Michelle P. (MichellePostOffice) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 75 - Page:
Adrenaline 2000: The Year's Best Stories of Adventure and Survival (Adrenaline)
Review Date: 3/15/2007


Lots of fun stories about adventure and danger.


Adrenaline 2002: The Year's Best Stories of Adventure and Survival (Adrenaline Series)
Review Date: 3/15/2007


Short articles from a bunch of great adventurers/writers run the gamut from mountain climbing to an encounter with a grizzly. Really fun reading.


All by Myself (Little Critter)
All by Myself (Little Critter)
Author: Mercer Mayer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 11/6/2006


My kids loved all the Mercer Mayer books, especially the Little Critter series. Good for tiny tots to beginning readers. Look for the tiny critters hidden on all the pages, too!


American Mom : Motherhood, Politics, and Humble Pie
Review Date: 2/19/2007


Mary Kay Blakely is a wonderful writer and mom who struggled through divorce and financial hard times. Makes us all realize we're not alone in our struggles!


Amusing Ourselves to Death: Public Discourse in the Age of Show Business
Review Date: 2/25/2007
Helpful Score: 2


We all know why it's a waste of time to follow pop culture at the expense of serious goings on in the world. But Postman shows us how the very tools of pop culture -- from the telegraph and camera to the computer -- overwhelm us with a deluge of information without helping us put it into context. We have to be aware of the dark side of these tools of progress, in order to use them wisely. Excellent book that made me see ordinary things in a new way.


Are You Normal?: Do You Behave Like Everyone Else?
Are You Normal?: Do You Behave Like Everyone Else?
Author: Bernice Kanner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 3/20/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Fun lists of what most people think, do, have, etc.


The Beauty Trip
The Beauty Trip
Author: Ken Siman
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 12/25/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Interesting and fun book about how a man who thinks he's ugly reacts when faced with great beauty.


The Bedding Plant Expert (Expert Series)
The Bedding Plant Expert (Expert Series)
Author: D. G. Hessayon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/18/2006


Great color illustrations and solid info on hundreds of annuals, perennials and biennials.


Below Another Sky: A Mountain Adventure in Search of a Lost Father
Below Another Sky: A Mountain Adventure in Search of a Lost Father
Author: Rick Ridgeway
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 12/10/2006


Incredible personal tale of an avalanche that spared him but killed his friend 20 years ago, when the friend's daughter was a baby, woven with the tale of a recent trip with the now 20-year-old daughter to revisit the scene of death.


The Big Five-Oh: Facing, Fearing, and Fighting Fifty
The Big Five-Oh: Facing, Fearing, and Fighting Fifty
Author: Bill Geist
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/26/2006


Really helped me to laugh at aging instead of fighting it. Geist puts you in a better mood for having read him. I recommend it highly!


Bringing Out the Best in People: How to Enjoy Helping Others Excel
Bringing Out the Best in People: How to Enjoy Helping Others Excel
Author: Alan McGinnis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 1/14/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Useful and practical advice on the 12 principles of motivating others. Helps people understand that meeting others' needs is an important factor in getting them to work hard and meet their potential.


Class Mothers
Class Mothers
Author: Katherine Stewart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 12/28/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Fun, light reading. It's a mystery about the death of a school pet, set in the hyper competitive world of Manhattan pre schools. A bit over-the-top in its descriptions and events, but in a good natured way.


The Climb
The Climb
Author: Anatoli Boukreev, G. Weston DeWalt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 12/10/2006


Boukreev was the bad guy in "Into Thin Air." Here he tell his side of the story, and discusses his life as a climber. Soon after he, too, was killed in a climbing accident.


Confessions of a Slacker Mom
Confessions of a Slacker Mom
Author: Muffy Mead-Ferro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/9/2007


Mom drops out of the super competitive, super child centered world.


Crafts/Valentine'S Day(Trd/Pb) (Holiday Crafts for Kids)
Review Date: 1/15/2007


We have had fun making several of the ideas from this book. My favorite is the valentine characters made from playing cards.


David Copperfield (Barnes and Noble Classics Series)
David Copperfield (Barnes and Noble Classics Series)
Author: Charles Dickens, Radhika Jones
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 11/13/2006


Gorgeous paperback version. Barnes and Noble Classic series is really beautiful.


Death in Yellowstone : Accidents and Foolhardiness in the First National Park
Review Date: 3/17/2007


Lots of great stories that make you realize how dangerous wilderness can be. I'm planning to visit Yellowstone this summer, and will definitely be more careful there after reading this book!


Down Came the Rain : My Journey Through Postpartum Depression
Down Came the Rain : My Journey Through Postpartum Depression
Author: Brooke Shields
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 12/1/2006


Excellent first person description of post-partum depression, from a well known woman whose life is suprisingly down-to-earth.


Eating, Drinking, Overthinking : The Toxic Triangle of Food, Alcohol, and Depression--and How Women Can Break Free
Review Date: 2/2/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Helpful look at why women are more likely to try to change the way their bodies feel with food or alcohol when they really should be focusing on changing things outside of themselves. I got a lot out of it. Also provides a good introduction to progressive relaxation and meditation techniques, which have been extremely valuable to me.


Everest : Mountain Without Mercy
Everest : Mountain Without Mercy
Author: Broughton Coburn
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 1/1/2007


Great photos and text on IMAX film crew's experience on Everest, and their witnessing of the 1996 tragedy that was the subject of "Into Thin Air."


1 to 20 of 75 - Page: