Mary N. (midnitebutterfly06) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 37 - Page:
Acts of Love
Acts of Love
Author: Roberta Latow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/25/2008


A love story with erotic fantasy. I enjoyed reading this book.

My book is a hard copy.


All Fall Down
All Fall Down
Author: Erica Spindler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 10/2/2010


Very good story of greed, twisted obsession, and a romantic thriller. I will be looking for more books by this author.


Balefire
Balefire
Author: Ken Goddard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 9/16/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Brutal, inexplicable killings suddenly terrorize a city on the California coast. Stunned and confused, the police feel powerless to defend their city, their families and themselves against these meticulously planned "random" attacks by an unseen predator.... until they realize that the havoc might be a cover-up to something even more shocking. As tensions edge toward panic, a select team of investigators and crime lab specialists steps outside the law to fight back...but soon these dedicated men and women fall prey to the elusive Thanatos, a superbly capable professional killer, a relentless human hunter whose greatest weapon may also be his fatal flaw--fear itself. A real heart attack of a climax!


Beach Road
Beach Road
Author: James Patterson, Peter de Jonge
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 485
Review Date: 7/24/2009


Another good book from one of my favorite authors with an ending that I sure didn't see coming.


Cathedral
Cathedral
Author: Nelson DeMille
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/24/2008


St. Patrick's Day, New York City. Everyone is celebrating, but everyone is in for the shock of their lives. Born into the heat and hatred of the Northern Ireland conflict, IRA man Brian Flynn has masterminded a brilliant terrorist act - the seizure of Saint Patrick;s Cathedral. Among his hostages: the woman Brian Flynn once loved, a former terrorist turned peace activist. Among his enemies: an Irish-American police lieutenant fighting against a traitor inside his own ranks and a shadowy British intelligence officer pursuing his own cynical, bloody plan. The cops face a booby-trapped, perfectly-laid-out killing zone inside the church. The hostages face death. Flynn faces his own demons in an electrifying duel of nerves, honor and betrayal.

A riveting suspence novel!


Chasing the Dime
Chasing the Dime
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 1/26/2010


A great thriller, one of the best I've read. Couldn't put it down, read in 2 days.

Only read one other book by this author so far (The Lincoln Lawyer) which was also good.

Would highly recommend this book!


Confessions of a Video Vixen
Confessions of a Video Vixen
Author: Karrine Steffans, Karen Hunter
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 8/5/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I was not impressed with this book at all. She used her body to get what she wanted from men and used her childhood as an excuse for her bad behavior. I feel sorry for her son which she really neglected. I would certainly not recommend this book for any young girl to read. And to mention the names of her so called famous lovers in this book was really in poor taste and I'm sure only done to sell her book.


Dirty White
Dirty White
Author: Brian Freemantle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/24/2008


Cocaine...it looks as pure as snow, but it's "Dirty White". Profits are huge and very deadly. New York investment counselor Walter Farr would never do business with a known Mafia boss, or with a major Colombian cocaine smuggler. Farr's reputation is impeccable. But then his teenaged son is arrested as a dealer and the FBI comes to call. His son will get off lightly if Farr enters into a deadly deception - to launder hundreds of millions of dollars in a dummy investment scheme - the biggest sting operation in history. If Farr succeeds, he will trap the biggest dealers in the trade: if he fails he'll pay with his life. And with the lives of those he loves.


Eclipse Bay (Eclipse Bay, Bk 1)
Eclipse Bay (Eclipse Bay, Bk 1)
Author: Jayne Ann Krentz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 210
Review Date: 9/16/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Loved the characters in this story. Krentz is one of my favorite authors.


The Female Stress Syndrome: How To Recognize and Live With It
Review Date: 10/16/2008


The book's message is vital for all women, as well as for the men who are professionally and personally concerned for them. It shows women how they can live with their stresses, offering much-needed reassurance and understanding while providing the self-help exercises, relaxation techniques and other therapeutic guidance to help them effectively manage their lives.

I found this book to be very helpful.


Gone, But Not Forgotten
Gone, But Not Forgotten
Author: Phillip Margolin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 144
Review Date: 3/2/2009


One of the best mysteries I've read lately. Couldn't put it down. I will certainly look for more books by this author.


Grandmother Remembers: A Written Heirloom for My Grandchild
Review Date: 11/8/2008


A great book to give as a gift or to keep for yourself and enter information for your grandchildren. Brand new, never been used.


The Gray Zone
The Gray Zone
Author: Daphna Edwards Ziman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/16/2012


This is a very well written book about the foster care system and how corrupt it can be. It tells the story of what a mother will do to protect her children.


Honeymoon
Honeymoon
Author: James Patterson, Howard Roughan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 602
Review Date: 10/6/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Read this book in 2 days, didn't want to put it down. Another great thriller from James Patterson! Would make a great movie.


How To Find Inner Peace And Learn to Relax
How To Find Inner Peace And Learn to Relax
Author: W.H.M. Stover
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/8/2008


A practical guide to coping with the tensions in your life. A book that is very much needed by everyone. You will not regret reading this.


Immoral (Jonathan Stride, Bk 1)
Immoral (Jonathan Stride, Bk 1)
Author: Brian Freeman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 11/8/2008


One of the best books I've read. Will certainly look for more by this author.


Julie and Julia : 365 Days, 524 Recipes, 1 Tiny Apartment Kitchen
Julie and Julia : 365 Days, 524 Recipes, 1 Tiny Apartment Kitchen
Author: Julie Powell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 210
Review Date: 9/13/2010


I have never laughed so much while reading this book. The author certainly has a way with words and her sense of humor is great.

I never saw the movie, but now wondering if the movie could possibly be this funny.


Left to Die (Selena Alvarez/Regan Pescoli, Bk 1)
Left to Die (Selena Alvarez/Regan Pescoli, Bk 1)
Author: Lisa Jackson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 10/22/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Nothing's more terrifying than being left alone to die.One by one, the victims are carefully captured, toyed with, then subjected to a slow and agonizing death. Piece by piece, his exquisite plan takes shape. The police can't yet see the beauty in his work - but soon, very soon, they will. In the woods of Montana, four bodies have been discovered. Detectives have been hoping for a career-making case, but this is a nightmare. Even with the FBI involved, they have nothing to go on but a killer's cryptic notes, and the unsettling knowledge that there is much worse to come.

Couldn't hardly wait to finish this book to see how it would end!


The Lincoln Lawyer (Mickey Haller, Bk 1)
The Lincoln Lawyer (Mickey Haller, Bk 1)
Author: Michael Connelly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 252
Review Date: 10/3/2009


This book is a definite must read! Very fast pace and well written book with a surprise ending. My first Michael Connelly book and I enjoyed it very much.


Men Are Just Desserts
Men Are Just Desserts
Author: Sonya Friedman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/14/2008
Helpful Score: 1


An relevant, illuminating, inspiring work...any woman will benefit from reading this book. How learning to be a woman with a life of your own can enrich the life you share with a man. Very upbeat...not antimen, just emphatically prowomen.


1 to 20 of 37 - Page: