Joy L. (vintagejoy) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 317 - Page:
50% Off Murder (Good Buy Girls, Bk 1)
50% Off Murder (Good Buy Girls, Bk 1)
Author: Josie Belle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 6/14/2012


I have to say that overall I did like this book and will read the next in the series. However, until about half way through the book I really wanted to slap the main character silly. Her attitude toward the sheriff, with whom she has had a history, really was obnoxious. The mystery really got started after that and that was very good. Tips in the back of the book on how to save money. 3 stars.


Alpine for You  (Passport to Peril, No 1)
Alpine for You (Passport to Peril, No 1)
Author: Maddy Hunter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 152
Review Date: 9/26/2008
Helpful Score: 1


A great first book in a series. I was caught up immediately in the characters and stories, and have since read every book in the series to date. Highly recommended semi-cozy.


The Angel and the Jabberwocky Murders (Augusta Goodnight, Bk 6)
The Angel and the Jabberwocky Murders (Augusta Goodnight, Bk 6)
Author: Mignon F. Ballard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I wish Augusta Goodnight was my guardian angel!! Another in this great series. The name of the book itself makes you think "what on earth is this jabberwocky thing about?" The plot is strong and the person who-done-it was a surprise to me. Lots of action. And of course the "jabberwocky thing" gets explained. Love Lucy Nan and Ellis. Excellent read!


Animal Appetite (Dog Lover's, Bk 10)
Animal Appetite (Dog Lover's, Bk 10)
Author: Susan Conant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 10/31/2009


I have read a few others in this series and have enjoyed them. This one, however, not so much. The story & plot line are good. However the religious references and political references were too much for me. If all that had been left out, it would have been a great read.


Antiques Roadkill (Trash 'n' Treasures, Bk 1)
Antiques Roadkill (Trash 'n' Treasures, Bk 1)
Author: Barbara Allan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 3/18/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I have to say, this book took alot of reading time to make itself fairly interesting. I almost just put it down several times, but kept soldiering on. Finally about 3/4 of the way through it picked up. The problem I had with it were the frequent and to me, rather insensitive, references to the main character's mother, who has a mental illness. It was hard to get around, or through, the main character's "sense of humor." Not sure that I would continue on with the series.


Aunt Dimity and the Deep Blue Sea (Aunt Dimity, Bk 11)
Aunt Dimity and the Deep Blue Sea (Aunt Dimity, Bk 11)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 6/18/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I have read all the books to this date in the series and I have to say this was one of the best. The plots within the plots were done well, the suspense was great and it has an ending you will never see coming. All the old friendly characters are there of course including Reginald, Aunt Dimity (well, sort of), and Lori and Bill. The only thing I missed was that it does not take place in Finch with all the village characters. But the story makes up for that!


Aunt Dimity and the Duke (Aunt Dimity, Bk 2)
Aunt Dimity and the Duke (Aunt Dimity, Bk 2)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 187
Review Date: 6/18/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Excellent! I was a little hesitant to read this as it does not center on Lori Shepherd, but does tell the story of Derick & Emma. I'm glad I read it. Book two in this great series!!


Aunt Dimity and the Family Tree (Aunt Dimity, Bk 16)
Aunt Dimity and the Family Tree (Aunt Dimity, Bk 16)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 4/20/2011


This is my favorite book in the series so far! I loved the storyline, the characters, as always, were fun to meet up with again, and there was alot of action. Very humorous too!!


Aunt Dimity Beats the Devil (Aunt Dimity, Bk 6)
Aunt Dimity Beats the Devil (Aunt Dimity, Bk 6)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 6/18/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Lori is in trouble again! But thankfully she has Reginald and Aunt Dimity to help her out. Very good plot, taking place in an old castle in Northumberland where Lori has gone, in the middle of a rainstorm, to check out an old book collection.


Aunt Dimity Takes a Holiday (Aunt Dimity, Bk 8)
Aunt Dimity Takes a Holiday (Aunt Dimity, Bk 8)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 6/18/2007
Helpful Score: 1


What do a burning topiary, a elderly gentleman with a will that may cause some of the heirs extreme problems, a stuffed pink bunny and an old blue journal with blank pages have in common? A brand new mystery for Lori, Bill and Aunt Dimity to solve! This is a very good book in this great series, would recommend it highly.


Aunt Dimity's Christmas (Aunt Dimity, Bk 5)
Aunt Dimity's Christmas (Aunt Dimity, Bk 5)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 122
Review Date: 6/18/2007
Helpful Score: 2


What a wonderful book to remind us once again of the true meaning of Christmas. Lori has humongous plans for her first holiday with the twins, plans that are sure to run everybody ragged. But all those plans are put on hold when a stranger collapses in the snow in front of Bill & Lori's house. Lori's quest to find out who this mysterious stranger is teaches the valuable lesson of Christmas to Lori and the whole town of Finch. Very well written as usual and has all the characters we have become so familiar with. You won't want to miss this one!


Aunt Dimity's Death (Aunt Dimity, Bk 1)
Aunt Dimity's Death (Aunt Dimity, Bk 1)
Author: Nancy Atherton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 243
Review Date: 4/5/2007
Helpful Score: 3


First book in the series and it was absolutely wonderful. If you haven't read Aunt Dimity, start now!


Back to School Murder (Lucy Stone, Bk 4)
Back to School Murder (Lucy Stone, Bk 4)
Author: Leslie Meier
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 1/18/2010


This book in the series is a tad different than the first three. There is alot going on, and the first chapter or two really starts the book out with action. Lucy is having a mid-life crisis, so she has a bit more difficulty focusing on the crime she is solving, and appears not to even try to enlist much help from her friends. She is living right on the edge, will she step over it?


Bake Sale Murder (Lucy Stone, Bk 13)
Bake Sale Murder (Lucy Stone, Bk 13)
Author: Leslie Meier
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 2/21/2010


Lucy Stone is back with a whole new bunch of characters and suspects in this 13th novel in the series. A housing development has been built near Lucy's house, and she has alot of new neighbors to get to know. Some of them become good friends, some, well, not so much. Who would think organizing a bake sale could be so deadly? Great book - alot of new twists and turns and of course, Lucy has to help the police once again figure out who-done-it.


Battle Lines (Star Trek: Voyager)
Battle Lines (Star Trek: Voyager)
Author: Dave Galanter, Greg Brodeur
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 10/2/2006
Helpful Score: 2


This book in the Star Trek Voyager Series will make you think very often throughout the book "How in the world are they going to get out of this predicament?" An extremely well written book with believable characters who are true to the TV personalities. One of those books you can't put down!


The Beastly Bloodline (Pet Detective, Bk 6)
The Beastly Bloodline (Pet Detective, Bk 6)
Author: Patricia Guiver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/10/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I loved this book as much as I have the others in the series. I am sorry that there will be no more written. Delilah is at her best trying to find out how a horse was killed and then stumbling onto a murder. All the regular characters are there and I think Delilah may have finally figured out that she has found an RNM. (Really Nice Man)
All these books are easy reads and pretty G rated in my opinion.


A Beautiful Blue Death (Charles Lenox, Bk 1)
A Beautiful Blue Death (Charles Lenox, Bk 1)
Author: Charles Finch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 2/2/2014


I have to say I really wasn't sure, even 1/3 of the way through, that I would like this series, of which this is the first. By the end of the book I put the rest of the series on my wish list and can't wait to get them! One of the reviews says that Charles Lenox is a "unique sleuth who combines the deductive powers of Sherlock Holmes with the people skills of Thomas Pitt." Library Journal. I agree wholeheartedly, very much of that genre. Could have been written by Ngaio Marsh or Dorothy Sayers. Lenox even has a "Bunter" as Lord Peter does, only this one is named Graham.


Birthday Party Murder (Lucy Stone, Bk 9)
Birthday Party Murder (Lucy Stone, Bk 9)
Author: Leslie Meier
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 2/25/2010
Helpful Score: 1


One of my favorites in this series. Miss Tilley finds some relatives, or rather the relatives find her, what follows from this reunion form the main plot of the book. Lucy finds herself a reluctant chaperone to her daughters sleepover, trying to solve a murder where motive is very unclear, keeping an eye on Miss Tilley, as well as planning the town's party. Alot of interesting twists and turns. Really excellent read.


Blackberry Crumble (Culinary, Bk 5)
Blackberry Crumble (Culinary, Bk 5)
Author: Josi S. Kilpack
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 6/23/2012


Just a head's up ~ this series really should be read in order if at all possible. I tried reading this book, but was missing the previous two and got hopelessly lost as alot of the plot comes from the book before this one, "Key Lime Pie." So, I've put it back on the shelf and will read the books before when I get them.


Blackwork (Needlecraft Mystery, Bk 13)
Blackwork (Needlecraft Mystery, Bk 13)
Author: Monica Ferris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 6/2/2010


I'm sorry to say that I did not like this book in the Needlecraft Mysteries. Waited for it a long time and was looking forward so much to reading it. To me at least, I didn't like the heavily Wiccan theme, I felt little attachment to the characters who were not regulars, and didn't really see enough of the main characters, and quite frankly didn't care "who done it." Seems quite a departure from all the others she has written. I'm sure there will be many folks who will like the book, but for me, not so much.


1 to 20 of 317 - Page: