Paula P. (nmreader) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 50 - Page:
Agnes Nixon's the Manions of America
Agnes Nixon's the Manions of America
Author: Rosemary Sisson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/5/2008


Lady of the manor meets stable boy and they run away to America together. Cool story with a sad ending.


Amethyst (Dakotah Treasures, Bk 4)
Amethyst (Dakotah Treasures, Bk 4)
Author: Lauraine Snelling
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 4/6/2009


Didn't anyone else get creeped out that the "young minister" who wanted Opal was old enough to have an illegitmate son who was around eight, and Opal (who takes up so much of this novel it should have been named after her "Opal II") was only 14!!! Uh, folks, nowadays that is called child molestation!


The Bartered Bride (Bride Trilogy, Bk 3)
The Bartered Bride (Bride Trilogy, Bk 3)
Author: Mary Jo Putney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 10/24/2017


It is rare that I feel I really must write a review. This book was really bad! I usually love Mary Jo Putney, but if you haven't read this one, please give it a pass. I sped read the beginning and kept thinking it must get better. It never did. I have never like rape in novels, I lost track of the number of times it was described, enacted or discussed in this book. The description of how the main character serviced her husband - really, does this have to be described at all? Just yuck! I used to keep Putney's on my shelf as a sure to fulfill "good read". No longer. I am kind of scared to open another after this one.


The Body in the Ivy (Faith Fairchild, Bk 16)
The Body in the Ivy (Faith Fairchild, Bk 16)
Author: Katherine Hall Page
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 4/21/2013


Wow! I have read several of the mysteries in this series and this is the best one by far! The back and forth of the retrospective and the current action was very effective in keeping up the suspense. Very cool references to the Agatha Christie novel, "And Then There Were None".


The Bride of the Wilderness: A Novel
The Bride of the Wilderness: A Novel
Author: Charles McCarry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/5/2008


Although this is an historical, with plenty of attention to detail, the story line is fast paced and keeps you going to the end.


Christmas Miracle (Harlequin Historicals, No 147)
Christmas Miracle (Harlequin Historicals, No 147)
Author: Ruth Ryan Langan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/8/2008


I love anything set in New Mexico but this story was a great "feel good" story.


Colorado Lady
Colorado Lady
Author: Mary Langer Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/15/2009


Great romance, action novel. Good depiction of early Colorado. Christian oriented but showing a real flesh and blood romance between two strong willed people.


Comanche Wind (Avon Romantic Treasure)
Comanche Wind (Avon Romantic Treasure)
Author: Genell Dellin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/8/2008


Woman falls in love with Indian captor. The story is actually really well written and includes a story about her mom and how her mom deals with her daughter's situation. Different.


Coming Home for Christmas: A Christmas in Paradise / O Christmas Tree / No Crib for a Bed (Harlequin Historical, No 1068)
Review Date: 7/18/2012


What I like about Carla Kelly is that her stories are usually well developed and the hero and heroines are not cooky cutter idiots, like so many historical romances. The first story seemed a little rushed at the end; the second really needed another 50 pages to develop the romance and th third was a bit unrealistic when you consider the sex on the train. I think Ms Kelly needs more pages to develop her characters to her usual standard. I love her books, and recommend this one which is not as good as her longer novels, but still in the same style which she does so well.


Dark Side of the Sun (Heartsong Presents #508)
Dark Side of the Sun (Heartsong Presents #508)
Author: Rachel Druten
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/18/2012


I loved the novels in this series, having read Pasadena Promises first. However, I was disappointed in this novel. Imogene was unbelievable. I think she would really have been murdered due to her impetuous actions. The later novels are much better but this does provide the background for what happens later.


Dead By Sunset: Perfect Husband, Perfect Killer?
Dead By Sunset: Perfect Husband, Perfect Killer?
Author: Ann Rule
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 175
Review Date: 8/4/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Wow this guy was insanely charming to woo these professional women, get them to pay for his excessive lifestyle and then even kill one of them. He gets what he deserves at the end but the story is gripping. It really makes you think about those charmers out there!


Devil's Dare (Harlequin Historical, No 300)
Devil's Dare (Harlequin Historical, No 300)
Author: Laurie Grant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/4/2008


A case of mistaken identity - a preacher's daughter mistaken for a soiled dove. The hero ends up "having to marry her".


Devil's Embrace (Devil's Duology, Bk 1)
Devil's Embrace (Devil's Duology, Bk 1)
Author: Catherine Coulter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 8/5/2008


This is an early Coulter where rape is still an acceptable form of seduction.


Firecloud
Firecloud
Author: E. P. Murray
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 8/9/2008


Clara Melton lived, loved and fought in a man's world with a woman's cunning, a warrior's courage, and a fiery spirit that would become known throughout the land. But the noblewoman who set forth to carve a fur-trading empire in American's savage wilderness would become legend as the white woman who conquered the land, the warrior and the Thunder Horse, Firecloud.

From the back cover.


First Love, Second Chance (Family Man) (Harlequin Superromance, No 640)
Review Date: 8/4/2008


Bad man gets older and wiser and trys to make up for bad boy behavior ten years earlier. Having a sweet little girl helps his cause.


Galileo's Daughter: A Historical Memoir of Science, Faith, and Love
Galileo's Daughter: A Historical Memoir of Science, Faith, and Love
Author: Dava Sobel
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 4/13/2010
Helpful Score: 2


Actually, this is really a biography about Galileo, not his daughter. However, it is very easy to read and the author sprinkles letters to Galileo from his daughter to keep it interesting.


Gallows Thief
Gallows Thief
Author: Bernard Cornwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 10/3/2009


I heard this book on tape and it was excellent. Made the miles fly by!


Hannah's Heart (Zebra Splendor Historical Romances)
Hannah's Heart (Zebra Splendor Historical Romances)
Author: Jill Henry
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/7/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book reads like a traditional Western novel, with lots of details of western life. It is a pretty good read and keeps your interest.


Heart of Courage (Heart, Bk 3)
Heart of Courage (Heart, Bk 3)
Author: Kat Martin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 105
Review Date: 7/18/2012


This book was so irritating! I have loved Kat Martin books in the past, but this one was not up to par. I counted 10 times the hero go an erection by page 150. There is more to romance than a hard penis. The fact that in 1840, the herione could have a job writing in a newspaper was intriguing, but not followed up. There were story lines started at the beginning of the novel, never followed up on. There are better books out there with the same story line - women author - that are definitely better.


The Heartbreak Kid (Harlequin Temptation, No 623)
The Heartbreak Kid (Harlequin Temptation, No 623)
Author: Alison Kent
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/8/2008


From back cover: Electrician Sophie North felt as if she'd touched a live wire the first time she laid eyes on Tyler Barnes. that was to be expected, of course. He had a heartbreaking grin, an incredible body and a thousand watts of cowboy charm. Half the women in Brody, Texas were out to snag him. But Sophie was just passing through. And she'd sworn never to live her life at the mercy of her own passionate nature. Nevertheless, every time Tyler came near her, her response was shocking. Which wasn't suppoed to be happening. Lightening was only supposed to strke once!


1 to 20 of 50 - Page: