Sherry L. (sunlion01) - Reviews

1 to 18 of 18
Against the Night (Raines of Wind Canyon, Bk 5)
Against the Night (Raines of Wind Canyon, Bk 5)
Author: Kat Martin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 8/30/2013


soft porn-predictable- easy read for a night's entertainment


Angels' Blood (Guild Hunter, Bk 1)
Angels' Blood (Guild Hunter, Bk 1)
Author: Nalini Singh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 290
Review Date: 10/27/2013


usual formulaic stuff- some hot sex- I like reading it even though it is basically a trashy love story


The Children of Hurin
The Children of Hurin
Author: J. R. R. Tolkien
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 4/2/2017


Dense and difficult to read.


Cold Service (Spenser, Bk 32)
Cold Service (Spenser, Bk 32)
Author: Robert B. Parker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 11/6/2013


I love Spencer, and in this story he is helping his friend Hawk. Typical Robert B Parker, with terse and yet lyrical language and witty repartee. A great read.


Covet (Fallen Angels, Bk 1)
Covet (Fallen Angels, Bk 1)
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 546
Review Date: 2/22/2014


Great J.R. Ward book- soft porn, well drawn characters, good plot. Fun read.


Crave (Fallen Angels, Bk 2)
Crave (Fallen Angels, Bk 2)
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 240
Review Date: 2/22/2014


loved this second book of the fallen angels. Looking forward to the third. Course, the gorgeousness of the angels and the great sex descriptions can get a little monotonous, (not). lots of fun!


Dragon Tears
Dragon Tears
Author: Dean R. Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 296
Review Date: 8/30/2013


Not Dean Koontz's typical book- have read it twice years apart, and liked the premise both times. A intriguing and entertaining read.


Flashpoint (Troubleshooters, Bk 7)
Flashpoint (Troubleshooters, Bk 7)
Author: Suzanne Brockmann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 281
Review Date: 8/30/2013


Usual Brockmann- soft porn, well developed characters, if predictable- good read of a lonely, rainy night.


Flight Behavior
Flight Behavior
Author: Barbara Kingsolver
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 11/6/2013


Amazing! I loved her book Prodigal Summer, and this is another in the same vein. She mixes romance with biology and you learn all about the stuff of life. Heartwarming and true. A must read!


Godslayer (Bifrost Guardians, Bk 1)
Godslayer (Bifrost Guardians, Bk 1)
Author: Mickey Zucker Reichert
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.2/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 2/11/2017


This was awful. The writing was that of an author who had written a first draft with no editor to tell him it sucked. I am going to donate it to Savers instead of putting it on my book list. It would be embarrassing for anyone to think I likes it.


Inheritor (Foreigner, Bk 3)
Inheritor (Foreigner, Bk 3)
Author: C. J. Cherryh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 4/2/2017


Interesting description of two cultures meeting and trying to understand each other.


Lover Unbound (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 5)
Lover Unbound (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 5)
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 1143
Review Date: 1/18/2014


Just the thing for vampire/j.r.ward junkies. I loved it.


Marked (House of Night, Bk 1)
Marked (House of Night, Bk 1)
Author: Kristin Cast, P. C. Cast
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1172
Review Date: 6/6/2015


This is a fun young-adult book. That said, I am a 56 year old woman who enjoyed the Twilight series and books by Charlaine Harris, so this series is right up my alley. I love hat it is written by a mom and daughter team and I enjoy the new take on vampires. I will be looking for the rest of the series online or at the library.


Mourning Dove (Ella Clah, Bk 11)
Mourning Dove (Ella Clah, Bk 11)
Author: David Thurlo, Aimee Thurlo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 8/30/2013


Reminded me of Tony Hillerman, but not as well written. I will stick withhim if I want more of this type of story.


Persuader (Jack Reacher, Bk 7)
Persuader (Jack Reacher, Bk 7)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 185
Review Date: 8/30/2013


I like Lee Child's writing and the character of Jack. I just wish sometimes he wasn't so perfect at everything. Good story, lots of plot twists I didn't see coming.


Plan B 3.0: Mobilizing to Save Civilization, Third Edition
Plan B 3.0: Mobilizing to Save Civilization, Third Edition
Author: Lester R. Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/30/2013


I have not yet read all the way through this book-not because it is not a fascinating read, because it is, but because it gives me such anxiety about what is going to happen to our world in the next few generations. What are we leaving for our children and grandchildren? I feel helpless at the enormity of the problems presented. However, my feelings aside, the book is very well written, an easy read that explains complex issues well.


Precursor (Foreigner 2, Bk 1)
Precursor (Foreigner 2, Bk 1)
Author: C. J. Cherryh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 4/2/2017


Continuation of a story of two cultures fro different planets trying to understand one another through the eyes of an interpreter.


Rough Country (Virgil Flowers, Bk 3)
Rough Country (Virgil Flowers, Bk 3)
Author: John Sanford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/3/2013


I really like this book. Virgil Flowers is an intriguing character, and Sanford writes in terse prose that reminds me a lot of Robert B Parker. Plot twists and well-fleshed-out characters make this book a pleasure to read.


1 to 18 of 18