Janice R. (Bookwormdiggins) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 33 - Page:
Against The Wind
Against The Wind
Author: K. P. Yohannan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/31/2014


Another great book by K. P. Yohannan. If you loved Revolution in World Missions and Road to Reality, you will love this one also.


At The Scent Of Water
At The Scent Of Water
Author: Linda Nichols
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 11/27/2008


Another great book by Linda Nichols!


A Book by its Cover (Secrets of Mary's Bookshop)
A Book by its Cover (Secrets of Mary's Bookshop)
Author: Elizabeth Adams
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/10/2016


#6 of series Mary's Bookshop, Christian mystery. Good easy reading.


Come, Let's Reach the World: Partnership in Church Planting Among the Most Unreached
Review Date: 7/20/2010


If you have read other books by K.P. Yohannan, you will want to read this one. It should be read by every pastor, missions committee member, and anyone who considers himself/herself to be a world Christian. If you are not a world Christian, read this book and get motivated to do your part in fulfilling the Great Commission.
In this book KP shows how the world can be reached in this generation if each of us will do our small part in praying for and helping native missionaries.


Destined to Soar
Destined to Soar
Author: K. P. Yohannan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/2/2010
Helpful Score: 1


If you have read any other books by K. P. Yohannan, you know that they are all excellent.
This newest book that he has written is very challenging, encouraging, and practical. There are 37 chapters, each only 2-4 pages. When you finish one, you will want to go on to the next one. However, each one gives plenty to think about and apply, so it is better to digest each one before going on to the next.
Each could be used as a daily devotional. The thoughts contained cover everything from humility to God with pruning shears.
If you are into the "prosperity gospel," you might not appreciate this book. However, if your passion is to become more like Jesus, this book is for you.


Handyman
Handyman
Author: Linda Nichols
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 11/27/2008


This is an early book by Linda Nichols. I have read all of her books and enjoyed them. This one was not written as Christian fiction and is not as good as her other books. I still enjoyed it, though I was a little disappointed that it did not have the depth that In Search of Eden and her other books do.


Healing from Post-Abortion Syndrome
Review Date: 7/25/2008


Healing from Post-Abortion Syndrome, self help workbook by Jeannine T. Dumais, founder and director the Lighthouse Pregnancy Crisis Center.
"Please, Mommy, Daddy, cry no more,
For Jesus has just opened the door.
Please help them, Jesus; Help them to see,
That with us they an spend eternity.
For they need only come to You,
And there they will find me too."
This is a spiral bound book put out by the Lighthouse Pregnancy Crisis Center in Ossipee, NH. It is a self-published book not available in bookstores.
The author's story is one of miraculous healing. The book is an outgrowth of her working with those who were hurting from having abortions themselves and also working with fathers and grandparents of aborted babies and helping them to find the healing that comes from God.


If I Gained the World
If I Gained the World
Author: Linda Nichols
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 11/27/2008
Helpful Score: 1


All of Linda Nichols' books are great, and this one is no exception.


In Search of Eden
In Search of Eden
Author: Linda Nichols
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 11/27/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is the first book I read by Linda Nichols. After reading it, I got all of her books, read them, and passed them on to my (adult) daughter.
This is not "light" Christian romance or what I call "Christian soap opera." It deals with some very heavy subjects. For young readers, you might want to preread it for mature content. The content is handled tastefully and well. However, some youngsters may not be ready to deal with the issues that are presented.


Jessica's First Prayer
Jessica's First Prayer
Author: Hesba Stretton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/19/2014


Wonderful story! Heartwarming and inspirational!


Jesus Always Large Deluxe: Embracing Joy in His Presence
Jesus Always Large Deluxe: Embracing Joy in His Presence
Author: Sarah Young
Book Type: Imitation Leather
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/20/2018


This book is very much like Jesus Calling by the same author. Both are written as though Jesus is speaking to you with all of His love, assurance, and peace. I can't say enough to praise these books.
I read both of them every morning and get them to give to friends whenever I can.


Jesus Calling - Deluxe Edition Brown Cover: Enjoying Peace in His Presence
Jesus Calling - Deluxe Edition Brown Cover: Enjoying Peace in His Presence
Author: Sarah Young
Book Type: Imitation Leather
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/13/2017


I can recommend this book highly. After someone gave it to me in January, I have gotten them to give to relatives and friends every time one coomes up here. It is a very short (one page) devotional for each day with Scripture, usually at least 3 Bible verses that support the thought of the day. This is the best and most helpful book of its kind that I have ever used.


Jesus Calling: Enjoying Peace In His Presence-Devotions For Every Day Of The Year
Review Date: 1/31/2017


"I am your strength and shield. I plan out each day and have it ready for you, long before you arise from bed. I also provide the strength you need each step of the way. Instead of assessing your energy level and wondering about what's on the road ahead, concentrate on staying in touch with Me. My power flows freely into you through our open communication. Refuse to waste energy worrying, and you will have strength to spare."
This book is written as though Jesus is speaking to you with all of His love, assurance, and peace. I can't say enough to praise these books by Sarah Young. I read mine every morning and get them to give to friends whenever I can.


Jesus Today: Experience Hope Through His Presence
Jesus Today: Experience Hope Through His Presence
Author: Sarah Young
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/26/2017


This book is very much like Jesus Calling by the same author. Both are written as though Jesus is speaking to you with all of His love, assurance, and peace. I can't say enough to praise these books.


The Legend of Gid the Kid and the Black Bean Bandits (Heroes of Promise)
Review Date: 3/19/2009


This story is not a Bible story, but the character is based on Biblical character Gideon. It is an adventure story your children will like, and it teaches a good lesson.


The Legend of Ten-Gallon Sam and The Perilous Mine (Heroes of Promise)
Review Date: 3/19/2009


This story is not a Bible story, but the character is based on Biblical character Samson. It is an adventure story your children will like, and it teaches a good lesson.


Lifetime Guarantee: Making Your Christian Life Work and What to Do When It Doesn't
Review Date: 10/30/2013


Excellent book. Not one you will read and then relist. You will want to keep this book in your library and have an extra one to loan out to friends. This is basic and practical Christianity, not just another self-help book.
It's not about doing; it's about being who you are in Christ, about making your behavior match your identity.
Endorsed by Dr. Charles Stanley.


No Longer a Slumdog: Bringing Hope to Children in Crisis
No Longer a Slumdog: Bringing Hope to Children in Crisis
Author: K. P. Yohannan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 8/23/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Another excellent book by KP Yohannan. Tells of the Dalit, low caste, and below caste children that Gospel For Asia's Bridge of Hope works with.


Not a Sparrow Falls
Not a Sparrow Falls
Author: Linda Nichols
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 11/27/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Great book. Shows God's care for someone even in the most trying of circumstances.


Not a Sparrow Falls
Not a Sparrow Falls
Author: Linda Nichols
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 11/27/2008


Another great book by Linda Nichols!


1 to 20 of 33 - Page: