Mark M. (ClownsareCreepy) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 26 - Page:
1632 (Assiti Shards, Bk 1)
1632 (Assiti Shards, Bk 1)
Author: Eric Flint
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 8/25/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Great book! I have already added 1633 to my wish list. I can't wait to check out the next book in this one! I recommend this book!


Against the Tide of Years (Island in the Sea of Time, Bk 2)
Against the Tide of Years (Island in the Sea of Time, Bk 2)
Author: S. M. Stirling
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/21/2007


Excellent Story! I am really looking forward to the next book which I have already ordered! I didn't want it to end!


All the Way to the Gallows
All the Way to the Gallows
Author: David Drake
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 2/14/2007


Funny stories included in this collection. I always enjoy Drake's humor style in his other books. His fans will enjoy these stories as well.


Atlantis Reprise (Deathland Lands/Altered States)
Atlantis Reprise (Deathland Lands/Altered States)
Author: James Axler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/12/2006


Just finished and have to say that this is the better of this duology(Altered States). After a hiatus from reading my beloved Deathlands series because of bad writing in my opinion, I picked these up at a local used bookstore. Even though it is the better of the two, it is still not so good. It has make me reaffirm my decision to not read any more of these titles because I cannot bear the slow disintegration of this series. The characters do not act like they should, and it makes me sad to read it. Axler must be rolling in his grave at the thought of what has become of his Deathlands series. Read(or re-read) the first of the Deathlands series if you need to have some Ryan Cawdor and frineds in your mind.


Conan of Venarium (Tor Fantasy)
Conan of Venarium (Tor Fantasy)
Author: Harry Turtledove
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/2/2007
Helpful Score: 1


As a fan of Conan and Harry Turtledove I enjoyed this book. I felt some of Conan's early life went contrary to what i had known from reading all of the other Conan books, but it was a good read nonetheless!


The Dark Tide (Iron Tower, Bk 1)
The Dark Tide (Iron Tower, Bk 1)
Author: Dennis L. McKiernan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 8/2/2006
Helpful Score: 2


This series is a little too Tolkienesque. Takes a lot from Tolkien fantasy, but it is still a good read.


The Darkest Day (Iron Tower Trilogy)
The Darkest Day (Iron Tower Trilogy)
Author: Dennis L. McKiernan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/2/2006
Helpful Score: 3


This series is a little too Tolkienesque. Takes a lot from Tolkien fantasy, but it is still a good read.


The Guns of the South
The Guns of the South
Author: Harry Turtledove
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 7/2/2007
Helpful Score: 1


My very first experience with Harry Turtledove and alternate history. Not one of his best works, but it was good enough to make me want more. An enjoyable book for people who like what-if fiction.


Homeward Bound
Homeward Bound
Author: Harry Turtledove
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 8/7/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This book is a great additoin to the WorldWar series. After I had finished those and the Colonization set, I had no hopes of a new book even though he kind of left the end hanging for a possible book. I was so happy when I saw this book. I highly recommend it for anyne who is a Turtledove fan or has read the other books in this set.


In the Presence of Mine Enemies
In the Presence of Mine Enemies
Author: Harry Turtledove
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 7/2/2007
Helpful Score: 2


An interesting account of what life might be like for Jewish people caught in a world where the Nazis actually won World War II. Not a pretty picture, but it is a very rich account of people who persevere.


Iron Tower Trilogy #02: Shadows of Doom
Iron Tower Trilogy #02: Shadows of Doom
Author: Dennis L. McKiernan
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/2/2006


This series is a little too Tolkienesque. Takes a lot from Tolkien fantasy, but it is still a good read.


Jarhead : A Marine's Chronicle of the Gulf War and Other Battles
Jarhead : A Marine's Chronicle of the Gulf War and Other Battles
Author: Anthony Swofford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 8/19/2006


I enjoyed this book. Having a brother in law who served in the Gulf War I was hopefully able to see a bit of what his life was like in this time of history. Was an entertaining read, better than the movies as most books are.


Krispos of Videssos (Tale of Krispos, No 2)
Krispos of Videssos (Tale of Krispos, No 2)
Author: Harry Turtledove
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 7/2/2007


A great continuation of this series! Recommended reading. I really enjoy this series.


Krispos Rising (Krispos, Bk 1)
Krispos Rising (Krispos, Bk 1)
Author: Harry Turtledove
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 7/2/2007


A rousing tale of a commoner who rises to rule the great empire of Videssos and strives to keep it safe from trouble within and without!


Krispos the Emperor (The Tale of Krispos, Book 3)
Krispos the Emperor (The Tale of Krispos, Book 3)
Author: Harry Turtledove
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 7/2/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A very good wrap-up to this trilogy. It makes me wish for more stories of Krispos.


Mars (Grand Tour, Bk 4)
Mars (Grand Tour, Bk 4)
Author: Ben Bova
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 8/3/2006


"Mars" by Ben Bova, 'nuff said.


A Meeting at Corvallis (Change, Bk 3) (Emberverse, Bk 3)
A Meeting at Corvallis (Change, Bk 3) (Emberverse, Bk 3)
Author: S. M. Stirling
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 6/1/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent summation to the trilogy. I have enjoyed reading this whole saga and was sad for it to be over.


On the Oceans of Eternity (Island in the Sea of Time, Bk 3)
On the Oceans of Eternity (Island in the Sea of Time, Bk 3)
Author: S. M. Stirling
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 11/12/2007


A good ending to this trilogy. I was a little disappointed in the villain's inevitable demise and the way it was done, but otherwise a good, rousing tale!


Panzer Commander : The Memoirs of Colonel Hans von Luck
Panzer Commander : The Memoirs of Colonel Hans von Luck
Author: Hans Von Luck
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 8/3/2006


Very interesting Memoirs from the German side of the war. Enjoyed it thoroughly.


Ritual Chill (Deathlands, Bk 71)
Ritual Chill (Deathlands, Bk 71)
Author: James Axler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 8/12/2006


I plowed my way through this one even though it was sub par. It is the first of the Altered States Duo(I hope it is only two, I don't want to read abother after these two!) The second is better than this one, but still bad. Characters do not act like they should, its kind of like the author read a synopsis of the timeline then tried to write a book without getting afeel for the principle characters in this book. Also needs to read a ballistics manual before attempting to write another book with firearms in it. Don't bother with this one.


1 to 20 of 26 - Page: