S A A. (lovegoodbooks) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 56 - Page:
10 Lb. Penalty
10 Lb. Penalty
Author: Dick Francis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 12/14/2006


Cool! Like all Dick Francis books. Well written. Great plot.


The 22 Non-Negotiable Laws of Wellness : Take Your Health into Your Own Hands to Feel, Think, and Live Better Than You Ev
Review Date: 2/3/2007


This is a very cool self-help book. So much so that, when I bought and read my first copy, I thought it was so good, I went back and got several more copies to give to family and friends.


Alice in Wonderland  Through the Looking Glass (Collector's Library)
Review Date: 10/21/2009


This is a beautiful little cloth hardcover, unabridged, pocket version of the famous two-part tale. It's just such a tidy little book, I had to buy it, even though I already own a paperback version. It has lovely gold leafed pages, a nice tight binding and even a charming ribbon bookmark that is bound into the spine. And it fits nicely in the hand. I really bought this one for the aesthetics. I actually accidentally bought two. Long story, but I did.


All He Ever Wanted
All He Ever Wanted
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 318
Review Date: 9/17/2006


Beautifully written. Great plot. Good characters. Overall an excellent book. Couldn't put it down. Mesmerizing.


The Art of Mending
The Art of Mending
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 188
Review Date: 9/17/2006


Interesting, but just does not carry it it off to my satisfaction. A little too scattered for my taste. Good concept though...


Ask Barbara
Ask Barbara
Author: Barbara De Angelis
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/17/2007


2 audiocassettes based on the book.


Back When We Were Grownups
Back When We Were Grownups
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 252
Review Date: 3/3/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Great characters, interesting plotline. Well written.


Bark If You Love Me
Bark If You Love Me
Author: Louise Bernikow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 4/5/2007


s'alright, but nothing to write home about... (pun intended)


Beyond Codependency and Getting Better All the Time
Beyond Codependency and Getting Better All the Time
Author: Melody Beattie
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/17/2007


Audiocassette.


The Case Book of Sherlock Holmes (Collector's Library)
The Case Book of Sherlock Holmes (Collector's Library)
Author: Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/5/2009


I am a great fan of Sherlock Holmes and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. In fact, in my heyday, I had read every single one of the Sherlock Holmes adventures/mysteries/and returns of... Or at least I thought I had, until I stumbled across this batch. I had never even heard of these 12 stories before.

Sadly, I have to say that the hiatus taken by the author between the last of the previous stories and this set of tales did not serve him or his readers well. This set of cases is told in a hurried, slap-dash fashion and it truly lacks that certain "je ne sais quoi" that made the previous stories so enticing and riveting. One never quite relaxes into any of these. It feels like a quick-quick, let's-tell-this-story-and-get-it-over-with kind of feeling.

On the other hand, when I bought the book, I did so because it looked so good. I actually had no idea that it contained a new set of stories, previously unread by me. It's just such a tidy little book, I had to buy it. With the gold leafed pages, the nice tight binding and even a charming ribbon bookmark that is bound into the spine. And it fits nicely in the hand. I must confess (my dear Watson), I actually enjoyed the aesthetics of this one much more than the contents...


Charlie All Night
Charlie All Night
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 495
Review Date: 8/6/2006


This book is v e r y "light" reading. Indeed, I am willing to bet that "My Pet Goat" has a more arresting plotline and more interesting characters. Still, if you want to do some truly undemanding reading, this is about on a par with a really predictable sitcom. Now, I realize this is no way to sell a book, but I thought it only fair to warn you. My conscience is clear... :)


Codependents' Guide to the Twelve Steps
Codependents' Guide to the Twelve Steps
Author: Melody Beattie
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  ?
Review Date: 3/17/2007


Abridged version.

First the Hurt, Now the Healing...

Millions identified with Melody Beattie in Codependent No More and gained inspiration from her in Beyond Codependency. Now she's back to help you discover how recovery programs work and to help you find the right one for you. Interpreting the famous Alcoholics Anonymous Twelve Steps specifically for codependent issues for the very first time, this groundbreaking book combines Melody's expertise with the experience of other people to:

Explain each step and how you can apply it to your particular issues

Offer specific exercises and activities to use both in group settings and on your own

Provide a directory of the wide range of Twelve Step programs -- including Al-Anon, Codependents Anonymous, Codependents of Sex Addicts, Adult Children of Alcoholics, and more

The uniquely warm and compassionate voice of Melody Beattie will inspire you to turn your life around -- one step at a time.


The Consumer's Guide to Homeopathy
The Consumer's Guide to Homeopathy
Author: Dana Ullman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/8/2007


Very nice book. Dana Ullman knows his stuff.


A Cool Million  The Dream Life of Balso Snell : Two Novels
A Cool Million The Dream Life of Balso Snell : Two Novels
Author: Nathanael West
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/7/2012


A Cool Million: stopped reading it partway through. Very well written, but it was giving me nightmares. Psychological ones. Couldn't trust anyone. Felt pretty dire.


The Egoscue Method of Health Through Motion : Revolutionary Program That Lets You Rediscover the Body's Power to Rejuvenate It
Review Date: 4/18/2007


Excellent book if you are seeking a program to permanent pain relief without the use of drugs.


The Eight (Eight , Bk 1)
The Eight (Eight , Bk 1)
Author: Katherine Neville
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 145
Review Date: 10/18/2006


Good fun. Better than The DaVinci Code IMHO.


Emotional Healing With Homeopathy: A Self-Help Manual
Emotional Healing With Homeopathy: A Self-Help Manual
Author: Peter Chappell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/24/2006


Very informative and insightful. I would recommend it highly for the more advanced homeopath.


The Epicure's Lament
The Epicure's Lament
Author: Kate Christensen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 1/4/2010
Helpful Score: 1


An extremely well-written book. Wry, humorous, strange, and full of atmosphere and strange half-hidden emotions. It's true that it could have been a very depressing book, given the subject matter, but the main character does not allow us to sink into pity for him, because he declines to do so himself.

Masterfully handled, unusual tale of a curmudgeon who is more beloved - and more caring - than he knows or dares to admit.


Field of Thirteen
Field of Thirteen
Author: Dick Francis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 12/14/2006


Cool! Like all Dick Francis books. Well written. Great plot.


A Fraction of the Whole
A Fraction of the Whole
Author: Steve Toltz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 1/23/2009
Helpful Score: 8


I picked this book up at Costco by doing my usual "2 minute assessment" routine. Namely, opening a book at random and reading a page or two. If it captures my attention, it's going home with me. The winning passage in this one was (p. 199. Scene: man chatting up girl at bar):

- Let's get another drink, I said.
We drank for another hour & I mutilated many of my most coherent thoughts by putting them into words.

You don't leave a book that contains a line like that unread. It did not disappoint. (...to say the least)

This is one of the best modern books I've ever read. Not so much for its storyline which, while memorable, comes in a pale third to the glorious writing style and the philosophical content brimming from the passages. I think this book will go down in history as one of the great philosophical tomes of this century. I can't remember when I last enjoyed a read this much. I do hope the author has much more in store for us along the same lines.

Some Editorial Reviews:

Review
SHORTLISTED FOR THE MAN BOOKER PRIZE 2008

"A Fraction of the Whole is that rarest of long books - utterly worth it... The story starts in a prison riot and ends on a plane, and there is not one forgettable episode in between... It reads like Mark Twain with access to an intercontinental Airbus... This book moves; it bucks and rocks in a world that feels more than a hemisphere away... So comically dark and inviting that you have no choice but to step into its icy wake." -Esquire

"Rollicking... laugh-out-loud funny." -Entertainment Weekly

"A rich father-and-son story packed with incident, humor, and characters reminiscent of the styles of Charles Dickens and John Irving... Occasionally, a big, sprawling first novel fights its way into print with a flourish, at which point its ambition and the eccentricities of its 'firstness' can become its best marketing tools. Such is the case with A Fraction of the Whole, a book that is willfully misanthropic and very funny... like Irving, Toltz makes minor characters leap off the page... He's a superb, disturbing phrasemaker... this long novel, which lives or dies in the brilliance of its writing, has a subtle, compelling structure... A Fraction of the Whole soars like a rocket." -Los Angeles Times

"Combines the hilarious high-low reference points of early Martin Amis with the annihilating punk inventiveness of Chuck Palahniuk." -Best Life

"One of the best books I've ever read. A Fraction of the Whole is better than The Corrections, and Toltz did it in one book while it took Franzen two to get The Corrections out into the world. Granted, you have your whole life to write your first novel, but my God, A Fraction of the Whole does things that most writers can't do in a lifetime... A wildly addictive exploration into a man's soul, a profoundly moving experience almost religious in its execution and possibly one of the sharpest and irresistibly humorous post-modern adventures I've had the pleasure to read... Steve Toltz has written a masterpiece, a smashing debut that will long be remembered as a colossal example of just how good fiction can be. He keeps you wired to the page from the jump and he defies gravity all the way to the end." -Ain't It Cool News

"First novels these days too seldom dare to raise their voices above an elegant whisper or an ironic murmur. Not so A Fraction of the Whole, a riotously funny first novel that is harder to ignore than a crate of puppies, twice as playful and just about as messy. This is not a book to be read so much as an experience to be wallowed in. Mr. Toltz's merry chaos - a mix of metaphysical inquiry, ribald jokes, freakish occurrences and verbal dynamite booming across the page - deserves a place next to A Confederacy of Dunces in a category that might be called the undergraduate ecstatic. A Fraction of the Whole is a sort of Voltaire-meets-Vonnegut tale." -Wall Street Journal

"Madcap, exhausting, and true in the way the best lies always are." -New York Observer

"Wild... an odyssey that's inspired, sorta stoned, tender, and very funny. Sometimes all at the same time. Toltz's invention is as breathtaking as the speed of his narrative in a book that seems to have had all the boring parts snipped... There is wit on every page... Jorge Luis Borges is obviously an influence on Toltz. There is also a bit of John Irving and Tom Robbins here in the wacky characters and narrative drive. A Fraction of the Whole even has a touch of the weary philosophizing of Vonnegut, too. In its structure - and especially in its ending - there is even a pinch of Tristram Shandy. Very good company, all." -Chicago Sun-Times

"Hold on tight because you are about to ride a juggernaut of words, where things will go by very quickly and you better pay attention... The real pleasure in reading this book is the pace and the language. What Toltz has done masterfully is have his way with every aspect of modern life. He racks 'em up and knocks 'em down with a laser wit, a fine turn of phrase and a devastatingly funny outlook on everything human." -Seattle Times

"An exuberantly funny debut novel that you should just go away and read... There is plenty to laugh at in A Fraction of the Whole - and also, goodness knows, there is plenty of plot and the narrative pace of a puppy with attention deficit disorder. But it also has a heart... A grand achievement and the debut of a great comic talent." -Sunday Times (UK)

"Sparkling comic writing... It gives off the unmistakable whiff of a book that might just contain the secret of life." -Independent (UK)

"This absurdly incident-laden, feverish, farcical life story bears the watermark of long gestation. What's more, it stands above the vast majority of debut novels because it seems so marvelously sure of itself and what it should be... Toltz's fizzing, acid, funny prose is capable of a kind of broken, lyrical beauty... Amid the dizzying whirl of events, Toltz never loses sight of a deep current that runs throughout his story... It's a spiritual search that allows a conclusion that finds an affecting depth of feeling. Yes, A Fraction of the Whole is a wildly looping rollercoaster. But there's much more to it than meaningless exhilaration." -Independent on Sunday (UK)

"With tinges of magical realism and buckets of misanthropic humor it's a clever and funny debut." -Observer (UK)

"Very light on its feet, skipping from anecdote, to rant, to reflection, like a stone skimming across a pond... There's a section about a labyrinth that you could imagine Borges writing, another about a lottery gone wrong that made me think of Vonnegut, and a strange, lovely account of childhood illness that had echoes of Garcia Marquez. In some ways it plays like a modern Arabian Nights... The inevitability of disaster is heartbreaking... Brilliant." -Guardian (UK)

"Quirky, satirical, and absolutely delirious... A Fraction of the Whole is one of the most hilarious, original literary romps in years with sizzle on each and every page. Hold on tight and enjoy the ride." -Tucson Citizen

"A sprawling, dizzying debut... Comic drive and Steve Toltz's far-out imagination carry the epic story... a nutty tour de force." -Publishers Weekly, starred review

"What satirical fun is found on the madcap pages of this rough-and-tumble tale... This hilarious, sneaky smart first novel is as big and rangy as Australia... Toltz salts it all with uproarious ruminations on freedom, the soul, love, death, and the meaning of life. This is one rampaging and irresistible debut." -Booklist, starred review

"The perfect vacation read for just about everyone... This book allows you to romp along with the characters on an epic journey with two crazy Australian brothers who you fall madly in love with despite their wild, degenerate lives... packed with so many rich characters, setting descriptions, philosophy and fun you need something to aid digestion after each reading... Steve Toltz is hilarious, smart, with a fantastic imagination... His novel is a rollicking worldwide adventure... Take time to enjoy this one; you won't be disappointed." -The Daily Planet, Telluride, CO

"A Fraction of the Whole belongs to a neglected subgenre: serious fiction that refuses to take itself seriously. A ballsy, beautifully idiosyncratic epic, it asks dizzying primal questions about mortality, belief, and the shadowy, unmapped alleyways of human thought - and Toltz manages his metaphysics like a master surfer riding a colossal wave... It's a madcap, propulsive story... The energy of the writing is brilliantly infectious... The novel's heart is as big as its intellect... It feels like an added bonus that, for all its hilarious misanthropy, A Fraction of the Whole testifies to the power of even the most reluctant love." -Sunday Business Post (Ireland)

"Packed with plots, sub-plots, sub-sub-plots, tangents, flashbacks, diversions, philosophical wanderings and spectacular set pieces... Fuelled by brilliant ideas and driven by an original, bracing, and very funny voice." -The Age (Australia)

"Reads like the trajectory of a gleefully crazed Roman candle... a sprawling, entertaining, decidedly quirky, and at times laugh-out-loud funny romp reminiscent of John Irving's family sagas." -Library Journal


1 to 20 of 56 - Page: