Nanette M. - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
And Only to Deceive (Lady Emily, Bk 1)
And Only to Deceive (Lady Emily, Bk 1)
Author: Tasha Alexander
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 7/10/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I read this book as part of a book club and our dislike for it was unanimous. The plot is obvious and trite; what we thought would happen in the beginning, did indeed, happen in the end. The characters are not believable and their actions contradictory. There are factual errors and plot inconsistencies. I was more than happy to pass this off to someone else.


Bridge to Terabithia
Bridge to Terabithia
Author: Katherine Paterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 686
Review Date: 3/16/2007


It was quite what I was expecting based on the movie trailer, but it is a touching (though not original)story about friendship and tragedy.


A Child Called 'It': One Child's Courage to Survive
A Child Called 'It': One Child's Courage to Survive
Author: Dave Pelzer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1949
Review Date: 7/10/2007
Helpful Score: 22


Heartbreaking and moving, this book tells the story of one child's abuse he suffers at the hands of his parents. This true story is NOT an easy read; you will be horrified, angry, and outraged at the hell this child was put through.


Dreamcatcher
Dreamcatcher
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 7/10/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I'm a huge Stephen King fan, but this tale of an invasion interrupting a bunch of guys who went out hunting did nothing for me. To be fair, I am not a fan of alien stories to begin with, but I think Stephen King is a much better writer than what this book gives us.


Gerald's Game
Gerald's Game
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 544
Review Date: 7/10/2007
Helpful Score: 4


This was the Stephen King book that creeped me out the most because it is based on a situation that could happen. The psychological ramblings of a trapped woman is some of King's best works. To this day, just thinking about one of the scenes in that book gives me chills.


The GRE for Dummies, Third Edition
The GRE for Dummies, Third Edition
Author: Suzee Vlk
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/10/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This edition is very outdated and doesn't reflect the current test offered. You are better off buying the most recent edition as the test has changed.


Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Author: J. K. Rowling
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 4/16/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This is by far my favorite of the series. I've read them all so many times to the point I've lost count, and this is the one that still gives me chills every time. This was the book that hooked me. It is the one that makes you realize that Rowling is an amazing writer and nothing is what it seems and everything is possible as the characters begin to grow and readers develop an emotional attachment to them.

If the second one left you unsure whether or not to continue reading, give this one a chance. You'll be glad you did.


Stardust
Stardust
Author: Neil Gaiman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 271
Review Date: 4/16/2007
Helpful Score: 5


It's billed as an adult fairy tale, but it is very much like any child's/young adult fantasy journey, except there is one mild sex scene and one use of the F word. It was the type of story that would have appealed to me as a tween, but seems to be written too "young" for something geared toward adults.


Tuesdays with Morrie: An Old Man, a Young Man, and Life's Greatest Lesson
Review Date: 2/26/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is a touching tale of reconnecting with a lost friend and the lessons learned in dying.


What If? Writing Exercises for Fiction Writers
What If? Writing Exercises for Fiction Writers
Author: Pamela Painter, Anne Bernays
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 2/26/2007
Helpful Score: 2


It's full of exercises that are great for writers groups or the classroom.


1 to 10 of 10