Karen B. (SciFiFan) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 70 - Page:
16 Clues to Your Past Lives: A Guide to Discovering Who You Were
16 Clues to Your Past Lives: A Guide to Discovering Who You Were
Author: Barbara Lane
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 11/16/2008


This book gives some thought simulations that allow the reader to pursue areas of interest that may have been past lives/environments. In my humble opinion, there is just too much emphasis on persons who do/perform historical reenactments. I think the book has merit and you can get use form the book. I would also just warn prospective readers that this book cannot tell you who you were in a past life. It does however, give you interesting things to think about and pursue for yourself as you go forward in your life. It can be used to help you in your spiritual growth as long as you don't think of it as a metaphysical "Easy button".


The Alchemyst (Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel, Bk 1)
The Alchemyst (Secrets of the Immortal Nicholas Flamel, Bk 1)
Author: Michael Scott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 8/13/2009
Helpful Score: 1


One Terrific Read!

This is supposed to be written for YAs. However, I think it is fine for all of us! This is the first Michael Scott I've read and I will be reading more. I love the characters; the plot is tight and the action non-stop! It is the quintessential good versus bad plotline and the entire story is engaging.

It has been compared to Harry Potter, but I think because this is a book about a cast of characters versus a main character, the feel is different. I very much enjoyed it.

A note, though, that if you do not enjoy fantasy, this book is probably not for you.


Alexander Hamilton
Alexander Hamilton
Author: Ron Chernow
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 6/17/2010
Helpful Score: 1


One the of best biographies I have read, engaging as well as informative. The CD version is excellent as well. This book made me realize that politics were as partisan and obnoxious in the past as they are now. The only good thing about politics in this forum is that we get to know the historical figures who are living and breathing the politics really well and come to understand their motivations, whether or not we support them. I must say the most surprising thing that resulted from my read is that I am no longer a fan of Thomas Jefferson!!!

Highly recommended.


Altar of Eden
Altar of Eden
Author: James Rollins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 6/23/2010


Interesting scenario! Would recommend because it is a different type of James Rollins book and doesn't have the same characters. It kept us guessing throughout!! Enjoy!!!


Amazonia
Amazonia
Author: James Rollins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 418
Review Date: 7/26/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I thoroughly enjoyed this rip roaring adventure! Characters are well developed and the story line is fascinating. Really a fun read!


American Gods
American Gods
Author: Neil Gaiman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 968
Review Date: 7/28/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This is an amazing book. Gaiman's writing reminds me a little of Clive Barker. You become immersed in the new world he has created and actually can believe this is happening. There is a dark feel to this, although that is not a negative comment. It just adds to the ambiance that Gaiman is developing through out the book. Recommend highly! I read it and then I had to re-read...really a fabulous book.


Bad Moon Rising
Bad Moon Rising
Author: Jonathan Maberry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 1/31/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Maberry can really write! This is the third book in a series, the first is "Ghost Road Blues" which got me hooked! The second book, "Dead Man's Song" made me a big fan. This book has cemented Maberry up there with other great story tellers like King and McCammon. He creates atmosphere well and really brings you into the story. You feel like you know the characters in his books...I couldn't put this book down, but I didn't want the story to end either...all the great books can do this. The pace in the book is fabulous. 5 Stars for this book and the series. I highly recommend!!!!


Beloved
Beloved
Author: Toni Morrison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 236
Review Date: 8/4/2008


An unbelievable book...it is mesmerizing, intense and deeply disturbing. It takes you into the world of slavery and beyond...into the minds of people enslaved and the results of that. Even beyond that. This is a must read book...never easy...but must read!


Beyond the Hanging Wall
Beyond the Hanging Wall
Author: Sara Douglass
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 1/10/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent Book!

This is pure fantasy with fantastic writing! If you haven't read Sara Douglass before, you are in for a treat.

I began this book and became immediately immersed in the story and engaged with the characters. I couldn't put it down until I got to the end. I stayed up far into the wee hours of the morning because I just had to finish it.

If you like fantasy, you will love this book!!! Enjoy...


Beyond the Shadows (Night Angel, Bk 3)
Beyond the Shadows (Night Angel, Bk 3)
Author: Brent Weeks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 130
Review Date: 6/13/2010


I didn't want this Trilogy to end!!! As others have noted, you really need to read the entire trilogy and I did read them in order, all at one time.

I feel as though I have lost friends and as though I have learned some true lessons, just by reading and becoming lost in these books. If you are a true fantasy lover, I sincerely believe that you will enjoy these immensely.

The characters, the worlds, the plot...all are terrific! However, the feelings that are evoked during the story and the consequences of actions taken will stay with me long after I've moved on to other stories.

Great job, Mr. Weeks!


The Black Prism (Lightbringer, Bk 1)
The Black Prism (Lightbringer, Bk 1)
Author: Brent Weeks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 6/13/2012


Anothere Fabulous Start to a Brent Weeks Trilogy!

I wan't sure that this could possible hold up to "The Angel Night" Trilogy, but as much as it pains me to say it since that was one of my favorite new books, Mr. Weeks has outdone himself on this set. I am dying to have the next book and - bad. bad. bad me - I pre=ordered it on Amazon because I had to have it!

This set I will be keeping. Just too good to give up. So many great books and so littl time - that is why you should read these!!! I truly mean that.


Bridge to Terabithia
Bridge to Terabithia
Author: Katherine Paterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 686
Review Date: 6/28/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is a fabulous book! I read it in one sitting and although I am an adult, I believe a teen would really like this. The ending is sad, so prepare yourself, but even so, it was wonderful. I would say, even catharctic. Enjoy...


The Bridges of Madison County
The Bridges of Madison County
Author: Robert James Waller
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 788
Review Date: 6/28/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is a great summer read. Emotional, romantic, a book about longing and love and frustration and duty and oh so nicely written. I recommend highly for a cruise, or a beach or a cold winter night by the fire.


The Broker
The Broker
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 995
Review Date: 7/11/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Great book! Quick read. Fast moving, excellent plot, likeable characters and one of Grisham's best. Well worth reading.


Changes (Dresden Files, Bk 12)
Changes (Dresden Files, Bk 12)
Author: Jim Butcher
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 7/6/2010


What Can I Say!?

This is the best book in the series to date! No doubts...and of course, I am now waiting (forever it seems) for Book 13!

Harry really gets knocked for a loop this time! Several amazing discoveries occur in this installment which are sure to have riveting results in future books.

I love these books and have a difficult time waiting for the next book to come out! I guess that is just what Mr. Butcher is going for!! He has me hooked and keeps reeling me in...

Enjoy!!!!


Chosen (House of Night, Bk 3)
Chosen (House of Night, Bk 3)
Author: Kristin Cast, P. C. Cast
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 864
Review Date: 10/5/2009


Third in the series, Zoey has really gotten into it this time! As, in 'Trouble' with a capital T on oh, so many levels. In this book, Zoey continues to follow Nyx, but makes some poor personal choices that allow her to end up in a situation that is not what we anticipate. The hook is, we know that in the next book, she will get out of this and go on to become the best high priestess ever!

These books are highly addicitive. They are quick and a fun read. Enjoy!


Dagger-Star (Epic of Palins, Bk. 1)
Dagger-Star (Epic of Palins, Bk. 1)
Author: Elizabeth Vaughan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 119
Review Date: 2/15/2010


One of the best romantic fantasy's I have ever read!

Was imaginative and a good story. I few of the plot subplots were never resolved, but the major story was very satisfying and I enjoyed the read...which was a quick one!


Dangerous Notes
Dangerous Notes
Author: Gillian Bradshaw
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/28/2008


This is a seriously interesting concept for a book. I liked it and kept reading it but somehow, I wouldn't put it in my favorites list. It is about a very deep subject but the writing doesn't entirely take you there. That said, the book is good and if you have read other Gillian Bradshaw books and enjoyed them, I think you will like this too.


A Dark Champion (Brotherhood of the Sword, Bk 2)
A Dark Champion (Brotherhood of the Sword, Bk 2)
Author: Kinley MacGregor
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 243
Review Date: 7/11/2008
Helpful Score: 1


A good summer romance! Enjoyable.


Darkfever (Fever, Bk 1)
Darkfever (Fever, Bk 1)
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 716
Review Date: 8/29/2011


This is a FABULOUS Series!!! I highly recommend to anyone who is interested in Urban Fantasy...what a cool concept and highly original premise. You don't want to miss it. A new awesome series...what else could I ask for?


1 to 20 of 70 - Page: