Annelle K. (Psalm150) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 276 - Page:
Ah-Choo!
Ah-Choo!
Author: Margery Cuyler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/27/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Oh my goodness, this book is funny. One animal sneezes on another, and the whole farm ends up with the flu. One of our family favorites, and it is even more fun if you read the "Ah-ah-ah-choo" REALLY LOUD! We wore out one book and had to request another copy.


All in a Day's Play (Tonka) (Photo Board Books)
Review Date: 2/20/2007


Great book for preschoolers who love trucks!


All Time Favorite Hymns - 1961
All Time Favorite Hymns - 1961
Author: Compiler: Jimmie Davis
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/2/2007


Music with shaped notes - this collection has some oldie-goldies.


The Amish:  The Enduring Spirit
The Amish: The Enduring Spirit
Author: Leslie Ann Hauslein
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/6/2007


Beautiful photographs.


Analogies 1
Analogies 1
Author: Arthur Liebman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/3/2010


This entire series is good for middle to high school students learning analogies. Not only does it teach them all the different ways analogies can be constructed and how to think through which kind you are looking at, but it is an excellent way to increase their vocabulary. Two thumbs up from this homeschool mom!


And the Skylark Sings with Me -- Adventures in Homeschooling and Community-Based Education
Review Date: 6/24/2011
Helpful Score: 1


As much as I want to say I loved this book like so many of my fellow homeschooling parents, I will go against the tide and say that I am not so enthralled. It is not completely without merit, (a wonderful tribute from a father about educating his remarkable, precocious, and highly-intelligent daughters) but I find the author's style a little too self-congratulatory. I discovered much more helpful information in the list of resources at the end of each chapter than I do in the chapters themselves. Read this book as an autobiographical type book about how this family educated their children.


And Then What Happened, Paul Revere?
And Then What Happened, Paul Revere?
Author: Jean Fritz, Margot Tomes (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 3/13/2008


Wonderful - not only to learn about Paul Revere's famous ride, but to learn all the details, plus, to find out that Paul Revere's father's name was Paul, and he named a son Paul as well! We read this book and used it to compare and contrast the details with the Longfellow poem about the same event.


And Then What Happened, Paul Revere?
And Then What Happened, Paul Revere?
Author: Margot Tomes (Illustrator), Jean Fritz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 2/25/2008


This book is such a fun one to read about Paul Revere - factual and a little funny! We learned a lot.


Angels in the Snow: A Novella
Angels in the Snow: A Novella
Author: Melody Carlson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 1/29/2010


This book was a little disappointing. The story develops slowly and there is not much development with the characters. There is a lot of discussion about snow, white, and more snow, and more white. This is a pleasant story, good for light reading, but slow-moving.


The Art of Preaching in the Twentieth Century:  Between Two Worlds
Review Date: 3/9/2007


This is one of the standard textbooks used by seminaries across the US to train pastors in the art of preaching. Expect some highlighted passages because it is usually used in a classroom setting.


Baby Bible: The Lord's Prayer
Baby Bible: The Lord's Prayer
Author: Robin Currie
Book Type: Board book
  ?
Review Date: 2/13/2007


The book explains each part of the Lord's Prayer in an age-sensitive, fun way that will delight your child. Hands-on activities and brightly-colored illustrations will make learning about prayer fun and easy.


Baby Busters: The Disillusioned Generation
Baby Busters: The Disillusioned Generation
Author: George Barna
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/26/2007


A ground-breaking analysis of the post-Boomer age group. The Busters represent the second-largest generation in the nation's history, yet the focus continues to be on the Boomers.


Baby Island
Baby Island
Author: Carol Ryrie Brink, Helen Sewell (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 5/2/2009
Helpful Score: 1


When 12 year old Mary and 10 year old Jean float away from a sinking ship, accompanied by a boat full of babies, it looks doubtful that any of them will survive. But these sisters are not easily discouraged, and when they run aground on a deserted island, they wonder if they will ever get back to civilization. A charming book, with enough suspense to create the "I can't put this book down" feeling for a young reader, and is entertaining with enough humor to make this a favorite for eight to twelve year old children. My daughter and I really enjoyed this one!


Barney Plays Nose to Toes
Barney Plays Nose to Toes
Author: Mary Ann Dudko, Margie Larsen, Dennis Full (Photographer)
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/24/2007


Board Book with rhyming text.


Bear
Bear
Author: John Schoenherr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/19/2007


One morning when the young bear awakes, his mother is gone. Can he learn to survive on his own?


Beethoven's Hair : An Extraordinary Historical Odyssey and a Scientific Mystery Solved
Review Date: 4/19/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This is the fascinating story of a lock of hair, snipped from the head of Beethoven soon after his death by a teenage musician. "How can hair be that interesting?" you might ask! I wondered the same thing. How the hair ends up sold at auction in 1995 requires a journey through history, two world wars, a remarkable little town in Denmark, and several generations of people. The organization of the book switches from Beethoven's day to modern day, then back in time again, then forward again. Because of this writing style, sometimes the author repeats himself, but I think he just wants to make sure you are "connecting all the dots." The story and details in this book are very interesting, and I am now motivated to read more books about Beethoven, as well as the young musician who snipped the lock of hair.


Behind Rebel Lines: The Incredible Story of Emma Edmonds, Civil War Spy
Review Date: 3/13/2008
Helpful Score: 1


The civil war is not my favorite thing to read about. This is the FIRST book I think I've ever read that was interesting that is about things that went on during that dreadful time. To think that as many as four hundred women did this exact thing during the civil war is amazing. The story flowed well, was not overbearing or depressing.


Believe in Yourself (Lessons from the Hundred-Acre Wood, Bk 5)
Believe in Yourself (Lessons from the Hundred-Acre Wood, Bk 5)
Author: Emily Hutta
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/20/2007


It can be kind of scary,
Trying something new.
Just remember
You can do it.
Just believe in you!


The Berenstain Bears in the Dark (Berenstain Bears)
The Berenstain Bears in the Dark (Berenstain Bears)
Author: Jan Berenstain, Stan Berenstain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 3/24/2007


Being afraid of the dark
Doesn't just happen to you.
It happens, sometimes, to little bears, too.


The Berenstain Bears' Moving Day
The Berenstain Bears' Moving Day
Author: Stan Berenstain, Jan Berenstain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 3/24/2007


Their stuff is all packed!
Here comes the truck!
Let's move with the Bears
And wish them good luck.


1 to 20 of 276 - Page: