Pamela C. (pj-s-bookcorner) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 355 - Page:
13 rue Therese
13 rue Therese
Author: Elena Mauli Shapiro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 4/20/2011
Helpful Score: 1


My rating of "did not like it" isn't entirely accurate. I started out enjoying the concept of the story. However, as it progressed it got increasingly difficult to keep track of which character was "speaking" and toward the end the book was just weird. Some may like it, but I found it hard to follow.


Adventures of the Woman Homesteader: The Life and Letters of Elinore Pruitt Stewart (Women in the West)
Review Date: 3/16/2010


Combined with actual letters from Elinore Pruitt Stewart, author of Letters from a Woman Homesteader, this book chronicles Elinore's life and experiences in the Wyoming territory/state in the late 1890's thru her death in 1933. Wonderful insight to life during that time period, especially from a woman's perspective. Lovely glimpse into history!


Agony of the Leaves (Tea Shop Mysteries, Bk 13)
Agony of the Leaves (Tea Shop Mysteries, Bk 13)
Author: Laura Childs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 3/23/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Newest installment of the Tea Shop Mystery series. This was a quick read, as usual, but I really enjoyed this one more than I did the previous book. Theodosia is on the trail of the killer of her former boyfriend. All kinds of interesting events transpire in her quest to bring the killer to justice.


The Alchemist: A Fable About Following Your Dream
Review Date: 9/18/2014


A young Andalusian shepherd boy sets off on a quest for his Personal Legend. On his journey he meets a fortune teller, a king, an odd Englishman, and an alchemist as well as a young woman. Each will influence his journey and path. I enjoyed the book which is heavily based on symbolism and life philosophy. However, it wasn't quite what i expected.


All American Boys
All American Boys
Author: Jason Reynolds, Brendan Kiely
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/27/2016


A current look at race relations in our country. A black high school student is brutally beaten by a policeman after assuming he was shoplifting from a corner store. A fellow student witnesses the event but is conflicted about what to do since he is a close friend of the cop's family. Lines are drawn at the school as well. What follows is an interesting look at decisions that are made - loyalty vs doing what is right and standing up for what is right. Some graphic language throughout, but interesting.


All We Ever Wanted Was Everything
All We Ever Wanted Was Everything
Author: Janelle Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 4/25/2014


Story of a very wealthy family - husband, wife, older daughter, teenage daughter. Living the very good life and about to move to an extremely good life with husband's company's IPO. Long story short - husband leaves wife, life unravels........ Don't get me wrong: we all make mistakes and the three female characters in the book make some REALLY bad ones. But to me the key is to learn from them and move on. Way too much whining, entitlement issues for me to care for this book. Actually did not finish it. I didn't want to make the mistake of wasting my time reading it when there are so many others I will enjoy. Sorry.....


The Aloha Quilt (Elm Creek Quilts, Bk 16)
The Aloha Quilt (Elm Creek Quilts, Bk 16)
Author: Jennifer Chiaverini
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 4/23/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Latest installment in the Elk Creek Quilt series - very good. One of the founders travels to Hawaii to assist an old friend in setting up a new quilting camp. Interesting look at new beginnings, forgiveness and friendships!


Always and Forever
Always and Forever
Author: Cathy Kelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 7/7/2009


I thought the book was a little slow in the beginning, but really enjoyed following four women thru life's trials, successess and finding themselves to be confident, capable women worthy of love!


Always Looking Up: The Adventures of an Incurable Optimist
Always Looking Up: The Adventures of an Incurable Optimist
Author: Michael J. Fox
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 122
Review Date: 5/16/2016
Helpful Score: 1


Michael Fox delivers a poignant, funny recounting of his life with Parkinson's. While trying to balance his life and career, he also founded one of the top money raising foundations for research into this disease which robs sufferers of so much of their lives. Well written.


Antonio's Wife
Antonio's Wife
Author: Jacqueline DeJohn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 5/29/2012


First time I've tried this author. Loved the setting - early 1900's in New York City. Mail order bride from Italy with lots of secrets from her past. Really liked the story with its twists and turns. Characters were well developed. Based loosely on the author's family history. A very enjoyable read.


Apologize, Apologize!
Apologize, Apologize!
Author: Elizabeth Kelly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 5/19/2017


Mixed feelings about this one. A dysfunctional family encounters tremendous loss of a son. The eldest son then wanders through life experiencing survivor's guilt, uncertainty, and humiliation. I guess the overall theme is one of forgiveness and acceptance, but this was a so-so read for me.


Apologize, Apologize!
Apologize, Apologize!
Author: Elizabeth Kelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 5/19/2017


Mixed feelings about this one. A dysfunctional family encounters tremendous loss of a son. The eldest son then wanders through life experiencing survivor's guilt, uncertainty, and humiliation. I guess the overall theme is one of forgiveness and acceptance, but this was a so-so read for me.


Ask Again Later
Ask Again Later
Author: Jill A. Davis
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 8/19/2009


Mildly amusing - nothing great to say about this at all. Main character spent way too much time whining about her life rather than living it!


At First Sight
At First Sight
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 491
Review Date: 3/16/2015


Follow up to True Believer, this book is an easy read. I thoroughly enjoyed it. Now married, Jeremy and Lexie are expecting a daughter. Jeremy is struggling with writer's block, a new home, a move from NYC to a small town in the middle of no where and the impending birth. I enjoyed the exploration of emotions in the different scenarios. Loss, love and hope are major themes throughout.


At Home in Covington (Ladies of Covington, Bk 5)
At Home in Covington (Ladies of Covington, Bk 5)
Author: Joan Medlicott
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 6/16/2014


Fifth installment in the Ladies of Covington series. The three women tackle new and sometimes disturbing problems in their journey with an ever expanding group of friends and family. Loss is offset with happiness, and changes are inevitable as they continue their journey. Very good read - love this series!


At Home in Mitford (Mitford, Bk 1)
At Home in Mitford (Mitford, Bk 1)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 679
Review Date: 10/30/2010


I fell in love with this series! Excellent characters and setting - hated to see the series end!


At the Water's Edge
At the Water's Edge
Author: Sara Gruen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 5/24/2015
Helpful Score: 2


This was good, not great. I found it a little hard to get into initially. However, as the story progressed I enjoyed the development of the friendships between Maggie, Meg, Anna and Angus. I found Maggie's husband, Ellis, and his friend Hank to be thoroughly obnoxious - but their attitude toward others was thoroughly believable especially given the time frame. The mention of the war seemed to be thrown in as an afterthought at times. Good location descrpitions of Scotland and the Loch Ness monster area. Decent read.


Aunt Bessie Assumes: An Isle of Man Cozy Mystery (Volume 1)
Aunt Bessie Assumes: An Isle of Man Cozy Mystery (Volume 1)
Author: Diana Xarissa
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/7/2016


I enjoyed this English mystery. Unlike some British stories, I didn't need a glossary of terms to understand what was going on. An active senior lady finds a body washed up on the beach during her routine morning walks. The body is the son of a very wealthy part-time resident on the island. Suspects abound including his bride, brother, and many others. Bessie assists the locals in solving the crimes (a second murder also occurred) - but is she out of reach of the killer(s)? Very good read.


Band of Angels
Band of Angels
Author: Julia Gregson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 11/25/2012
Helpful Score: 2


First time author for me. Enjoyed the historical setting of Crimean War and the beginning of modern day nursing w/Florence Nightingale. Very interesting descriptions of front line conditions in hospitals and the harsh conditions the women suffered through to pursue their dreams of helping others. Also, a nice underlying love story. Good read.


A Batter of Life and Death (Bakeshop, Bk 2)
A Batter of Life and Death (Bakeshop, Bk 2)
Author: Ellie Alexander
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 11/12/2015


Second book in the series. Good follow-up. Realistic (as realistic as can be in a 'cozy' mystery) characters. Interesting setting. However, I'd steer clear of the main character - everywhere she goes in her hometown after returning from a lengthy absence, someone dies. And at this rate, she's going to be one of the hospital's best customers - with every case comes a new injury ~ LOL. Good read


1 to 20 of 355 - Page: