Valerie (waterbearer) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 63 - Page:
Angel Falls
Angel Falls
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 3/27/2009


Great story of love and tragedy. One of those books I stumbled across and absolutely loved. Couldn't put it down.


The Art of Mending
The Art of Mending
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 188
Review Date: 3/27/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Relationships, family dysfunction, and the drama of childhood memories shared with siblings. This is a good emotional story, everyone can relate to the characters. Makes you stop and think about your own life and family.


Bag of Bones
Bag of Bones
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 804
Review Date: 3/26/2009


Great ghost story. I stayed up all night to finish it, couldn't put it down.


Black House
Black House
Author: Stephen King, Peter Straub
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 368
Review Date: 3/26/2009


This was the only KING book that I've ever thought about chucking out the window and not finishing. It was excruciating to begin and I started it, put it down, re-started it probably 10 times over a period of 3 years. Once I got past the first 4 or 5 pages (80-100 pages) it flowed better with me. This is the one book by Stephen King that I'd tell a fellow King-lover to not bother with.


Blaze
Blaze
Author: Stephen King (Writing as Richard Bachman)
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 230
Review Date: 3/26/2009


This reminded me of the good old days of Stephen King. Excellent storytelling of a convict with a heart. Loved it!


The Book of Ruth
The Book of Ruth
Author: Jane Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 582
Review Date: 3/26/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Emotional story about an ordinary girl who has an exceptional brother who goes off to college, leaving her alone with her hateful mother to work at a dry cleaners in a crappy, going-nowhere small town. From the story and how Ruth "tells" it you realize how her naivete' and hopefulness is what could potentially be her downfall. She gets hooked up with a loser, has a baby, and you are just frustrated for her hanging on to the hope that things will turn around for her. Makes you take a look at your own family and life, in general, with a different perspective and attitude.


Carrie
Carrie
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 426
Review Date: 3/26/2009


I read this as a youngster and it scared the crap out of me. King also does a great job dealing with "teen" issues in the book. With this was the birth of my fascination with all things horror and all things King.


Cell
Cell
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 698
Review Date: 3/26/2009


This book reminds me of the King in his heyday. The story is great, one we all could relate to (or wouldn't find so far-fetched) and has the King flair in telling it that keeps you hooked.


Cujo
Cujo
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 3/26/2009


Excellent story of horrifying events that could actually happen. Rabid St. Bernard holds mom and her son hostage in their car, while she makes desperate attempts to escape, get help, and keep her boy from dying of dehydration.


The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 331
Review Date: 3/26/2009
Helpful Score: 3


A puzzle with the pieces being decoded and collected (with this clue leading to another clue, to another.....) by a professional symbologist to solve an ancient Christian mystery. Excellent story and riveting theories. It's entertaining fiction, not fact.


Dead As a Scone (Royal Tunbridge Wells, Bk 1)
Dead As a Scone (Royal Tunbridge Wells, Bk 1)
Author: Janet Benrey, Ron Benrey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 3/27/2009
Helpful Score: 5


Not my typical read, I usually don't do "fun" type stories, but it was sent to me by a friend and I loved it. Wonderful who-done-it story with a lot of interesting historical information. I ended up gaining almost 10 lbs. the winter I read this because I was obsessed with making the perfect SCONE every weekend afterwards. : )


Dolores Claiborne
Dolores Claiborne
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 404
Review Date: 3/26/2009
Helpful Score: 3


Excellent story of a mother trying to protect her daughter at the expense of her own life. Delores Claiborne's relationship with her employer, her husband, her daughter, and the town detective are all interwoven into this awesome tale. Not a classic horror story but King's storytelling is stellar.


The Door to December
The Door to December
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 362
Review Date: 3/26/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is one of the better Koontz stories. Unbelievable horror involving a child and her nutty, yet GENIUS, father. Gets you to thinking, for sure, and terrifies you.


The Drawing of the Three (The Dark Tower, Book 2)
The Drawing of the Three (The Dark Tower, Book 2)
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 385
Review Date: 3/26/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Roland runs into the "doorways" where he draws people from our world into his own. Page-turner, awesome.


Dreamcatcher
Dreamcatcher
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 3/26/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is one of those books you struggle through and when you get to the end of you're ticked off because you've spent so much time on it and you walk away unsatisfied and want to smack someone in the back of the head with the book. Not the worst of King, but definitely not up there with the best either.


The Dress Lodger
The Dress Lodger
Author: Sheri Holman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 214
Review Date: 3/26/2009


If you love historical thrillers AND public-health type issues, this book is for you. This is such an excellent story with so much tragedy. I don't know what else to say other than if you enjoy stories written about England in the 1800s you'll enjoy this for sure.


The Eleventh Plague
The Eleventh Plague
Author: John S. Marr, John Baldwin
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/26/2009
Helpful Score: 3


A public health nightmare! This book is riveting and horrifying and I couldn't put it down until the end. I read it back when it was first published in 1998 and there are still times when I think about this story....at salad bars in restaurants, when I'm walking behind someone that sneezes, etc. If you're a germophobe or hypochondriac don't read this book. Other than that, it's a must read for anyone looking for a good horror/thriller/mystery,,,,especially the science-minded.


False Memory
False Memory
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 623
Review Date: 3/27/2009
Helpful Score: 1


The only thing I remember about this book is that it was a great story. ; )
Koontz rocks. If you love Koontz stories, you'll love this one. Gripping.


Forever Odd (Odd Thomas, Bk 2)
Forever Odd (Odd Thomas, Bk 2)
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 420
Review Date: 3/26/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I absolutely LOVED "Odd Thomas" and ran to the bookstore when "Forever Odd" came out. However, after #2 (Forever Odd) I skipped, rather than ran for #3 (Brother Odd). When "Odd Hours" came out, I sighed and strolled to get it, without a sense of urgency and feeling somehow obligated to read it. I love the character of Odd, but the stories just run downhill as the series progresses. I suggest the rest of the books if, like me, you REALLY like the character, but don't expect anything close to as good a read as the first one.

I'm sure I'll drag butt to the bookstore if there's a #5.......
; )


From a Buick 8
From a Buick 8
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 3/26/2009
Helpful Score: 1


The car isn't the star of the show, so the story is not really anything like "Christine". The story is about some state troopers who come upon a vintage car, have bizarre (Stephen King-like) adventures, and then are telling the story to a younger officer. Scary and interesting, but not the best.


1 to 20 of 63 - Page: