Judy W. (dellrosie) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 47 - Page:
And So It Goes: Adventures in Television
And So It Goes: Adventures in Television
Author: Linda Ellerbee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 7/16/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Good history lesson and she's very funny.


The Animal in You
The Animal in You
Author: Roy Feinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/16/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This is a cute little book. It didn't really tell me much but it was fun playing with for a while.


Atomic Lobster (Serge Storms, Bk 10)
Atomic Lobster (Serge Storms, Bk 10)
Author: Tim Dorsey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 4/26/2011


OK, I'm a Serge fan and have been since Florida Roadkill but this one kind of disappointed me. I still love Serge's inventive way of handling people who upset him and his manic protection of Jim Davenport is endearing but I just wasn't much into this one. However, I am looking forward to Nuclear Jellyfish.


A Beautiful Mind: The Life of Mathematical Genius and Nobel Laureate John Nash
Review Date: 12/3/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A little bit of a hard read if you're not into mathematics but his story is fascinating a well-told.


Before Your Dog Can Eat Your Homework, First You Have to Do It: Life Lessons from a Wise Old Dog to a Young Boy
Review Date: 1/21/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This is a sweet "life lessons" book from John to his son, William but with a little twist. The actuals lessons come from John's beloved dog, Scoshi. I pleasant set of rules to live by. Quite enjoyable.


The Black Dahlia Files: The Mob, the Mogul, and the Murder That Transfixed Los Angeles
Review Date: 7/31/2007


This version seems more plausible than any of the others "Dahlia" books out there. The author, Donald Wolfe, lived in Los Angeles during the time and, although we was only in his teens when Elizabeth Short turned up in the vacant field on Norton St, he's been curious all his life about what actually happened to her. This is a pretty good "new" version of the short life of the Black Dahlia.


Blow Fly (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 12)
Blow Fly (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 12)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 716
Review Date: 7/31/2007


I didn't read this one. I just got a little tired of the family.


The Cases That Haunt Us
The Cases That Haunt Us
Author: Mark Olshaker, John Douglas
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 4/6/2014


If you're a John Douglas fan this book is for you. The cases he reviews here are the most well known and haunting even going back to Jack the Ripper. I had a little trouble with the JonBenet Ramsey discussion but not because I agreed or disagreed with his conclusion but because he went into so much detail that I was worn out when I got to the end of it. I enjoyed the book and would recommend it to anyone interested in profiling done right.


The Death of Innocence : The Untold Story of JonBenet's Murder and How Its Exploitation Compromised the Pursuit of Truth
Review Date: 5/2/2011


I realize now how the media can hang someone with little no evidence and innuendo. This is a fascinating book and I wish I had read it sooner.


Deception on His Mind (Inspector Lynley, Bk 9)
Deception on His Mind (Inspector Lynley, Bk 9)
Author: Elizabeth George
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 135
Review Date: 2/13/2007


Another great mystery from Elizabeth George. This isn't an Inspector Lynley story but rather a Barbara Havers story...he's not in it. But you'll be one step up if you read this one before you read the next Lynley since her actions in this novel are a big part of In Pursuit of the Proper Sinner-the next one in the series.


The Devil Wears Prada
The Devil Wears Prada
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1732
Review Date: 12/3/2006


Fun read! I hope the movie lives up to the sharp dialogue and mean spirit of the book.


Double Shot (Goldy Schulz, Bk 12)
Double Shot (Goldy Schulz, Bk 12)
Author: Diane Mott Davidson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 249
Review Date: 7/23/2006


Cute story and the recipes in the back sound great although I didn't try any of them.


Drop Dead Gorgeous (Suspense, Bk 1)
Drop Dead Gorgeous (Suspense, Bk 1)
Author: Heather Graham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 105
Review Date: 10/17/2006


Not great but a pretty good read.


Fair Game: How a Top CIA Agent Was Betrayed by Her Own Government
Fair Game: How a Top CIA Agent Was Betrayed by Her Own Government
Author: Valerie Plame Wilson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 1.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/26/2011


I'm sorry to say I didn't finish this book. The redacting finally got to me and I wondered why Ms. Plame Wilson bothered to write it or Pocket Books publish it. I know the redacting wasn't so bad later in the book but I bought the book to find out the real story but plowing through the history did me in. Guess I'll have to wait for the movie.


First to Die (Women's Murder Club, Bk 1)
First to Die (Women's Murder Club, Bk 1)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1699
Review Date: 1/4/2008


The first in what appears to be a good series. The characters don't exactly match their TV characters but the story line is good and the Murder Club looks like it's in for a long run.


Gravity
Gravity
Author: Tess Gerritsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 191
Review Date: 1/14/2011
Helpful Score: 2


This is her best one yet. A gripping story with characters that are real. Having worked in NASA for years I appreciate the research that was put into this story...it all sounds right on the money. Terrific book; I hated to get to the last page.


Henry VIII : The King and His Court
Henry VIII : The King and His Court
Author: Alison Weir
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 7/16/2006
Helpful Score: 2


This is a VERY detailed account of Henry VIII's court and daily life. It includes how the king was attended along with the contents of the rooms in his palaces, the people who attended him and his family. The reviewers called it extensively researched and the book contains details that I've never read before.


In Pursuit of the Proper Sinner (Inspector Lynley, Bk 10)
In Pursuit of the Proper Sinner (Inspector Lynley, Bk 10)
Author: Elizabeth George
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 145
Review Date: 2/13/2007


This was a difficult one to read since there's so much friction between Lynley and Havers but the story is the best so far.


In the Presence of the Enemy (Inspector Lynley, Bk 8)
In the Presence of the Enemy (Inspector Lynley, Bk 8)
Author: Elizabeth George
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 135
Review Date: 10/17/2006


Another terrific mystery by a superb writer.


Interview with the Vampire (Vampire Chronicles, Bk 1)
Interview with the Vampire (Vampire Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Anne Rice
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1475
Review Date: 7/16/2006


This is the one that got me hooked on Ann Rice.


1 to 20 of 47 - Page: