Debra K. (deber) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 33 - Page:
Between Shades of Gray
Between Shades of Gray
Author: Ruta Sepetys
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 9/14/2012


This was fantastic book, heart wrenching but wonderful. My mother was from Latvia and had to leave her home when she was eight years old with her mother and they fled to Germany, her father was taken by the Russians to Siberia and never seen again. My mother came to America after marrying my father who was in the American infantry.We are definitely a giant melting pot of rich history and unfortunately heart breaking stories!


Bird in a Box
Bird in a Box
Author: Andrea Pinkney
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/4/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Wonderful story everyone should read, young and old alike. It makes you laugh and cry and think,which is always a good thing!


The Blood of Flowers
The Blood of Flowers
Author: Anita Amirrezvani
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 4/16/2011


I loved this book. The main character's passion and the uncertainty she felt between family obligation and doing what her heart told her. I read the book in two days, I didn't want it to end.


A Breath of Snow and Ashes (Outlander, Bk 6)
A Breath of Snow and Ashes (Outlander, Bk 6)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 7/9/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I loved the whole series, Diana is a marvel, she'll make you laugh, cry, cringe, smile and all emotions in between. I loved the books but I'm so glad that I finally finished the series! I can move on!


Child of the Prophecy (Sevenwaters, Bk 3)
Child of the Prophecy (Sevenwaters, Bk 3)
Author: Juliet Marillier
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 9/16/2011


wonderful storyteller. This is the last book in the series and I didn't want it to end. I never use to read fantasy but thanks to paperback swap I'm hooked. There are some great authors out there and Juliet Marillier is definitely one of the best in fantasy!


Circle of Stones (Druid Circle, Bk 1)
Circle of Stones (Druid Circle, Bk 1)
Author: Anna Lee Waldo
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 3/23/2012


I've had this book for awhile and finally read it. I loved it,she really researched the book and brought the story to life. I was pleasantly surprised when I got to the end of the book and found out the author was a local professor at Cal Poly University.


Cutting for Stone
Cutting for Stone
Author: Abraham Verghese
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 497
Review Date: 9/2/2011


this book was amazing, I couldn't put in down. The author did a great job separating cultures and races and letting the characters show you with their hearts the differences our backgrounds contribute to our lives along with a few turns of fate. The book was slow to take off but don't let that discourage you because this book is a definite read! Excellent!


Daughter of the Forest (The Sevenwaters Trilogy, Bk 1)
Daughter of the Forest (The Sevenwaters Trilogy, Bk 1)
Author: Juliet Marillier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 223
Review Date: 1/18/2011


I usually don't read fantasy but this book was recommended to me by a friend, I loved it and have requested the next book in the series. Good read


Emma Brown
Emma Brown
Author: Clare Boylan, Charlotte Bronte
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 6/12/2011


I absolutely love it! Boylan made you feel like you were actually there. The characters were wonderful and moving. I think the author gave Bronte's unfinished work true justice.


The Fiery Cross (Outlander, Bk 5)
The Fiery Cross (Outlander, Bk 5)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 343
Review Date: 3/6/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I love her books but they are so long, I have to admit that this one was not my favorite in the series. I waiting on book 6 now and I'm hoping it will meet my expectations and go out with a bang!


The Forgotten Garden
The Forgotten Garden
Author: Kate Morton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 493
Review Date: 8/14/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I love this book. I've read the Distant Hours and have another one of her books on my wish list. Can't wait .Kate Morton has a way to pull you in and then just when you think you have it all worked out she puts another twist here and turn there. I really loved it!I could hardly put in down,Great read!


The Ginger Tree
The Ginger Tree
Author: Oswald Wynd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 5/18/2011


I liked the book it was a little slow in parts but over all very interesting take on womens rights ant the history of Japan. I would love to see the masterpiece movie, next on my list


The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
Author: Stieg Larsson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2078
Review Date: 11/29/2010


Loved this book and have wished for the next two in the series. I want my husband to read it next. Everyone at work has read it, along with good friends.A must read for everyone.


Gracelin O'Malley (Gracelin O'Malley, Bk 1)
Gracelin O'Malley (Gracelin O'Malley, Bk 1)
Author: Ann Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 9/10/2012


Great book will definitely be reading more by this author.I was swept in to the wonderful history and strength of the Irish people. I'm not sure if there is a sequel but I hope so, I will being looking into it.


Haunted Ground (Cormac Maguire & Nora Gavin, Bk 1)
Haunted Ground (Cormac Maguire & Nora Gavin, Bk 1)
Author: Erin Hart
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 10/8/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I've had this book on my shelf for awhile now,and only wished I had read it sooner,I loved it. Beautifully written and full of twist and turns. I learned a lot about Ireland and the bogs which I didn't know. The book kept my interest from start to finish.I will definitely read more by this author. Great book!


The Hills of Tuscany: A New Life in an Old Land
The Hills of Tuscany: A New Life in an Old Land
Author: Ferenc Mate
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 11/10/2011


A quick read and beautifully written story. You actually felt like you were in Tuscany, with all the sights and smells and the arms of the Italian people wrapped around you inviting you in!


Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet
Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet
Author: Jamie Ford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 576
Review Date: 6/15/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This book was extremely well written and I loved it. It saddens me that we as a country made so many mistakes and hurt so many people.I loved the story!


The Linnet Bird
The Linnet Bird
Author: Linda Holeman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 10/7/2010


I really enjoyed this book. It was very different from most historical pieces,not always the happy ending we would hope but realistically done. I would read more by this author.A very good Read


The Lost Wife
The Lost Wife
Author: Alyson Richman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 4/21/2012
Helpful Score: 1


wonderful book,I felt the characters and the story was different from most holocaust stories I've read. A must read!


The Moon in the Mango Tree
The Moon in the Mango Tree
Author: Pamela Binnings Ewen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 6/23/2011


wonderful book I absolutely loved it ! It reminds me a little of the painted Veil with a different twist. I let my coworkers read this book and they all loved It!


1 to 20 of 33 - Page: