Aisha A. (aishaladon) - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
The 60-Second Commute: A Guide to Your 24/7 Home Office Life
Review Date: 11/16/2008
Helpful Score: 1


If you are new to working at home or thinking about it, this is a good book.
It goes over suggestions about time management, working at home with kids and more.


Confessions of a Slacker Mom
Confessions of a Slacker Mom
Author: Muffy Mead-Ferro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 11/16/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is an interesting book for new mom's that think they have to buy into all the hype about perfect parenting. Literally buy into it.


Digital Photography: In Easy Steps
Digital Photography: In Easy Steps
Author: Nick Vandome
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/8/2008


Thats what the first chapter of this book is called. The filmless camera. Simple and to the point. A step in technology. No more running to the store and having those pictures printed. You can even learn to do it on your own.

But before we get ahead of ourselves, the first thing you need to do is checkout this book.
It goes over a little history in digital imaging, and the equipment you need as a digital photographer.

It even has a chapter that will help you with purchasing the right camera.
next it goes over how to capture your memories, and the computer resources that are available for you to transfer them to.

Finally it goes over editing options for things such as red eye, or even editing old pictures that you have in your current photo album, and than sharing your work with others.

This is a great resource for any student.


Digital Scrapbooking
Digital Scrapbooking
Author: John Slater
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/8/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I purchased this book about a year or two ago when I decided to try something a little different when it came to preserving the memories of my family in the form of a scrapbook.

I really loved the idea of beautiful handmade scrapbooks, but the cost of paper, stickers, stamps etc, was very expensive.

With a background in web design I thought I had came up with a great and original idea. Digital Scrapbooking. Well when I did a google search to my surprise it was not an original idea. Others had thought of it before me as well.

I found this book to be helpful with ideas I could use, but with a background in web and graphic design it was not really what I was looking for.

it is an excellent resource for the scrapbook lover that has no previous experience or knowledge of Graphic Design and or Web Design, but if you do, simply use your graphic design skills and there you have it. Digital Scrapbooking.


Digital Video in Easy Steps (Digital Video)
Digital Video in Easy Steps (Digital Video)
Author: Nick Vandome
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/8/2008
Helpful Score: 2


A few years ago I had scene a few videos on you tube with really cool special affects, and I wanted to learn how to do them myself. Just for a little fun. So after a trip to the California State fair, mini camcorder in hand, I began to capture our memories on video.

But I did not want them to be your same old regular home made videos, so I purchased this book.

It does not have any cool tricks and ideas for beefing up home videos but it does give you step by step instructions on how to capture those great memories, how to get them on your computer for editing, editing, and sharing them with others.

This book goes into great detail about the tools you need to assist you in choosing your video equipment, shooting the video, editing the video, and finally publishing it.


How to Do Everything with Adobe Illustrator CS
How to Do Everything with Adobe Illustrator CS
Author: David Karlins, David Karlins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/8/2008
Helpful Score: 1


As a new Web Designer I purchased this book in order to assist me with creating graphics for my website a few years ago. It was helpful, an easy read with the basics of how to use Illustrator CS. It goes over the various tools, such as the pen , pencil and shapes and when you should use them, special effects, and more.

I found the section on the tools to be very useful because I was unsure of when to use which one.

Being a hand on learner, not theoretical, I also liked the fact that there are also various tutorials to help you try things out step by step until you become more proficient.

Im still not the greatest Graphic Designer, and that has to come with practice, but I was above to do high quality , simple graphics for my websites, and desktop publishing projects.

This is an excellent book, with great color, and detail for any graphic student.
Perhaps this book would be a great resource to those teaching an Illustrator CS class.


How to Do Everything with Macromedia Flash
How to Do Everything with Macromedia Flash
Author: Bonnie Blake, Doug Sahlin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/9/2008
Helpful Score: 1


A few years ago I purchased this book so that I could learn to make my websites more interactive and lively.

It is a very good hands on resource for a flash and or web developer.
It includes information such as getting to know the software in general,adding graphics and using text to create flash movie animation, as well as adding images and even previously recorded videos.

It is very similar to working with video, because of the time line and animation, but there are also very cool tricks to helps you save time like Tweening.

My favorite thing was learning about how to use the buttons and action scripts, and behaviors to increase interactivity. There is something in here for everyone from beginner to advanced.


Improve Your Child's Grades & Behavior Through 21 Simple Techniques
Review Date: 10/8/2008


Dr. Amin Best is a personal friend and teacher.
He published this really great resource and stresses that it be in the hoe of every parent and teacher.

It is a really good fund raising tool for schools as well.
He goes over 21 ways to assist in raising your children's grades and improving their behavior.

One of my favorites is having lunch with your kids during the week.
it allows you some time to play catchup, and they will love the fact that they get to miss an hour or so of school time, at least once in a while.


Instructional Coaching: A Partnership Approach to Improving Instruction
Review Date: 10/13/2008


This is a good book if you are a consultant and looking to improve education working directly with teachers and school principals. ti discusses the issues about teacher training and the conflict of not providing the support that teachers need to implement their training, and suggestions on how to improve that issue.


The One Minute Teacher: How to Teach Others to Teach Themselves
Review Date: 11/16/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I was rather disappointed with this book.
It goes over simply setting goals, looking at them throughout the day, and than assessing your outcomes.


Star Writers
Star Writers
Author: Amatullah Al-Marwani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/24/2008


I really liked this book, it provided great opportunities and writing with an Islamic feel and prompt for students.

Very hands on, not to text book like.


Teaching in Today's Classrooms: Cases From Middle and Secondary School
Review Date: 11/20/2008


This is an interesting book, similar to a case study in which you are given scenarios and how to handle them in a class room. A guide reference for new teachers.


A Weekend to Change Your Life: Find Your Authentic Self After a Lifetime of Being All Things to All People
Review Date: 10/13/2008
Helpful Score: 5


This is an excellent book for a woman in transition. As women we are often taught to be self sacrificing. This is the beginning of a new you. A book perfect for a women book club, with activities for a weekend retreat and stories of self -re-discovery.


Will Yoga  Meditation Really Change My Life?: Personal Stories from 25 of North America's Leading Teachers
Review Date: 11/20/2008


I enjoyed this book, even though it was not what I expected.
I thought I would read some specific things about how yoga and meditation can affect your lie in a more philosophical approach, specifics; but I did get to read fantastic stories from individuals them self and how they personally feel that yoga and meditation has effected their lives.

Not so much a science or philosophy book. But a good read.


Your Child's Strengths: Discover Them, Develop Them, Use Them
Review Date: 10/8/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I really enjoyed reading this book a few months ago.
I had purchased it to assist me in writing my own dissertation on my personal education philosophy as an Education Advisor.

It was very interesting and hard to put down, especially being a person that is often misunderstood because Im not a traditional learner.

Everyone has strengths and weaknesses and this book is a great resource on using your child's strengths as a way to teach them, guide them, encourage them, as well as help them with the things they are not as strong in.

Excellent for Teachers, Parents, and Home Educators.


1 to 15 of 15