Mary-Jo W. (mjowest) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 191 - Page:
The 100 Best Things I've Sold on eBay: My Story--by The Queen of Auctions (The 100 Best Things I've Sold, 1)
Review Date: 10/31/2007


While I enjoyed the writer's wit and great writing style, I was disappointed in this book.
I had hoped for more information on how to sell on ebay.
I believe that anyone, who has an antique store being given to her, can also make as much money as she did.

As the other review states, it is a good read for those who enjoy family stories.


1,500 Great Gift Ideas
1,500 Great Gift Ideas
Author: Lorraine Bodger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/5/2011


Well you are in serious trouble, gift giving, if you can't think of at least half of the things in this book.

It's a big, small book- with lots of promises at the beginning- how to present a gift! How to wrap it! GREAT ideas!

but I did not get one new idea after reading the whole thing. If it's not requested in the next month, to the paper gator it will go! Totally worthless.


2 X 4 Projects For Outdoor Living
2 X 4 Projects For Outdoor Living
Author: Stevie Henderson, Mark Baldwin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 11/12/2015


very uncreative book.


The Able Life of Cody Jane - Still Celebrating
The Able Life of Cody Jane - Still Celebrating
Author: Marly Cornell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/24/2014


Excellent book. Excellent. Don't want to share any spoilers, but since Cody lives in the same era as I did, I found it facinating to see her and her mother's points of view, on life with spina bifida. No perfection here in this family- just real, raw dealing with life as it is. Absolutely loved it.


The Accidental Billionaires: The Founding of Facebook: A Tale of Sex, Money, Genius and Betrayal
Review Date: 2/27/2013
Helpful Score: 1


You know when you read a book, but you know it should be half the length? this is one of those- SO many unnecessary words- do I really need to read about how the weeping willows looked on the moonless night?
The author states this at the beginning of the book- he took creative liberties. and made the book much longer than it should have been. "yawn"- get to the facts and the story- save the details for someone who cares. Sorry, skimmed the book, looking for the information I wanted.


Aleene's Prizewinning Crafts from Readers and Viewers
Aleene's Prizewinning Crafts from Readers and Viewers
Author: Catherine Corbett Fowler (Editor)
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/17/2009


If you love Aleene's crafts , this book is the best of the best. A little old fashioned for my taste, but the newer crafter may get some good ideas.
Clear instructions.


All I'll Ever Need
All I'll Ever Need
Author: Harry Lee Kraus
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 7/13/2014


Wow. Could NOT put this down. while I didn't know it was #3 in a series, I still enjoyed it. Little bit romantic, lots of action, mystery... characters were not perfect like some other books I've read... Loved it.


All Souls : A Family Story from Southie
All Souls : A Family Story from Southie
Author: Michael Patrick MacDonald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 9/2/2012


I haven't read any book in years that had me so riveted-
I would give it ten stars if I could.
An amazing story, told by the man who lived it, of life in south Boston in the 1960s, 70s and 1980s.
How he survived, and most of his family didn't.
It brought me to tears, and made me want to shout from the rooftops over victories.
a MUST read, if you enjoy real life stories.
You will not ever forget this book, once you've read it.


Almost Everything Teens Want Parents to Know
Almost Everything Teens Want Parents to Know
Author: Bill Sanders
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/6/2009


Bill Sanders hits it on the mark again! This man has been blessed with a gift to communicate, teach, understand and mediate-
What a difference he has made in the lives of many teenagers. GREAT read.


Altered Style: Sewing & Embellishing Wearable Fashions
Altered Style: Sewing & Embellishing Wearable Fashions
Author: Stephanie Kimura
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/7/2014


I had to check the year of this book, because I thought I had mistakenly ordered a book from the 1970s or so...
ok, that's a little extreme,but this book is a JOKE! Who is their right mind would actually wear or use these items?
let's take a basic concept, changing two pieces of clothing into one, and expand on it, and try to fill a book. Add the most tacky items you can find in the bottom of your craft basket, hire a photographer who can get models to give their worst expressions, slap it into a book, and try to sell it- Repurpose! Recycle! Reuse!
I'm so thankful for PBS, so that I didn't have to spend much time or cash on this book.
Slapdash instructions with horrible photos- this book may have to make a direct trip into the paper gator recycle box...
I did give it two stars- there are a 'few' basic things that I did pick up from this book.


Amish Christmas Twins (Christmas Twins, Bk 1) (Love Inspired, No 1093)
Amish Christmas Twins (Christmas Twins, Bk 1) (Love Inspired, No 1093)
Author: Patricia Davids
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/10/2018


Fair book, full of fluff. Author isn't so keen on keeping small details the same, one day the main character can't drink coffee, the next she's sipping it. One day the sled is red, on the cover it's wood... I pick up on things like that! Good Amish read for a rainy afternoon.


The Amish Midwife (Women of Lancaster County, Bk 1)
The Amish Midwife (Women of Lancaster County, Bk 1)
Author: Mindy Starns Clark, Leslie Gould
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/1/2015


Nice book- quite lengthy-
I had trouble keeping characters straight, not sure if all the people were necessary for this book, but the story line was decent. a little dragged out- wanted to yell: TALK PEOPLE... but over all it was a nice book for a hot day sitting in air conditioning.


Amy Winehouse: A Losing Game
Amy Winehouse: A Losing Game
Author: Mick O'Shea
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/21/2016


Hard to follow- lots of name dropping. Wish it had more facts.


And I Don't Want to Live This Life
And I Don't Want to Live This Life
Author: Deborah Spungen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 1/5/2016


Wow. that's all I can say. I just finished reading it, and I'm still in shock of how a family can get through this and survive.
Read it in one day, could NOT stop and put it down.
Gives the story of Nancy Spungen, through her mother's eyes and experiences.
Raw and honest.
Frustrating and sad.
An absolute read- you'll want to go out and help someone in some, any way after reading this.


The Antidepressant Survival Guide : The Clinically Proven Program to Enhance the Benefits and Beat the Side Effects of Your Medication
Review Date: 8/17/2009


I need concise, clear descriptions- this was a tad over my head, but if you are trying to understand the drugs you are on, and how they work, this book may answer those questions.


Bald in the Land of Big Hair : A True Story
Bald in the Land of Big Hair : A True Story
Author: Joni Rodgers
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/21/2012


This book started out STRONG!
I loved the author, her thoughts, decisions, words...
but as the book went on, it got a little dry.
too much detail over the sex life, and the final chapters almost made me give up on the book.
The spiritual chapter was awesome-
The chapters seem to drift from one time, to the past, to the present, and back again... little hard to follow.
will be looking for other books by this author to see how she writes about other things!


Banished: Surviving My Years in the Westboro Baptist Church
Banished: Surviving My Years in the Westboro Baptist Church
Author: Lauren Drain
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 1/11/2015


I just finished this book , in under two days. I feel emotionally and physically drained. I can't believe things like this happen today, and thank the author for her courage to share her story. While I didn't like all of the ways she shared, I really enjoyed it- and hope that people can read it with an open mind, and learn and grow in their spirituality.


Baroque Recorder (Recorder Method, Bk 1)
Baroque Recorder (Recorder Method, Bk 1)
Author: Ed Sueta
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/6/2009


Both our kids learned the recorder quickly using this method. Without driving us crazy with the same songs playing over and over...


The Best of Friends CD: Martha and Me
The Best of Friends CD: Martha and Me
Author: Mariana Pasternak
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 7/5/2015


I laughed and laughed and laughed... and this is not a comedy!
What a Presumptuous bunch of people... if you like a ton of description that does not in any way affect the actual story, you may enjoy this.
I can't believe there are people who live like this-
Enjoyed the CD during long drives, and learned a few new words.


Between Sisters
Between Sisters
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 145
Review Date: 3/13/2015


Another good book by Kristen Hannah. I was curious to read this, as I can relate to sister and mother issues... that part was a good learning lesson (Free therapy!) for me.
but I could do without the vivid sexual descriptions and the definitions of "true love" that I do not agree with.
Story line was not too predictable, and character development was great.


1 to 20 of 191 - Page: