Jill G. (sprtzmom321) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 26 - Page:
And One More Thing Before You Go... (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
And One More Thing Before You Go... (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Maria Shriver
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/12/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Great book or audio-book for a girl going off to college, moving away from home, graduating, etc. Wonderful advice! I gave the audio book to my daughter....thought she would be more likely to listen to it than read!


Ava's Man
Ava's Man
Author: Rick Bragg
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 12/27/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Love this book.....love the writing of Rick Bragg. This books tells of Ava's husband & what type of man is was. Made me think of my dad.....a great man!


Born On A Blue Day: Inside the Extraordinary Mind of an Autistic Savant
Review Date: 4/4/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Written by a young man that shares his story of being an autistic savant. Daniel Tammet sees numbers as shapes, colors, and textures, and he can perform extraordinary calculations in his head. Eye opening book & you feel the pain and happiness of this young man!


Come Back: A Mother and Daughter's Journey Through Hell and Back
Review Date: 12/1/2008


This book is eye opening! It exposes raw feelings & reactions. Moves between the mother's point of view & daughter's point of view. I found my emotions going all over the spectrum!


Conundrum
Conundrum
Author: Jan Morris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/21/2010


From James to Jan-an extraordinary personal narrative of transsexualism. A singularly articulate & sensitive observer describes an experience made possible only recently through hormone treatments: the gradual sex change leading over a number of years to the final operation.


Garage Sale and Flea Market Annual 3ED (Garage Sale  Flea Market Annual)
Review Date: 11/13/2008


Great for researching items you have in your attic or have found at a flea market/yard sale.....gives estimate of the items worth. Ex. (Fiesta plate, red or cobalt, 7", $8.50)(Batman, metal aladdin lunch box, 1966, $110.00)


Geisha : A Life
Geisha : A Life
Author: Mineko Iwasaki, Rande Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 142
Review Date: 12/27/2008


Interesting information on the life & lifestyle of a Geisha. Becoming a Geisha is an art & this book educates the reader on the history. Shocked by the amount of money Mineko Iwasaki made during her career. Good read!


The Glass Castle
The Glass Castle
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3387
Review Date: 10/26/2008


Loved this book. Being that I am from WV, I could relate to the scenes of WV described in the book. WOW factors through the whole book. Very moving!


The Hour I First Believed (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 5/2/2009
Helpful Score: 4


I loved the book! I listened to it on audiobook, so it went by much faster than sitting down & reading it. Many stories in this one book. At times, it seems drawn out but I found myself reflecting on situations that came up & moved by thoughts, actions, etc.


In My Hands : Memories of a Holocaust Rescuer
In My Hands : Memories of a Holocaust Rescuer
Author: Irene Gut Opdyke, Jennifer Armstrong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 3/28/2009
Helpful Score: 2


A moving story that is unforgettable. The courage of this lady when she was just a young girl is overwhelming. I found myself wondering if I would have the faith, courage, strength to do what she accomplished. A must read for all!


Into the Wild
Into the Wild
Author: Jon Krakauer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1032
Review Date: 10/26/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I could not believe this guy! He came across as unprepared & somewhat cocky. A true tragedy.....I feel for his family.


Island of Lost Girls
Island of Lost Girls
Author: Jennifer McMahon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 255
Review Date: 1/5/2009
Helpful Score: 4


Twists & turns all through this book. Hard to put it down!


Letters for Emily
Letters for Emily
Author: Camron Wright
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 5/24/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Dying man writes letters to his granddaughter that reveal his past & life lessons to live by. Very moving at times. The outcome & effect that these letters produce is heart warming. A good, quick read.


The Measure of a Man: A Spiritual Autobiography (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 3/12/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Sidney Poitier tells life stories, lessons learned, family happenings, etc. Interesting to learn how he grew up, challenges he faced, progress he made. Good read or in my case good listen.


Mila 18
Mila 18
Author: Leon Uris
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 6/14/2009


"A great human experience! How the Warsaw Jews lived & how they died of starvation, execution & mass murder before the revolt broke out, how they differed among themselves, how they loved & hated & how they changed under the fearful pressures of terror & imminent death----all this is MILA 18. Deeply moving, powerful, stirring!"
---THE NEW YORK TIMES


Never Tell a Lie
Never Tell a Lie
Author: Hallie Ephron
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 4/24/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Finished this book in 3 days.....murder/mystery that was full of surprises.


Picture Perfect
Picture Perfect
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 755
Review Date: 3/12/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Fairly new to Jodi Picoult books....I like her writing style. This book was "okay" compared to The Tenth Circle. Still a good read.


Promise Not to Tell
Promise Not to Tell
Author: Jennifer McMahon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 547
Review Date: 1/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Twists & turns book of "who done it"....found myself spooked on several occasions. I've read ISLAND OF LOST GIRLS by this same author & liked both books. Hope she continues writing.


The Pull of the Moon
The Pull of the Moon
Author: Elizabeth Berg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 3/21/2009


Tells of a woman trying to sort out emotions, thoughts, memories, etc. She journeys out on her own & writes her husband letters updating him on her location & thoughts. She finds self discovery & the worth of her womanhood.


Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry (Logans, Bk 4)
Roll of Thunder, Hear My Cry (Logans, Bk 4)
Author: Mildred D. Taylor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 136
Review Date: 12/27/2008


This book opens eyes to race relations in earlier times. Good for young readers to learn about the past prejudices and great for older readers as well.....to keep their eyes & minds open to prejudices. A keeper!


1 to 20 of 26 - Page: