Marcy M. (marcym) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 160 - Page:
16 Lighthouse Road (Cedar Cove, Bk 1)
16 Lighthouse Road (Cedar Cove, Bk 1)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 569
Review Date: 6/21/2006
Helpful Score: 1


After reading The Shop On Blossom St I thought I would try another by this author. Again, I grew to love the characters and couldn't put it down until I knew what happened to them all. I will be starting the next book in the series as soon as I finish typing this. As long as her books continue to be this good, I don't know if I'll ever go back to mysteries!


1st to Die (Women's Murder Club, Bk 1)
1st to Die (Women's Murder Club, Bk 1)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 444
Review Date: 3/2/2006


Another excellent read from Patterson


311 Pelican Court (Cedar Cove, Bk 3)
311 Pelican Court (Cedar Cove, Bk 3)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 7/26/2006


Third book in the Cedar Cove series. By this point, I feel like the well developed characters are my friends.


44 Cranberry Point (Cedar Cove, Bk 4)
44 Cranberry Point (Cedar Cove, Bk 4)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 501
Review Date: 8/4/2006


4th book in the Cedar cove series. Love it!


50 Harbor Street (Cedar Cove, Bk 5)
50 Harbor Street (Cedar Cove, Bk 5)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 611
Review Date: 9/9/2006


5th in Cedar Cove series.


Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Abby Cooper, Psychic Eye (Psychic Eye, Bk 1)
Author: Victoria Laurie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 544
Review Date: 6/12/2006
Helpful Score: 2


I really enjoyed this book. Abby has psychic abilities, although she doesn't always listen to them. I laughed at her antics, but still enough of a mystery to keep me guessing till the end. Fun read!


The Associate
The Associate
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 318
Review Date: 12/26/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I thought that this Grisham would finally draw me back into his writing. Until it lost steam about half way though. I feel the ending was thrown together without much thought, and there were several holes that didn't quite get stitched up. Not enough to entice me to rush out for his next one.


At Risk (Winston Garano, Bk 1)
At Risk (Winston Garano, Bk 1)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 366
Review Date: 8/21/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I couldn't get past Chapter 5. Never thought I'd use a 100 page rule with Cornwell, but just wasn't catching my interest.


At the Stroke of Madness (Maggie O'Dell, Bk 4)
At the Stroke of Madness (Maggie O'Dell, Bk 4)
Author: Alex Kava
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 170
Review Date: 3/23/2007


Forth book with Maggie O'Dell, I really enjoy this character.


Back on Blossom Street (Blossom Street, Bk 3)
Back on Blossom Street (Blossom Street, Bk 3)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 228
Review Date: 7/31/2007
Helpful Score: 5


I really enjoyed this book. The characters came to life, and the story line kept me interested. I didn't feel that the stories were already completed in previous books, like I sometimes feel with movie sequels. As long as she keeps writing about life on Blossom Street, I'll keep reading about it.


Bad Girl
Bad Girl
Author: Michele Jaffe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 1/18/2008


In depth police procedural that never had a slow moment. I really enjoyed the main character, she was so real to me. The murders were pretty graphic, so certainly not a cozy. The serial killer was pretty twisted, but is it who you think it is? Read the book and find out!!


Bastard Out of Carolina
Bastard Out of Carolina
Author: Dorothy Allison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 358
Review Date: 6/4/2007
Helpful Score: 4


I couldn't get into this book at all. I think it's the subject matter that nearly broke my heart. Sometimes I do like to bury my head in the sand, this was one of those times.


Be My Baby (Baby, Bk 2)
Be My Baby (Baby, Bk 2)
Author: Susan Andersen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 232
Review Date: 6/15/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Read all 372 pages in a day. Action doesn't stop, and the steamy 15 pages or so made me, well, have a hot flash!


Better Homes and Gardens Junior Cookbook
Better Homes and Gardens Junior Cookbook
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/4/2007


While this is geared towards kids, I still found several recipes that fit the bill for getting dinner on the table quickly. Know that these recipes are generally just a few steps above the bologna sandwich and spaghetti stage. I'd say it would be perfect for 8-12 year olds, along with busy women who are always looking for a fast meal.


Betty Crocker's Cookbook/40th Anniversary Edition
Betty Crocker's Cookbook/40th Anniversary Edition
Author: Betty Crocker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 3/30/2006


Very useful and basic cookbook that served me well during my fist years of marriage. This is a HB copy, still in very good shape other that the outside edges of the pages are beginning to yellow. Also, I smoke, so this cookbook has been in a smoking environment.


Bitch Factor (Dixie Flannigan, Bk 1)
Bitch Factor (Dixie Flannigan, Bk 1)
Author: Chris Rogers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 5/25/2006


Female bounty hunter falling for one of the criminals she picked up. Did he really get so drunk that he forgot he ran a little girl over? Kept me interested....


Bitsy's Bait & BBQ
Bitsy's Bait & BBQ
Author: Pamela Morsi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/9/2007


Two sisters, one with a 5 year old, move to a small town in the mountains. One believes that she just bought a B&B on Ebay, but she is getting a Bait and BBQ instead. The eldest put college on hold yet again to bail her baby sister out. Locals are a colorful crowd that will keep you smiling as the help keep her new business going. Add a little romance with the ex husband, and that rounds off this very enjoyable book.


Blind Justice (Sir John Fielding, Bk 1)
Blind Justice (Sir John Fielding, Bk 1)
Author: Bruce Alexander
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 10/3/2008
Helpful Score: 3


This was my first historical fiction attempt. I have always feared that it would be annoying to read, filled with "proper" English words. I have also never been a fan of any history, finding most of it to be boring to me.

Bruce Alexander brought these characters to life! I feel as if I have personally met each and every one of them. I found myself involved in each of their activities, and feeling the emotions they were feeling. The mystery was not the same old same old that I have found in newer mystery novels, and was a fresh breath of air for me.

I will certainly be reading the rest of this series, and thank a fellow PBS'r for turning me on to another new author.


Blossom (Burke, Bk 5)
Blossom (Burke, Bk 5)
Author: Andrew Vachss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 8/22/2006


5th in the Burke series, as great as all the others.


Blown Away (Emily Thompson, Bk 1)
Blown Away (Emily Thompson, Bk 1)
Author: Shane Gericke
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 7/1/2007
Helpful Score: 4


I'm not really sure how I should rate this book. On one hand, I thought the plot was very original. My family plays a lot of board games, so I could really relate to the main character and her family. On the other hand, I don't feel that the other characters were very well developed. Still on the fence about how many stars to rate it, so I'll say 4 star and give the author the benefit of the doubt.


1 to 20 of 160 - Page: