Wendi B. (bakerwendiw) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 70 - Page:
The Alchemyst (Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel, Bk 1)
The Alchemyst (Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel, Bk 1)
Author: Michael Scott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 116
Review Date: 9/21/2011


This book was recommended by my niece. I really enjoyed how fast-paced and exciting it was. So much so that I went straight to the library for the second and third books. I didn't want to wait until they became available on PBS. Fun reads. I will definitely complete the series quickly!


Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 148
Review Date: 5/23/2014


This was a nice, engaging read.


Beautiful Ruins (P.S.)
Beautiful Ruins (P.S.)
Author: Jess Walter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 135
Review Date: 12/29/2013


I enjoyed this book.


Before I Fall
Before I Fall
Author: Lauren Oliver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 1/6/2013


A compelling book!


The Bonesetter's Daughter
The Bonesetter's Daughter
Author: Amy Tan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/9/2010


Interesting. A nice read.


Bridge to Terabithia
Bridge to Terabithia
Author: Katherine Paterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 12/1/2010


Thought I would enjoy it more.


The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao
The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao
Author: Junot Diaz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 384
Review Date: 12/1/2010


I enjoyed this book. It really is excellent! But I had a really difficult time reading until I found this awesome website:

http://www.annotated-oscar-wao.com/

It's a MUST USE with this book if you are not well-versed in Spanish or familiar with Dominican culture and history. I enjoyed the book so much more using this tool.


A Clash of Kings (Song of Ice and Fire, Bk 2)
A Clash of Kings (Song of Ice and Fire, Bk 2)
Author: George R. R. Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 636
Review Date: 8/22/2013


The entire series is excellent!


Contemplating Your Bellybutton (My Body Science)
Review Date: 5/28/2011


Thought it would be age appropriate for my 5 year old, but has a bit of detail that she is too young for. Until my children have asked about where babies come from and are ready to hear the answer, I will keep this book put away.


Cutting for Stone
Cutting for Stone
Author: Abraham Verghese
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 496
Review Date: 11/28/2012


Enjoyed it!


The Dark is Rising (Dark is Rising, Bk 2)
The Dark is Rising (Dark is Rising, Bk 2)
Author: Susan Cooper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 3/27/2010


Worth reading.


Delirium (Delirium, Bk 1)
Delirium (Delirium, Bk 1)
Author: Lauren Oliver
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 7/19/2014


I thought this book was a bit drawn out but a great set up for the next one. By the end, I was pulled in and can't wait to see what happens next.


Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight: An African Childhood
Don't Let's Go to the Dogs Tonight: An African Childhood
Author: Alexandra Fuller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 257
Review Date: 12/2/2011


Really enjoyed the realism and humor of this book. Reminded me of The Glass Castle by Jeannette Walls, which I would recommend as well.


Dry: A Memoir
Dry: A Memoir
Author: Augusten Burroughs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 4/4/2010


Enjoyed it. Burroughs writing is funny yet deep at the same time. Good book.


Eclipse (Twilight, Bk 3)
Eclipse (Twilight, Bk 3)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1055
Review Date: 3/13/2011


Enjoyable, but getting a little far-fetched.


The Elegance of the Hedgehog
The Elegance of the Hedgehog
Author: Muriel Barbery, Alison Anderson (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 453
Review Date: 2/6/2011


Really enjoyed it. Would love to read other works by this author. Very intelligent and beautiful writing, elegant actually. :)


Everlost (Skinjacker, Bk 1)
Everlost (Skinjacker, Bk 1)
Author: Neal Shusterman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 7/11/2013


I enjoyed this quick and easy read and look forward to the other two in the trilogy.


The Fault in Our Stars
The Fault in Our Stars
Author: John Green
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 377
Review Date: 6/27/2013


I enjoyed the smart dialogue between the characters but found the ending a bit dissapointing. I'm not clear on why this book is getting such excellent reviews. Overall, a nice read.


Fingersmith
Fingersmith
Author: Sarah Waters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 232
Review Date: 8/5/2011


Good read.


Firefly Lane
Firefly Lane
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1021
Review Date: 11/7/2010


It was good. Nostalgic for me since I'm close in age to the characters. Definitely a tear-jerker too! Nice read.


1 to 20 of 70 - Page: