks, Bk 9)
Author: Peter Robinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/14/2007


'Every page here is readable and compelling' Washington Times

The broken body of Jason Fox has been found in a dirty alleyway. At first it looks like a typical after-hours pub fight gone wrong. But inspector Alan Banks soon realizes that the truth is rarely so straightforward...

Jason was a member of the Algion League, a white power organization. And there are many people who might have wished him dead: the Pakistani youths he insulted in the pub that evening; the shady friends of his business partner; or someone within the Albion League itself.

And just as Banks begins to get a grip on the case, an unexpected discovery forces him to reconsider everything he believes...

'It would be easy to become addicted to Robinson' -Observer


Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Dead Until Dark (Sookie Stackhouse, Bk 1)
Author: Charlaine Harris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2418
Review Date: 11/1/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I must admit if it was not for the HBO series 'True Blood' I would not have attempted to read this book again. It is an enjoyable read but seems to lack that certain depth that takes a reader into the 'storyline'. I don't imagine myself in the story as Sookie, I feel like I have found her diary. If you were even slightly interested in this series, I strongly suggest you check out the HBO TV series based on these books. There are direct passages from the book, but in my opinion the way the tv production has developed the character of Layfette is incredible to watch.


Designed to Die (Dallas O'Connor)
Designed to Die (Dallas O'Connor)
Author: Chloe Green
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/7/2007


Leggy, lippy, freelance stylist Dallas O'Connor (Going Out in Style, 2000) packs her Pradas, her knockoff Teyvas, and her appetite for Espresso Martinis and flies off to Seattle to beautify the Tobin-Charles fashion insert photo-shoot. Before it even begins, gorgeous male model Richard careens off the road in Mr. Tobin's fancy Porsche, and dies. Then another model breaks a leg and has to be replaced, and Dieta (still another member of the kissy-face one-name-only crowd), the insert's producer, is shot, and Ms. Charles is slowly being poisoned by someone tinkering with her designer-water bottles. A mysterious man with the world's sexiest voice keeps calling out to Dallas, who, while swapping bitchy wisecracks with Freddie the hair designer and creating to-die-for accessories out of vines and duct tape, tries to decide who's killing whom. Among the theories she considers are an Italian mafia vendetta; a Filipino mafia bendetta; a model war; Charles trying to eliminate her partner Tobin; money partner Thom Goodfeather ousting big-spenders Charles and Tobin. Eventually, Dallas and her chums on the shoot try a little vigilante justice on their suspected perp, and with a mildly surprising couple of twists, they're all headed back to the airport for other shootsâand more shopping sprees. High camp, Women's Wear Dailyâstyle, with an insider's knowledge of how to rip out a necktie's seams, iron it just so, and hand-stitch it to perfectionâas well as enough toney brand names to fill the designer floor at Neiman's.


Dragonswan (Dark-Hunter, Bk 1.5)
Dragonswan (Dark-Hunter, Bk 1.5)
Author: Sherrilyn Kenyon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 541
Review Date: 8/28/2007


It is certainly short, but I little too shallow. I would have rather read a longer book on these too characters.


Eating Heaven
Eating Heaven
Author: Jennie Shortridge
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 11/15/2007
Helpful Score: 2


A extrodinary story about one woman's journey of finding who she is and how she became the woman she is.


Fangs But No Fangs (Young Brothers, Bk 2)
Fangs But No Fangs (Young Brothers, Bk 2)
Author: Kathy Love
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 122
Review Date: 10/11/2008
Helpful Score: 3


While the first book began an interest in this series for me this book was well, forgetable. As in a month from now I will not remember what this book was about. If you have free time on your hands or a vacation coming up and want a lighter vampire romance than I reccommend this book and series. I you need to select reads carefully due to time and money then I would suggest taking a look at another series.


Fangs for the Memories (Young Brothers, Bk 1)
Fangs for the Memories (Young Brothers, Bk 1)
Author: Kathy Love
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 2/29/2008
Helpful Score: 6


Wow! I really enjoyed this book. A lighter version of the vampire story and I cannot wait to read the complete series about the Young siblings.
For fans of the supernatural romance I suggest reading these books. This is the first one in the series.


Fit For A King
Fit For A King
Author: Diana Palmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 8/27/2008


I really enjoyed this book, so much so that I have it on my bookshelf still. I enjoyed the strength Palmer gave the female character, so comes across as someone whom is not defined by love but rather enhanced by it.


The Glass Slipper Project
The Glass Slipper Project
Author: Dara Girard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 6/24/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Copyright in 2007. Was a enchanting book. I enjoy a little romance with a strong female character for my summer days and this book was that and more. An easy but fun filled read; about sisters whom all share a great beauty except for the oldest sister and when the new owner of their home comes to town they realize that they knew him in childhood and he realizes that beauty and the 'ideal' is not the only way to go.


Hard to Handle (SBC Fighters, Bk 3)
Hard to Handle (SBC Fighters, Bk 3)
Author: Lori Foster
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 428
Review Date: 5/4/2008


Once again another enjoyable read from Foster. While not the depth of storyline some romance novels now embrace, still a very cozy and sensual series.


Hawk O'Toole's Hostage
Hawk O'Toole's Hostage
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 7/24/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I throughly enjoyed this book. A strong warm read.


Highlander Unchained (MacLeods of Skye, Bk 3)
Highlander Unchained (MacLeods of Skye, Bk 3)
Author: Monica McCarty
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 190
Review Date: 1/27/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I enjoyed this book much more than I had anticipated. I would reccomend this book to anyone who is a fan of highlander series books.


Husband: Bought and Paid For (Silhouette Special Edition, No 1139)
Husband: Bought and Paid For (Silhouette Special Edition, No 1139)
Author: Laurie Paige
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/9/2007


Someone wanted Chicago heiress Jessica Lochhart dead, before she claimed her vast inheritance. And until she secured her fortune by marrying for one year, she'd have to stay in her gilded cage with sexy scowling bodyguard Brody Smith. So why not employ Brody as a hired gun and hired groom.


I Wish I Had a Red Dress
I Wish I Had a Red Dress
Author: Pearl Cleage
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 8/11/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I adored this book. A wonderful uplifting read that gives you more than readers escape but a uplifting feeling that lingers long after you are done reading. Or plainly I own this book and enjoyed it so much that I have not put it on paperbackswap (not being selfish just re-read it from time to time).


In Darkness Reborn (Paladins of Darkness, Bk 3)
In Darkness Reborn (Paladins of Darkness, Bk 3)
Author: Alexis Morgan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 156
Review Date: 8/18/2007


A engaging, stay up and read it in one night book. As a fan of the series I was a little hesitant about going off into the 'others' but I was not dissapointed.


Into the Wild (McGraws, Bk 2)
Into the Wild (McGraws, Bk 2)
Author: Beth Ciotta
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 10/3/2010
Helpful Score: 5


I saw this on display at the bookstore and cover art withstanding was intrigued by the story. Since lately I find myself not liking most of my new author tries I enjoyed this book and wanted to put it out there that if you like lighthearted romance that makes you grin then try this Beth Ciotta. Course this is the second in a series so you might want to start with the first one about Kylie. I am a big fan of Kristina Higgens and this is the closet author I have found to her style of writing.


Jemima J
Jemima J
Author: Jane Green
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1079
Review Date: 8/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I LOVE this book. It is easily on my top five favorites of all time.
The acceptance of self in this worlds narrow standards of beauty is a message served with warmth and humor in Jane Greens, Jemima J.


21 to 40 of 68 - Page: