Sarah M. (smudder) - Reviews

1 to 18 of 18
90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
Author: Don Piper, Cecil Murphey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 869
Review Date: 12/13/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I thought the book was good, but it was more about Piper's recovery than the time he spent in heaven.


American Girls About Town
American Girls About Town
Author: Adriana Trigiani, Lauren Weisberger, Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 5/9/2006


Nice collection of short stories.


Amos : To Ride A Dead Horse
Amos : To Ride A Dead Horse
Author: Stanley Gordon West
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 11/19/2011


Amos starts off a little slow, but once I got into I really enjoyed it. An interesting, unpredictable read.


Bread Alone (Bread Alone, Bk 1)
Bread Alone (Bread Alone, Bk 1)
Author: Judith Ryan Hendricks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 8/7/2006
Helpful Score: 1


An enjoyable read, unlike the typical watered down chick lit, I found this to be an intelligent novel with an interesting spin.


Everyone Worth Knowing
Everyone Worth Knowing
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 404
Review Date: 7/11/2006


Not as good as The Devils Wears Prada, but still an enjoyable read!


The Glass Castle
The Glass Castle
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3373
Review Date: 6/6/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Unbelievable story. I was shocked by what the Walls children endured. I felt sorry for them, yet I didn't want the story to end. Wow!


Good Grief
Good Grief
Author: Lolly Winston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 380
Review Date: 5/9/2006


My father is currently fighting cancer, and I could completely identify with some of the stages of grief that the main character went through. I enjoyed reading it, and felt a little bit less like I too was losing my mind!


A Good Yarn  (Blossom Street, Bk 2)
A Good Yarn (Blossom Street, Bk 2)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 801
Review Date: 8/1/2006


I enjoyed The Shop on Blossom Street more. This seemed a bit predictable.


Goodnight Nobody
Goodnight Nobody
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 502
Review Date: 5/4/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Different from other Weiner novels, but still an enjoyable read.


'I Remember Laura': Laura Ingalls Wilder
'I Remember Laura': Laura Ingalls Wilder
Author: Stephen W. Hines
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 11/1/2011


Primarily a collection of reminisces from friends and neighbors of the Wilder family. The book provides some insight into their day to day life in Mansfield, MO.


Knitting Under the Influence
Knitting Under the Influence
Author: Claire LaZebnik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 124
Review Date: 12/14/2006


This book was a bit disappointing to me. Centered around a couple girlfriends that get together weekly to knit. But, the problems the characters had seemed to be a bit to obvious, "Hello, your boyfriend is a jeck. Dump him already."


The Lady and the Unicorn
The Lady and the Unicorn
Author: Tracy Chevalier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 3/12/2007


A little slow at the begining, but I really enjoyed it once I got into it.


The Last Juror
The Last Juror
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 382
Review Date: 3/23/2006


I enjoyed the change in perspective from the usual Grisham novel, from the local newspaper man, rather than from a lawyer or judge.


Little Earthquakes
Little Earthquakes
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 912
Review Date: 2/19/2007


Slighyly perdictable, but a fun read.


The Memory Keeper's Daughter
The Memory Keeper's Daughter
Author: Kim Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5391
Review Date: 12/13/2007


The book moved slowly at times, but the subject matter was very thought provoking... an implusive decision made by one man effects many lives.


The Next Big Thing
The Next Big Thing
Author: Johanna Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 337
Review Date: 3/23/2006


Quick read, and not as predictable as the average chick lit book!


The Shop on Blossom Street (Blossom Street, Bk 1)
The Shop on Blossom Street (Blossom Street, Bk 1)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1020
Review Date: 7/17/2006


I pretty much read the book in one day and really enjoyed it. I was light-hearted, and kept my interest!


Yarn Harlot:  The Secret Life of a Knitter
Yarn Harlot: The Secret Life of a Knitter
Author: Stephanie Pearl-McPhee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 108
Review Date: 3/29/2006
Helpful Score: 2


I could identify with a few of Stephanie's stories, but I didn't find her to be as funny as others claimed her to be.


1 to 18 of 18