Diana J. (eqfan80) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 34 - Page:
13 1/2
13 1/2
Author: Nevada Barr
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 10/29/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Nevada Barr has written a winning psychological thriller in 13 1/2. The switching from the past to the present between two main character families is a little hard to follow, but you can still see the big picture and understand what is going on. Even up to the last page, I was left with a question of who really had "done it." If you are not a fan of Barr's Anna Pigeon series, don't hold this book against her. It is a break from her other writing and she has done a great job. Worth reading!


Ardeur: 14 Writers on the Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter Series (Smart Pop)
Review Date: 7/21/2010


I was an English major in college and this book brought back memories of writing essays on other writer's works. I always wondered, as the professor talked about symbolism and meaning beyond what is apparent, if the author actually meant for all of this deeper meaning, or if they were simply trying to get a story from their mind onto paper in a coherent way. What I liked the best about ARDEUR is that before each essay Laurell comments on what each writer had to say. I found it humorous and enlightening when she would comment that certain issues brought up were not intentional, and how the characters essentially write themselves. For example, Laurell said that she had intended for Anita to choose Richard over Jean-Claude but the story and characters simply wouldn't allow it. Knowing how the story has evolved since that choice was made so early in the series, it is interesting to me to hear Laurell say that. All in all, I savored Laurell's comments in ARDEUR and skimmed the essays, but knew that, though the essay writers were saying it, it doesn't make it true. Just like I knew in college!


Beauty's Punishment (Sleeping Beauty, Bk 2)
Beauty's Punishment (Sleeping Beauty, Bk 2)
Author: Anne Rice, A. N. Roquelaure
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 162
Review Date: 10/21/2012


I read this series because I heard it was the "original" 50 Shades of Gray, and I like Ann Rice's vampire books. I must say this is nothing like 50 Shades of Gray. There is no love story to carry you through the books, and no real redemption. I don't understand what Rice was trying to convey with this version of a BDSM story but it isn't anything that I enjoyed. The only redeeming factor is that Beauty ends up with a happy ending.


Beauty's Release (Sleeping Beauty, Bk 3)
Beauty's Release (Sleeping Beauty, Bk 3)
Author: A. N. Roquelaure, Anne Rice
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 169
Review Date: 10/21/2012


I read this series because I heard it was the "original" 50 Shades of Gray, and I like Ann Rice's vampire books. I must say this is nothing like 50 Shades of Gray. There is no love story to carry you through the books, and no real redemption. I don't understand what Rice was trying to convey with this version of a BDSM story but it isn't anything that I enjoyed. The only redeeming factor is that Beauty ends up with a happy ending.


Bound to Shadows (Riley Jenson, Guardian, Bk 8)
Bound to Shadows (Riley Jenson, Guardian, Bk 8)
Author: Keri Arthur
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 240
Review Date: 12/1/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Riley spends much of this book being torn between feeling the tug of her soul-mate bond to a man she despises and her choice to loving another. My heart went out to her as she struggles with the death of all the dreams she had of living "happily ever after" when she found her soul-mate. It figures that she would be bound to a psychopath. In the end, she has to decide whether to chance her own life. Because if she kills her soul-mate, as he so badly needs to be killed, then she may just be killing herself. As in all good stories, love wins in the end.


The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty (Erotic Adventures of Sleeping Beauty)
Review Date: 10/21/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I read this series because I heard it was the "original" 50 Shades of Gray, and I like Ann Rice's vampire books. I must say this is nothing like 50 Shades of Gray. There is no love story to carry you through the books, and no real redemption. I don't understand what Rice was trying to convey with this version of a BDSM story but it isn't anything that I enjoyed. The only redeeming factor is that Beauty ends up with a happy ending.


Crooked House: Ghost, Haunt
Crooked House: Ghost, Haunt
Author: Thomas F. Monteleone, John DeChancie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/8/2012


Book summary from back cover: Pikadon's stairways lead nowhere. Its doors open to reveal solid, impenetrable walls. Its hallways form an unsolvable, twisting maze. Against its colossal structure people seem as insubstantial as ghosts. Pikadon is full of ghosts. Once the sun goes down, the labyrinthine corridors are haunted by the shambling, moaning dead. Blind and deaf, crippled, skin shredded by atomic blasts, the imprisoned dead stalk the imprisoned living.

Overall, I enjoyed this book. I wasn't riveted, and often found myself putting it down to do something else. But I just as easily picked the book up again to continue the story. If you read a lot of horror, or haunted house stories, you may find this book predictable, though I found the Japanese atomic bomb victim angle to be unique. And I am still not sure if Chloe was actually alive or a ghost. I would recommend this book.


Deeper Than the Dead (Oak Knoll, Bk 1)
Deeper Than the Dead (Oak Knoll, Bk 1)
Author: Tami Hoag
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 168
Review Date: 3/13/2010


Another great book from Hoag! The setting is in the early 80's, when DNA technology was still being discovered and fingerprints were compared by the human eye. It is wonder any criminals were ever caught! I gained a new appreciation for our current crime scene technology, especially the ease of checking something as simple as fingerprints, or looking up criminal histories through NCIC. The story was believable, the characters are engaging, especially the children, who were the real victims of it all.


Dispatch
Dispatch
Author: Bentley Little
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 7/7/2010


This story will make you re-look at the phrase "and in the beginning there was the word." I have always been better in expressing myself in writing rather than speaking, but thankfully I haven't had the experiences that Jason did. I guess I am not a Letter Writer! LOL Another great story from Little!


The Eisenhower College collection;: The paintings of Dwight D. Eisenhower
Review Date: 4/21/2011


I recently visited Eisenhower's home at Gettysburg, PA and was amazed to discover that he painted. Eisenhower never had formal training, and considered his painting to be a hobby, but his use of color in his paintings is remarkable. I especially like how he paints snow, with the various shades of blue in the white, and trees. His portraits are very well done. I wonder what he could have done with formal training! The pictures in this book are just a sampling of his works. He gave most of his pictures away as gifts, and he created more than 300 in his lifetime. There are only 50 in this book, and there are a few in this book that were also in his Gettysburg home. This book also includes a summary of his life and his many accomplishments. I recommend this book!


Envy
Envy
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 447
Review Date: 1/12/2010


This is another excellent book by Sandra Brown. Plenty of twists at the end, with some sorrow and some joy. The 500 pages was a bit long, but worth it in the end. I give this one two thumbs up.


Floating Dragon
Floating Dragon
Author: Peter Straub
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 12/22/2010


I am a reader who believes that any book over 400 pages has something that could have been left out, be it extensive descriptions or dialogue, unless it is an epic story like Lord of the Rings. This is a 500+ page book that, in my opinion, fits that bill. I almost put it down by page 10 because Straub was jumping between two different times and it was driving me nuts! I thought the whole book was going to be like that and I wasn't going to keep reading. Fortunately, that was only the "intro." I liked the premise and thought Straub did a good job of bringing together seemingly random events to fit a singular cause of them all. Overall, it is a good book and worth digging through.


Gossamer Hall
Gossamer Hall
Author: Erin Samiloglu
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 5/5/2011


I agree with Lionel's review with one exception, I did like the ending. I agree that there were issues left open that were not explained and the reader doesn't understand what impact they might have, but I liked Juan's solution to the whole situation. Sad, but necessary. A great, quick read, even with 400+ pages.


Hit List (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 20)
Hit List (Anita Blake, Vampire Hunter, Bk 20)
Author: Laurell K. Hamilton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 120
Review Date: 6/11/2011
Helpful Score: 6


It was nice visiting with Anita again but I must say I missed her guys, specifically Jean-Claude, Nathaniel and Micah. They didn't have a cameo in this one. So sad. Otherwise, this book ended a lingering menace in Anita's life, and created a new one for her, which I must say I am looking forward to seeing what happens with that. The sex was minimal, which I also appreciated, and Anita still ended up bringing a new guy home. This book seemed more like a something to carry the storyline to the next step, rather than a major contributor to the storyline. I would still recommend it, if you are a fan.


Homeplace
Homeplace
Author: Beth Massie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/5/2012


The suspense buildup was enough that I knew the climax of the story would probably be a let down. It certainly didn't go the way I thought it would. It ended well, and for awhile I feared it wouldn't, so that was nice. It wasn't as scary as the story summary would have you think. Overall, an entertaining story and worth checking out.


Hot Six (Stephanie Plum, Bk 6)
Hot Six (Stephanie Plum, Bk 6)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 239
Review Date: 3/17/2011


I am reading the series from #1 so I cannot speak for any of them I have yet to read, but I think Hot Six is the best Plum book so far. I was frustrated with her character in the beginning but she has grown on me and now I cannot wait to see what she will do next and whose car will burn up next! My favorite part in Hot Six is what happened after Bob ate two boxes of prunes. Classic! I was reading it at work during lunch and I laughed so hard I was crying. Great stuff! I highly recommend this one!


Jemma Kidd Make-up Masterclass: Beauty Bible of Professional Techniques and Wearable Looks
Review Date: 4/12/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I don't wear makeup and everytime I venture into trying, I feel overwhelmed with all the choices and techniques. This book was recommended to me because it breaks down the whole process into easy to understand instructions and explanations. I think the author did a great job of taking a vast amount of knowledge and presenting it in a way that a non-makeup wearing person can understand. She includes a chapter on ways to modify your makeup look to the event, be it daytime, nightime, or being outdoors. She also gives tips on how to update your current look. This book is worth checking out, no matter how long you have worn makeup. You may learn something new.


Ladies of the Lake
Ladies of the Lake
Author: Haywood Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 1/12/2012


As an only child I found the dynamics between these sisters to be very interesting. I'm not sure I would have been so loving if I had an Iris in my life. There were points through the book when I wanted to put the book down but didn't, and I am glad I kept reading. Overall it is a very good, heartwrenching story and worth reading to the end. If only we all had a Clete!


Lost Stars (Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens)
Lost Stars (Journey to Star Wars: The Force Awakens)
Author: Claudia Gray
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/1/2015


I didn't "not like" this book, but I also didn't like how it ended. The supposed insight into the events leading up to this years "The Force Awakens" was another tidbit to add to the tidbits that have been officially released so far, and completely unsatisfying.

If reading Star Wars fan fiction, as I call this, is enjoyable to you, then I would recommend this book. I cared about the characters, and it was fun to see them interacting with the events in the movies.


Nerd in Shining Armor (Nerd, Bk 1)
Nerd in Shining Armor (Nerd, Bk 1)
Author: Vicki Lewis Thompson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 508
Review Date: 11/4/2009


This is a fun story about a nerdy guy in love with a beautiful woman who, thankfully, is down-to-earth and comes to accept him. It is a fanciful tale for those of us who aren't mainstream and are often overlooked, but have plenty to offer in a relationship. I find that so many stories revolve around beautiful people that it is hard to relate. This is a nice story of everyday folks finding each other and falling in love during extraordinary circumstances. We all have the potential of being someone's "Nerd in Shining Armor." Check this one out! I think you will enjoy it.


1 to 20 of 34 - Page: