Mary Ann M. (grammy) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 54 - Page:
Agatha Raisin and the Love from Hell (Agatha Raisin, Bk 11)
Agatha Raisin and the Love from Hell (Agatha Raisin, Bk 11)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 12/21/2005


I travel a lot so the Agatha Raisin books are
easy to carry and read. She is a person that
you would get a kick out of being her friend but
as her enemy you would look out.


Agatha Raisin and the Wellspring of Death (Agatha Raisin, Bk 7)
Agatha Raisin and the Wellspring of Death (Agatha Raisin, Bk 7)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 12/21/2005


If you get into Agatha Raisin mysteries, you will be dragged along with Agatha's grumpy attitude and self esteem issues. But she always prevails and ends up on her feet like her two cats.


Almost Paradise
Almost Paradise
Author: Susan Isaacs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 12/21/2005
Helpful Score: 2


This was my first experience with Susan Isaacs so I was surprised at the story. It was easy to read but sad.


The Alpine Pursuit (Emma Lord, Bk 16)
The Alpine Pursuit (Emma Lord, Bk 16)
Author: Mary Daheim
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 3/24/2007


This was a pleasure to read. All of Daheim's books are delightful. This one draws you in to the small town in which she lives and makes her friends your friends. A great read. If you have a long flight,
consider this a book to make it less of a chore.


Australia in a Nutshell: A Narrative History
Australia in a Nutshell: A Narrative History
Author: Frank G. Clarke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/19/2006


This is more than a guide book to Australia. It covers the history of the Australian continent. Your trip to Australia will be enhanced by understanding the implications of the British colonization on both the environment and the native population. It covers the development of Australia into a modern, multi-cultural nation. Coupled with a good modern guidebook, you will come away from Australia with a greater understanding of the culture of this vast land.


The Beautiful Mystery (Chief Inspector Gamache, Bk 8)
The Beautiful Mystery (Chief Inspector Gamache, Bk 8)
Author: Louise Penny
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 6/27/2014


I found this book to be much more introspective and edgy than the other books in the series. It kept my attention and as I got to the end, I couldn't put it down. I think that I would love to have a friend like Armand Gamache.


Benjamin Franklin : An American Life
Benjamin Franklin : An American Life
Author: Walter Isaacson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 2/17/2006


This is a wonderful book. I read it after the book about John Adams to compare the perspectives.


Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 1)
Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 1)
Author: Adriana Trigiani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 122
Review Date: 12/21/2005


A nice story that you can read quickly and remember forever.


Both Ends of the Night  (Sharon McCone, Bk 18)
Both Ends of the Night (Sharon McCone, Bk 18)
Author: Marcia Muller
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 9/8/2006


Sharon McCone investigates her friend and former Flight instructor, Matty Wildress's lover. The investigation leads to Matty's death and eventually leads McCone to uncover an insidious web of corporate theft, govenment corruption and murder for hire. The story goes from California to the Minnesota wilderness.


Callander Square (Charlotte and Thomas Pitt, Bk 2)
Callander Square (Charlotte and Thomas Pitt, Bk 2)
Author: Anne Perry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 1/2/2006


A Charlotte and Thomas Pitt mystery set in Victorian England. They investigate a murder in a fashionable section of London. Anne Perry tells an excellent story in Victorian England. This book has been well used and is not in pristine shape. It is not dirty and torn, just rough around the edges.


Chiefs (Will Lee, Bk 1)
Chiefs (Will Lee, Bk 1)
Author: Stuart Woods
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 10/10/2006


The story of three generations of lawmen in a small Southern town. The mystery begins in 1920 when the first body of a young boy is found, naked and brutalized, near the small town of Delano, Georgia. Over four decades, this crime hangs in the background as the lives of three police chiefs play out against the canvas filled with racial tensions, hatred, fears, dark secrets, festering wounds and political intrigue.


Crazy Time Surviving Divorce
Crazy Time Surviving Divorce
Author: Abigail Trafford
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/1/2006


A step-by-step guide to understanding the predictable emotional passages of men and women after a marriage ends.


The Cry of the Halidon
The Cry of the Halidon
Author: Robert Ludlum
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 12/21/2005


All Ludlum novels keep you on the edge of your seat and this one is no different. It is a page turner.


Dead in the Water (Stone Barrington, Bk 3)
Dead in the Water (Stone Barrington, Bk 3)
Author: Stuart Woods
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 165
Review Date: 4/12/2007


This is a page turner. It will keep you guessing right up to the end.
Stone Barrington is on a getaway to the Caribbean paradise of St. Marks when by chance he becomes involved in the murder trial of a beautiful young woman accused of killing her rich husband on board their luxurious yacht and then burying him at sea.
The story continues through the affair with the accused to the conclusion of the trial.
Be warned that the love scenes between Stone and his client are very graphic and may not be to everyone's taste.
The elements of the story and the conclusion are a bit jaw dropping.
All in all, I enjoyed the book.


Deep Lie (Will Lee, Bk 3)
Deep Lie (Will Lee, Bk 3)
Author: Stuart Woods
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 1/1/2007


While going through much seemingly unrelated intelligence, CIA analyst Katherine Rule discovers a chilling pattern; an ultrasecret Baltic submarine base.. a craft Russion spy-master in command...a carefully planned invasion about to be launched from dark waters.
Her suspicions, however, are dismissed by those higher up; her theory, they say, is too crazy to be true. But to Katherine, it's just crazy enough to succeed--unless she can stop it. If she's right, an attack sub has already penetrated friendly waters. Worse yet, the enemy has penetrated deep into her own life, so deep she can touch him. And in this game, one wrong touch can mean Armageddon.
There is non-stop action and will keep you turning pages even up to the end of the book.
The Lee family saga started in Chiefs is woven into the story in the background.
I enjoyed this book thoroughly.


The Deer Leap  (Richard Jury, Bk 7)
The Deer Leap (Richard Jury, Bk 7)
Author: Martha Grimes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 9/19/2006


A Richard Jury Mystery. Melrose Plant, Polly Praed and Scotland Yard's Richard Jury team up to solve an old crime and several mysterious new deaths in Ashdown Dean. Another of Martha Grimes' stylish and witty dramas. You will enjoy it.


Dr. Susan Love's Breast Book: New Edition 2005
Dr. Susan Love's Breast Book: New Edition 2005
Author: Susan M. Love, Karen Lindsey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/7/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I first read the 2nd edition of this book and found it extremely helpful. I wanted the latest edition and was not disappointed. This book contains the latest information as of 2005. I have recommended it to all my friends. I think that even though you very likely will not have breast cancer, you most certainly will have either a friend or relative who will. This book will help you understand breast cancer and what anyone who is diagnosed will face. It also gives you some suggestions for life style changes and precautions that a woman can use to help protect herself. I highly recommend that every woman read this book. I intend to give it to all my friends and family.


Emma
Emma
Author: Jane Austen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 11/6/2010


This is one of my favorite of the Jane Austen books. It has humor and you see the heroine as vulnerable and strong at the same time. Love it.


The Face of a Stranger (William Monk, Bk 1)
The Face of a Stranger (William Monk, Bk 1)
Author: Anne Perry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 1/2/2006


If you are an Anne Perry fan, then you will want to read this one. William Monk returns to work after the accident that leaves him without a huge gap in his memory. He is assigned to the murder case of a Crimean war hero. This book has been well read therefore is not like new. Not torn or dirty just well used.


Five Quarters of the Orange
Five Quarters of the Orange
Author: Joanne Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 264
Review Date: 4/24/2006


This book is by the author of Chocolat. It is darker than her first book and it will challenge your mind.


1 to 20 of 54 - Page: