Reviews - Julie B.

1 to 20 of 66 - Page:
The Associate
The Associate
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 351
Review Date: 5/24/2009
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This one sucked me in from the beginning. It's definitely a "don't begin if you have important tasks to complete" kind of book."


Beautiful Lies (Ridley Jones, Bk 1)
Beautiful Lies (Ridley Jones, Bk 1)
Author: Lisa Unger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 142
Review Date: 5/24/2009


"Enjoyable, but it was a pretty easy plot to figure out."


Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Breaking Dawn (Twilight, Bk 4)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3441
Review Date: 7/18/2009


"Note to authors: Do not break every single rule you've set up for your characters just so you can provide those same characters with an impossibly happy ending."


Captain Wentworth's Diary
Captain Wentworth's Diary
Author: Amanda Grange
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/22/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Grange does a wonderful job of staying true to Austen's original work and adding in enough details to flesh out Wentworth's life off the page. I especially enjoyed her description of Wentworth's and Anne's original courtship."


Caught Stealing
Caught Stealing
Author: Charlie Huston
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 5/24/2009


"I loved this exciting (and amazingly profane) novel. Hank Thompson is quite the protagonist, I'll give him that."


Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict
Confessions of a Jane Austen Addict
Author: Laurie Viera Rigler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 7/11/2009


"I'm not sure if this is more of a comment about me or this book, but 2/3's of the way into it I realized I had already read the book, and remembered hardly any of it. Hmm. That said, it's an enjoyable book for a Jane Austen fan. It's well researched, but not annoyingly so. Too bad the authoress wasn't asked to consult on some of the more recent Austen adaptations."


A Dangerous Man (Hank Thompson, Bk 3)
A Dangerous Man (Hank Thompson, Bk 3)
Author: Charlie Huston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 5/24/2009


"This was a great ending to this violent series. I wouldn't want a steady diet of mayhem and death, but Huston's dialogue made it worthwhile."


The Devil in the White City: Murder, Magic, and Madness at the Fair that Changed America
Review Date: 4/12/2010


"This was a strange book -- enjoyable, but unlike any other book I've read. It was a non-fiction book written like a fiction book, and its two topics -- the serial killer H. H. Holmes and the planning and execution of the 1893 Chicago World's Fair were connected only tangentially. The writing style took a little getting used to as well. But the information about the World's Fair was very interesting and worth knowing."


Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander, Bk 2)
Dragonfly in Amber (Outlander, Bk 2)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 336
Review Date: 5/24/2009
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This really bogged down for me in the middle when Jamie and Claire were in France, but got really exciting towards the end."


Eclipse (Twilight, Bk 3)
Eclipse (Twilight, Bk 3)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 2798
Review Date: 7/16/2009


"Another of Meyer's addictive vampire tales. I'm not really sure I liked the whole love triangle thing -- I frankly was rooting for her to choose Jacob."


Eleven on Top (Stephanie Plum, Bk 11)
Eleven on Top (Stephanie Plum, Bk 11)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 1199
Review Date: 5/24/2009


"Stephanie reveals herself to be less than an ideal employee in this novel. I appreciate Evanovich's attempt to shake things up a bit."


Fearless Fourteen (Stephanie Plum, Bk 14)
Fearless Fourteen (Stephanie Plum, Bk 14)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 929
Review Date: 5/24/2009


"Still fun, but not my favorite. The gaming stuff was completely unrealistic, and what's with the toes?"


Finger Lickin' Fifteen (Stephanie Plum, Bk 15)
Finger Lickin' Fifteen (Stephanie Plum, Bk 15)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 824
Review Date: 7/8/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Always enjoyable, this latest book did a better job at wrapping up the mystery than some of her later ones. Stephanie in a hot dog suit was classic Evanovich."


Five Skies
Five Skies
Author: Ron Carlson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/4/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


""Five Skies" is a marvelous look at the lives of men who are broken, and who drift into an unlikely place of redemption.

I can't praise this enough -- the setting, the dialogue (and lack thereof), the descriptions of town and food and desolate Southern Idaho are all wonderful."


Foul Play
Foul Play
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 408
Review Date: 5/24/2009


"The book was just okay. Her Plum novels are much better."


Four to Score (Stephanie Plum, Bk 4)
Four to Score (Stephanie Plum, Bk 4)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 2007
Review Date: 5/24/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Another great Plum book. These are like eating potato chips -- you can't stop once you've started."


Freakonomics : A Rogue Economist Explores the Hidden Side of Everything (Revised Edition)
Review Date: 7/25/2009


"An excellent if somewhat disjointed book that will leave you wondering what questions Levitt will answer next."


The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Millennium, Bk 1)
Review Date: 8/24/2010


"It's been a long time since I've stayed up this late finishing a book, but once this one got going, it was impossible to put down. Highly recommended."


The God of Animals
The God of Animals
Author: Aryn Kyle
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 2/16/2010
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"A coming of age novel, whose narrator is a 12 year old girl who is raising herself. Apparently her depiction of horses is pretty inaccurate (I can't speak to that personally) but I enjoyed the book, in spite of the hopelessness that ran through it."


The Grand Finale
The Grand Finale
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 414
Review Date: 5/4/2009
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was pretty bad. The character is definitely a proto-Stephanie, with destroyed cars, destructive dogs and pushy old ladies. The plot, however, was MIA. I get that it's a throwaway little romance, but couldn't something, you know, happen? It's like wham! the two main characters are in love after 15 minutes and determined to marry -- oops! maybe not because he is correcting papers (unforgivable in a first grade teacher) but oops! maybe it's back on again. Really silly."


1 to 20 of 66 - Page: