Maurisa P. (maurisap) - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Agnes and the Hitman
Agnes and the Hitman
Author: Jennifer Crusie, Bob Mayer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 353
Review Date: 3/14/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Jennifer Crusie has created Cranky Agnes, a woman with a loser finance', a money pit of a house, a wedding to pull off for her god-daughter, a hitman lover, and his protective mob uncle. This is an enother extremely enjoyable book for those who like their female protagonist to have the guts to keep people from rolling right over them. If you liked Faking It, Bet Me, or Manhunting, you will like Agnes and the Hitman too.


Death Masks (Dresden Files, Bk 5)
Death Masks (Dresden Files, Bk 5)
Author: Jim Butcher
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 482
Review Date: 11/8/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is the one that really hooked me. I had been a so-so reader of Butcher until I read Death Masks. There was something about this one that finally clicked with me. Maybe it was the reappearance of Susan, maybe it was just that the writing finally did it for me. Maybe it was the growth in character for Harry. I don't know, but this is definitely a keeper!


Fodor's Around Washington, D.C. with Kids, 5th Edition (Around the City with Kids)
Review Date: 8/19/2008
Helpful Score: 1


You need this book if you plan to go to Washington DC with your children. The top 68 sites are reviewed, with valuable information such as how long to plan to spend in line, food and facilities available at the different sites, prices, hours of operation, websites, contact info, etc. My 4th and 6th grader poured over this book for months before our trip and had several "must see" locations picked out before we ever went to DC.


Gone with the Wind
Gone with the Wind
Author: Margaret Mitchell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 245
Review Date: 11/8/2008


Wow...I am really in the minority here, but I think this book is BORING! Watch the movie, you'll like it better and it will take less time.


I Dream of You
I Dream of You
Author: Judi McCoy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 9/28/2008


This is a cute book. "Ben" is likable. It is a bit predictable, and you can probably figure out the major plot points as soon as you see the word "genie". However, it's worth the time to read.


Lavender Morning (Edilean, Bk 3)
Lavender Morning (Edilean, Bk 3)
Author: Jude Deveraux
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 106
Review Date: 4/11/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Remember the days when reading a romance was all about the romance, and not down-and-dirty, no-holds-barred sex scenes?

This newest book by Jude Deveraux is an enjoyable afternoon of reading. Jocelyn has inherited a lovely old mansion near Williamsburg, and upon arrival meets two men: one that was recommended as Mr. Right, and one that is so obviously wrong. While there are no surprises, reading the book is time well spent. The characters are likable. Lavender Morning is reminiscent of "Sweet Liar", though "Sweet Liar" is the better of the two.


Many Bloody Returns
Many Bloody Returns
Author: Charlaine Harris (Editor), Toni L. P. Kelner (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 4/20/2010


This is a good batch of short stories. Jim Butcher's entry is by far the best, and Charlaine Harris's is a must-read.


THE PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE September 11 Commemorative Edition
THE PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE September 11 Commemorative Edition
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/19/2008


This commemorative book is perfect for younger children. Each set of pages has part of the "Pledge" on it, with beautiful photographs to illustrate it. This book would be great for pre-k or kindergarten teachers.


WHITE HOUSE MESS
WHITE HOUSE MESS
Author: Christopher Buckley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/6/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This hilarious "memoir" of a senior aide to the new president takes place in 1989 and starts with the first crisis (President Reagen won't leave...just too tired). Herbert Wadlough is assigned to take care of the White House Mess and is the personal Assistant to the President. Poor President Tucker, nothing goes right for the man: bizarre interviews, a malfunctioning bomb shelter, the VP's drive to become president, the first lady (a former very-soft-porn star. Castro LOVES her movies), and a revolutionary force from Bermuda, just to mention a few.


Wicked Lovely (Wicked Lovely, Bk 1)
Wicked Lovely (Wicked Lovely, Bk 1)
Author: Melissa Marr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 300
Review Date: 10/25/2008
Helpful Score: 3


I read this hoping it would be a teen version of Moning's 'Fever' series, or something I could recommend to teen readers of 'Twilight'. I was right in my comparisons, but do yourself a favor and spend your time re-reading Moning or Meyers. Wicked Lovely is not mature enough to really appeal to adults, and I thought it was a little too mature for younger/mid teens. On the other hand, my 18-year-old found it, "Alright."


1 to 10 of 10