Virginia and John H. (holtzy) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 49 - Page:
Afraid of the Dark (Jack Swyteck, Bk 9)
Afraid of the Dark (Jack Swyteck, Bk 9)
Author: James Grippando
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 10/16/2011
Helpful Score: 1


An extremely good read. If one is a fan of this author you'll find he has taken several subjects found in present news sources and intertwined them to keep you reading nonstop.


An Unfinished Marriage
An Unfinished Marriage
Author: Joan Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 2/4/2009


Takes a look at marriage and how important it is to be an individual and to cherish your mate. Loved the book.


As the Crow Flies
As the Crow Flies
Author: Jeffrey Archer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 5/19/2011


Excellent read, lot's of subplots, and twists.


Atlas of World Geography
Atlas of World Geography
Author: Rand McNally
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/1/2009


Wonderful reference book, great for the young person in school.


Back Roads
Back Roads
Author: Tawni O'Dell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 152
Review Date: 11/21/2008


An Oprah book list book which is a somewhat sad insight into the plight of a young man trying to keep his family together. alot of responsibility for one so young. A very good book


Between Sisters
Between Sisters
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 3/23/2011


Wonderfully written book that hit home with many aspects of my life. If you have a sister you have to read this book. It makes me feel like I had better do more appreciating and forgiving of family members. Life is just too short to hold grudges and hurt feelings.


Black Cross (World War II, Bk 2)
Black Cross (World War II, Bk 2)
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 3/28/2009
Helpful Score: 3


WoW!! One of my favorite books of all time. Greg Iles is a gifted author. Historical suspense novel that will keep you going till the very end. History, suspense, murder, intrigue and romance all wrapped up in one amazing book. If you haven't read a Greg Iles book yet then this is an amazing book to start with you'll be reading all of his books like we're trying to.


Body Surfing
Body Surfing
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 183
Review Date: 11/4/2008


Not your typical story, it kept me going till the end. Great insight into families and there issues.


The Book of Ruth
The Book of Ruth
Author: Jane Hamilton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 12/17/2008


Very good book which shows a girls struggle to grow up and survive in a troubled disjointed family. She goes through many trials and tribulations but there is hope at the end of the story.


Breath, Eyes, Memory
Breath, Eyes, Memory
Author: Edwidge Danticat
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 1/13/2009


I really liked this book. Very sad story when it delves into the customs and pasts of the main characters. We are often victims of our heritage and our traditions. At some point we are all empowered to break the cycle of detrimental traditions and make a better life for generations to come. Well worth the read!


The Choice
The Choice
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 472
Review Date: 4/9/2009


I started reading this book and of course thought it would be a typical chick lit, but Nicholas Sparks did it again. His books have a way of pulling you in and before you know it you can't put the book down. He has enough twists and turns to the plot to keep you up late at night till you finish the book.

This book tackles real life issues which we could all face and the difficulty of making such decisions. Loving someone enough to honor them but loving them so much you don't want to let go. Life is truly a gift and we should all cherish our loved ones daily letting them know how much they're loved. I will read every book by Nicholas Sparks that I can get my hands on. Definitely a book most should read.


The Cobra
The Cobra
Author: Frederick Forsyth
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 11/1/2011


Excellent read, be prepared to not wanting to put the book down once you've started reading. If you are interested in the drug battle between countries, cartels, gangs, and the agencies trying to stop the menace this is a great read. Forsyth is outstanding.


The Complete Book of Home Improvement: Ideas and Techniques for Decorating Your Home - A Complete Step-By-Step Guide
Review Date: 4/1/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Wonderful book to make home improvements and decorating tips. This is great for just about anyone to use.


Corsair (Oregon Files, Bk 7)
Corsair (Oregon Files, Bk 7)
Author: Clive Cussler, Jack Du Brul
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/20/2011


Cussler is great, with this character Juan Cabrillo and the crew of "Oregon", and the capers they encounter the reader is mesmerized. One can not help being entertained by this story.


Decks: How to Design and Build the Perfect Deck for Your Home
Decks: How to Design and Build the Perfect Deck for Your Home
Author: Tim Snyder
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/21/2009


Excellent book with step by step and wonderful photos for designing and building a deck for your home. No matter what this book will give you great ideas. Love this book, a great reference.


Deliver Us From Evil (Shaw and Katie James, Bk 2)
Deliver Us From Evil (Shaw and Katie James, Bk 2)
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 12/27/2010


Really good read.


The Englisher (Annie's People, Bk 2)
The Englisher (Annie's People, Bk 2)
Author: Beverly Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 272
Review Date: 11/4/2009


Great book, couldn't put it down. Part of a trilogy, I love this author.


Fall On Your Knees
Fall On Your Knees
Author: Ann-Marie MacDonald
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 1/24/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Deep book that spans the lives of four sisters. It's a story of family bons, of terrible secrets, miracles, racial strife, attempted murder, birth and death, and forbidden love. This book and it's intricate story will stay with you for weeks after you have finished the book. Well worth reading.


False Impression
False Impression
Author: Jeffrey Archer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 5/23/2010


Excellent read.


Farewell to Manzanar: A True Story of Japanese American Experience During and  After the World War II Internment
Review Date: 12/31/2008
Helpful Score: 4


A true account of Japanese internment in the United States after the Pearl Harbor bombing of WWII. This is a piece of history which we know so little about and is often forgotten. A beautifully written and very touching account of life behind barbed wire in the California dessert. Highly recommend this book as a glimpse into our history.


1 to 20 of 49 - Page: