Karen B. (Jitterbug3) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 199 - Page:
Affairs of Steak (White House Chef , Bk 5)
Affairs of Steak (White House Chef , Bk 5)
Author: Julie Hyzy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 1/14/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed this book...only once did I get frustrated with Ollie...but overall a really good step forward in the series!


All I Ever Wanted
All I Ever Wanted
Author: Kristan Higgins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 181
Review Date: 1/27/2013


Normally really enjoy these books and the story line is cute but Michelle Obama--really!?! That was annoying and kept glaringly front and center. Might (read might) not have been so bad if the Betty Boop references were as consistent but every single time, I read Obama's name it took me out of the story....maybe I just don't like politics or too many current references but it drove me nuts throughout the book!
Otherwise, I enjoyed the characters and this storyline, although her stories are rather formulaic.


All the President's Menus (White House Chef, Bk 8)
All the President's Menus (White House Chef, Bk 8)
Author: Julie Hyzy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 1/21/2015
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent entry in this series...great mystery and storyline with our favorite chef! What I love most about this series is that Ollie never (ok rarely) intentionally puts herself into bad situations...and these all happened as a believable part of the storyline--no TSTL incidents. Great ending and look into what will be going on in Ollie and Gav's personal life...already excited for the next one!


All You Need is Love (Green Mountain, Bk 1)
All You Need is Love (Green Mountain, Bk 1)
Author: Marie Force
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 5/7/2014


Great first book--I, too, fell in love with the whole Abbot family. Really enjoyed both characters as well as the supporting ones! Luckily with 10 siblings, there are plenty of stories to tell--cannot wait!!


Along Came Trouble (Trinity Harbor, Bk 3)
Along Came Trouble (Trinity Harbor, Bk 3)
Author: Sherryl Woods
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 5/10/2009
Helpful Score: 6


This was the third book in the trilogy and I have to say that it was my least favorite. I had a hard time connecting with the female lead; I didn't buy her story and why she left in the first place so I had a hard time accepting that Tucker would take her back. I enjoyed the first two much more.


And I Love Her (Green Mountain, Bk 4)
And I Love Her (Green Mountain, Bk 4)
Author: Marie Force
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 3/10/2015


Not my favorite of the brothers' stories only because Megan was too bitchy/ and then wishy washy for me to believe that Hunter had been in love with her all this time. Otherwise it was great to see the forward movement with the rest of the family.


At the Drop of a Hat (Hat Shop, Bk 3)
At the Drop of a Hat (Hat Shop, Bk 3)
Author: Jenn McKinlay
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 4/21/2015
Helpful Score: 1


I think this one was my favorite; good mystery and great interactions with the 'regulars' made this a really fun read. I like that the drama was contained to the cousins but still kept up the tension with Scarlet and Harrison. Great entry in this series!


Baby Proof
Baby Proof
Author: Emily Giffin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 977
Review Date: 9/22/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I loved her first two books--I didn't enjoy this one as much, probably because I didn't feel the same connection to this couple as in her other books.


Bared to You (Crossfire, Bk 1)
Bared to You (Crossfire, Bk 1)
Author: Sylvia Day
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 189
Review Date: 8/9/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I have now read all three and this is the best of the group. The main characters are not exactly regular folks so I guess an extremely extreme relationship works for them but it the story was just okay for me. Both characters have issues but clearly Gideon has not dealt with his at all, so two seriously screwed up people are trying to make work a seriously screwed up relationship.


Barefoot in the Sun (Barefoot Bay, Bk 3)
Barefoot in the Sun (Barefoot Bay, Bk 3)
Author: Roxanne St. Claire
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 1/4/2015


Ugh...this was annoying. Having loved the first two, I was so excited to continue this series that I actually bought this book...what a disappointment. I was so irritated with the h that i ended up rushing through it to get to the end. Zoe was annoying and refused to listen or learn...until right at the end. I sure hope that book 4 is better, although something tells me it may be a lot of the same.


Beautiful Bombshell
Beautiful Bombshell
Author: Christina Lauren
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 10/21/2013
Helpful Score: 2


Don't waste your time--what a stupid story! I cannot say anything else because frankly the 'story' was so short.


Body Check (New York Blades, Bk 1)
Body Check (New York Blades, Bk 1)
Author: Deirdre Martin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 226
Review Date: 10/1/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Loved it--great story; different from what I usually read, but enjoyed it thoroughly!


Body Movers (Body Movers, Bk 1)
Body Movers (Body Movers, Bk 1)
Author: Stephanie Bond
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 140
Review Date: 6/26/2011


I just couldn't get into this book--the main character AND her brother were annoying. The supporting cast was interesting so it is a shame; the story line had promise but I just couldn't get past those two. I didn't even finish it.


Bones are Forever (Temperance Brennan, Bk 15)
Bones are Forever (Temperance Brennan, Bk 15)
Author: Kathy Reichs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 7/28/2013


I have to say one of my favorites of her most recent books. This story moves fast and I mean fast! She is back in Canada so we get more Ryan--always love that--and an old fling,so really good banter. The mystery is complicated as usual but I followed it fairly easily plus the diamond information was fascinating. I gave it 4.5 starts--really excellent addition to the series!


The Bourbon Kings (Bourbon Kings, Bk 1)
The Bourbon Kings (Bourbon Kings, Bk 1)
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 8/2/2015
Helpful Score: 2


So, a rather disappointing start. I felt that the characters and story were 'expected.' Nothing that happened was surprising or, IMO, original. I also felt that it was rather rushed...I am sad to say this as I am a huge fan of the Warden but this was just not up to her normal standards. One last note, and maybe this is just me, but I had a really hard time feeling bad for any of them (except maybe Edward at first)and frankly the age of us feeling sorry for the rich people falling on hard times has passed.


Calico Joe
Calico Joe
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 4/20/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I picked this book up primarily because of its baseball theme and while I was kept interested and enjoyed the time shifts; the ending was ultimately predictable. It is very short and probably should have been a short story instead. For nostalgia it is interesting; if you are looking for something gripping and unexpected, this is not it.


Cancer Schmancer
Cancer Schmancer
Author: Fran Drescher
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 3/3/2009


I so enjoyed this book--her books are funny, poignant and always quick to read. Hope she has another book in her!


The Cat, the Mill, and the Murder (Cats in Trouble, Bk 5)
The Cat, the Mill, and the Murder (Cats in Trouble, Bk 5)
Author: Leann Sweeney
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 5/25/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Another great mystery from Ms. Sweeney. I have enjoyed this series since book one and this one involves only a few new characters--one I hope sticks around--and gives lots of "screen time" to the regulars. One aspect of this series that I enjoy is the realistic nature of the evolving relationships, especially her relationships with Tom and her stepdaughter. This book will not disappoint fans!


The Cat, the Vagabond and the Victim (Cats in Trouble, Bk 6)
The Cat, the Vagabond and the Victim (Cats in Trouble, Bk 6)
Author: Leann Sweeney
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 8/10/2014


Another cute entry in this series...great mystery and a lot of familiar faces...especially enjoyed the central cat in the mystery.


The Cat, the Wife and the Weapon (Cats in Trouble, Bk 4)
The Cat, the Wife and the Weapon (Cats in Trouble, Bk 4)
Author: Leann Sweeney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 7/24/2012


Another great story in this series; hoping that this will advance some of the side story lines in future books! I really liked that secrets were told and not held out throughout the entire book! Really enjoyed this one!


1 to 20 of 199 - Page: