Candace K. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 58 - Page:
The 13th Hour:
The 13th Hour:
Author: Richard Doetsch
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 5/14/2011


This book is amazing! Time travel is difficult yo bring together in itself, but Doetsch takes it on with one of the most exiting stories that I have read in a long time. If you like a good thriller, time travel, love etc. Read this book. It covers them all. Just hope they make a movie of it.


Against Medical Advice
Against Medical Advice
Author: James Patterson, Hal Friedman, Cory Friedman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 151
Review Date: 9/8/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I loved this book. Part of the reason could be that one of my son's very best friends as he was growing up had Tourette's syndrome. He was and is one of the most wonderful young men that I have ever known...I have named him my "adopted son". That aside, this book almost reads like a exciting novel. When you stop to realize that what is happening is actually true events, it is appalling and wonderful at the same time. I would recommend this book to anyone.


The Age of Miracles
The Age of Miracles
Author: Karen Thompson Walker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 2/8/2014


I am really trying to decide what to write about this book without giving anything away. I think it was an interesting read about a near enough future. Besides the story of the earth slowing which changed the length of the days, it discussed what it would be like as the human race continued to lose needed resources. It made me wonder whether it was trying to push a little of the global warming attitudes without actually saying it. So many books these days push political agendas at you that I try to steer away from them. This had some of that but not enough to make me feel uncomfortable. All in all it was a good story and I am glad that I read it. I will be passing it on to friends....


Agenda 21
Agenda 21
Author: Glenn Beck
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 2/9/2013
Helpful Score: 4


This book is interesting, exciting and scary. It's rare these days for me to read a book that holds my interest so entirely. This one did. It does not have zombies or vampires in it, but does have a ring of truth in the direction that our country and world in its policies and laws are taking us in an ever increasing venue. The book is entertaining but at the same time points out in fact at the end how some of the practices in the book are in the works in our society today. To many it may seem far-fetched, but we need to keep watch on our Federal and local governments to see that lawmakers do not move to enforce laws that take away our basic freedoms and abilities to choose for ourselves. I suggest you read it! Enjoy!


Angel Face: The True Story of Student Killer Amanda Knox
Angel Face: The True Story of Student Killer Amanda Knox
Author: Barbie Latza Nadeau
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 7/3/2010


This book was interesting, especially in regard to the court system in Italy. I have to say that if I were ever in trouble I would not want to be there. I did not totally form an opinion as to the guilt or innocence of Amanda. There was just too much left on the table and too much of a media circus to not think that officials and others could not steer it in any direction they wished with the right media coverage on their side. It could have been a great reality TV show. . Sad but true even though I am not much on reality TV. I am glad I read this book...a real eye opener.


Before I Go To Sleep
Before I Go To Sleep
Author: S. J. Watson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 190
Review Date: 11/23/2011


For a debut novel all that can be said is wow! This is an edge of your seat, cannot put it down thriller. Using books to entice myself onto the treadmill to read, all I can say is that I walked more than usual. Watson will be an author I will keep track of for future reads. Give this one a try!!


Before the Change: Taking Charge of Your Perimenopause
Before the Change: Taking Charge of Your Perimenopause
Author: Ann Louise Gittleman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 3/24/2009
Helpful Score: 5


This book is packed full of information for those that are right before or starting the journey through menopause. I would recommend it to anyone that would like more information regarding the many herbs and medicines available to choose from to make it easier to handle the various symptoms of menopause.


Between Heaven And Ground Zero
Between Heaven And Ground Zero
Author: Leslie Haskin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 7/6/2013


Being very interested in what occurred at the twin towers on September 11, 2001, I have read many books from various people that were close and survived this attack and tragedy. This account follows a successful executive from the 36th floor of tower number one from the crash through her healing process after her survival. This book brought tears to my eyes, especially from a Christian aspect and helped me to rethink some of my hatred towards the people that committed these atrocities. Maybe I will eventually be able to forgive these people even if I could never say I can love them. It is interesting to understand the road that needed to be traveled by someone that experienced the atrocious events that occurred that day. Mental healing was a hard road to travel even though she physically made it through the trauma. The lower rating of this book is probably because of the Christian text, but this made it better for me. I pray that the author has experienced compete healing, and I know from the text tat she is moving on very nicely with her life. I would definitely recommend this book.


A Big Little Life
A Big Little Life
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 1/17/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This book was WONDERFUL! Even though I have never owned a dog (or had one own me...only have a granddog), I laughed so much while reading this book that people kept looking at me like I was nuts! Dean Koontz books have always had my interest, I especially love to read the ones that have included dogs. There are always wonderful meanings and love included in each and every one. This one outdoes all of the others that I have read by this author(man). Not only do you read a wonderful story about a beautiful, loving, feeling dog, but you learn about the man and his special partner that became mommy and daddy to this special animal. What a gift this book is to those that pick it up. Well worth your time and money.


Blackout (Riley Covington, Bk. 3)
Blackout (Riley Covington, Bk. 3)
Author: Steve Yohn, Jason Elam
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/7/2010


This was a book that I picked up because of the cover, and did not realize that there were two installments before this one with these same characters. It does read ok without having read the other two though. I actually got some chuckles out of it because the team of people that fight the bad guys remind me of watching NCIS and the way that those characters interact together. Having bombs that bring to a stop all of our high technology that runs our world does not seem like such a stretch and this book gives you a wonder as to whether it may actually happen someday. Fast Read.


Blood Brother: 33 Reasons My Brother Scott Peterson Is Guilty
Blood Brother: 33 Reasons My Brother Scott Peterson Is Guilty
Author: Anne Bird
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 6/13/2010
Helpful Score: 3


After reading most of the books available on this case, it took me a while to order this one
Figured it would be more of the same. It took a look from the sister's perspective who spent a lot of time with Scott after Lacy was killed. This was the only book that I read that actually had that information. Interesting and informative. A good read.


Children of Paranoia
Children of Paranoia
Author: Trevor Shane
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 10/27/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Let me point out that I do not usually finish a book now unless I just have to find out how it finally unfolds. The ending of this book remained a mystery until the end which kept me reading. That being said, I was only marginally impressed. Like so many books these days, it seems endings are left open so the author can write future books to continue the story. I am probably not going to worry about watching for any future books to continue this story. Wish I had more glowing words to say, but I was just not impressed.


Christmas Jars
Christmas Jars
Author: Jason F. Wright
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 3/11/2011


EVERYONE should read this book. Heartwarming, loving, wonderful. Don't miss it!


Columbine
Columbine
Author: Dave Cullen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 1/18/2010


This book is a first rate read! I could not put it down once I had picked it up....I carried it around so every spare moment I could pick it up and read some more until the finish. I was shocked once again at how the media totally reported the wrong information as to what really happened and the background of the killers. The boys that killed were not loaners or outcasts or of the "goth" set and were not being bullied. The author presents all the information in such a way that by the time you are finished you feel satisfied that you know mostly all there is to know about this shooting. I would definitely recommend this book and look for more that this author writes in the future.


Courting Trouble (Essie Spreckelmeyer, Bk 1)
Courting Trouble (Essie Spreckelmeyer, Bk 1)
Author: Deeanne Gist
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 215
Review Date: 10/13/2009


Deeanne Gist is one of the most entertaining writers I have come across in a long time. I love her characters as they are complicated and lighthearted at the same time. She researches the time that she is writing about and brings it across with laughter while still making it seem real. Since reading this book I have purchased everyone that she has written so far and cannot wait for her to write her next one. Try this one on for size!


A Deadly Game: The Untold Story of the Scott Peterson Investigation
Review Date: 12/27/2009


This is my fourth book of reading on the Scott & Laci Peterson murder and trial. It is most informative and interesting. Scott is a total sociopath, but with the other books that I have read, I am still not totally convinced that he actually killed Laci. There are some witnesses that were not brought fourth in the trial (the defense attorney did not seem to really do his job), that would have given me a doubt, at least enough not to agree that Scott should be on death row. I still have a bit to go, but I would have not had all the information that I have read in these books to make a decision. It seems to me that the police latched onto the fact that they thought that Scott was guilty from the beginning and did not investigate all that they could have from that point on. This book totally shows how Scott is a total liar and scumbag, but still I am not sure that he could have committed the murder. A must read if you are interested in this case.


Family Tree
Family Tree
Author: Barbara Delinsky
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 171
Review Date: 8/11/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book was very well written and kept me engrossed to the very end. Delinsky has a way of captivating her audiance with true to life situations and keeping you guessing as to how everything is going to pan out in the end. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone that likes to read modern day situations.


Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, Bk 1)
Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, Bk 1)
Author: E. L. James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1046
Review Date: 5/23/2012
Helpful Score: 1


After reading the other reviews, I find myself agreeing with two of them. I almost did not get this book because I actually thought it was just going to be a lot of porn and no plot. A friend recommended it so i figured i would give it a try. It had a number of sex scenes, probably some that many will feel are over the top, but the story was engrossing enough that I wanted to find out how it would play out in the end. If a book can cause you to have varying emotions and keep you reading and buying the sequels, it can't be all bad. Even those that downgraded it for various reasons had to buy and read the final books. Unlike one reviewer, I do not intend to read this series again, but like others I enjoy it enough to have already bought the final two books. I will let you know how that works out. I knew and may still know nothing about the odd sex that is described in the book. Sometimes you feel like ringing Christian's neck but you can see that his upbringing caused much if not all of his emotional problems. Have to say I was surprised I liked this book. Fast summer read......give it a try.


For Laci : A Mother's Story of Love, Loss, and Justice
For Laci : A Mother's Story of Love, Loss, and Justice
Author: Sharon Rocha
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 97
Review Date: 1/15/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I have been reading much about the Scott Peterson and Laci Peterson disappearance case. This is a must read to get some of the inside information and how the case unfolded in the eyes of the closest family members. With this, you get much of the background of Laci Peterson herself. Very interesting reading.


Forevermore (Only in Gooding!, Bk 2)
Forevermore (Only in Gooding!, Bk 2)
Author: Cathy Marie Hake
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 119
Review Date: 10/15/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This is another wonderful author that writes a good yarn. This book will keep you smiling while enjoying a good story. Lot's of good thoughts about living life to the fullest. I have ordered many other books from this same author and recommend this book as a feel-good book.


1 to 20 of 58 - Page: