Nancy W. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 55 - Page:
All the Missing Girls: A Novel
All the Missing Girls: A Novel
Author: Megan Miranda
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 7/21/2017


I read it backwards. From the end to the beginning. Starting from day 1 at the end of the book. That is the only way I could get through it and finish it.


An American Brat
An American Brat
Author: Bapsi Sidhwa
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/28/2007


At first I thought this book was to much of an easy read. But it entails a well written timeless message of culture clash and world change.


Angela's Ashes
Angela's Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 209
Review Date: 10/5/2008


I have this book too. And after I read it I didn't want to give it up either. It would definitely be the book to reread. Frank McCourt is an amazing writer. I also read his other two books. Won't give them up either.


At Freddie's
At Freddie's
Author: Penelope Fitzgerald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/12/2009


A peculiar, off beat book.


Atonement
Atonement
Author: Ian McEwan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 371
Review Date: 4/7/2008
Helpful Score: 2


When I first started reading this book I thought the author was using too many words and not saying anything. It took awhile to get into. I've read books that use less words to say more. Overall it was a good story. However, I'm not in a hurry to read other books by this author.


Capri File
Capri File
Author: Amanda Prantera
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/13/2008


An interesting suspenseful mystery told through E-mails.


A Christmas Memory
A Christmas Memory
Author: Truman Capote, Beth Peck (Illustrator)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 2/15/2009


I read this story in "The Ecco Book of Christmas Stories". It's a really good story and sounded familiar. It was made into a movie.


The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2) (Audio Cassette) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 12/25/2008


I listened to this audio cassette when I took a trip. I wanted to find out what it was about and thought that reading it would probably be a waste of time. Dan Brown is no Pulitzer Prize winning author. The movie was exactly like the book.


A Dangerous Age
A Dangerous Age
Author: Ellen Gilchrist
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/18/2010


A reiteration of thoughts about the Iraqi war. A quick read.


The Deadly Dying
The Deadly Dying
Author: Hawthorne Vance
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/12/2009


I couldn't stop reading this book because I was intrigued by the abrupt and choppy writing style. I was always trying to pinpoint exactly why no contractions were used in the book.


The Diagnosis of Love
The Diagnosis of Love
Author: Maggie Leffler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 12/25/2008


I really enjoyed reading this book. It is very well written and interesting. I'm surprised it isn't more well known and popular.


Duane's Depressed (Thalia, Bk 3)
Duane's Depressed (Thalia, Bk 3)
Author: Larry McMurtry
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 12/25/2008


I really liked this book. You can feel Duane's depression just reading this book. I'm a McMurtry fan and this is one of his best.


The Girl Who Played with Fire
The Girl Who Played with Fire
Author: Stieg; Keeland, Reg (translation) Larsson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/10/2010


How can there be 5 reviews for this book when no one rated it? That in itself is a mystery. Looks suspicious to me. I can't submit my review until I rate it so here goes my two stars. I read it and couldn't get past Chapter 6. A lot of offensive characters and mundane details that didn't add to the story. A big disappointment.


The Girl Who Played with Fire (Millennium, Bk 2)
The Girl Who Played with Fire (Millennium, Bk 2)
Author: Stieg Larsson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 456
Review Date: 9/8/2010


This book seemed pointless for me to continue reading. Part of it was that I don't like the way it is written. Packed with mundane details that didn't add to the story and after reading through Chapter 6 I decided not to waste my time on a book that was going no where. Filled with a lot of details about a lot of characters that, frankly, didn't interest me.

Being an International Best Seller I thought I was in for a treat.
Definitely a disappointment.


Golden Buddha (Oregon Files, Bk 1)
Golden Buddha (Oregon Files, Bk 1)
Author: Clive Cussler, Craig Dirgo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 138
Review Date: 1/7/2012


I didn't finish reading this book. I had a problem with reading about so many undeveloped characters. I was surprised because I really liked Arctic Drift. But this bunch of characters that are without any standards and buy what ever they need to get the job done (even if illegal) didn't make for a very good read. And the overall message that money buys whatever you need to solve a problem and hiding illegal income in bogus corporations and being a criminal because everyone else is just didn't make a lot of sense. It's like the A-team turned criminal.


Growing an Inch (Cal Gant, Bk 3)
Growing an Inch (Cal Gant, Bk 3)
Author: Stanley Gordon West
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/18/2009


Heart wrenching. By far the best of Stanly West's books. A Classic.


A Handful of Rice
A Handful of Rice
Author: Kamala Markandaya
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/7/2008


This author really knows how to write a good book. I look forward to reading
"Nectar in a Sieve" and any other books I can get my hands on that are written by her.


Heartless
Heartless
Author: Steve Doyle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/17/2008


This is a really good murder mystery. Well written. I'd give it four stars.


I Feel Bad About My Neck: And Other Thoughts on Being A Woman
I Feel Bad About My Neck: And Other Thoughts on Being A Woman
Author: Nora Ephron
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 368
Review Date: 6/16/2008


The first half of the book was a drag. But then the second half picked up and became very entertaining. I wouldn't of dished out $20.00 for it though.


An Irish Country Doctor (aka The Apprenticeship of Doctor Laverty) (Irish Country, Bk 1)
Review Date: 2/11/2009


This is "Ballykissangel" in written form.


1 to 20 of 55 - Page: