Carolyn H. (carih) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 41 - Page:
About That Night (FBI / U. S. Attorney, Bk 3)
About That Night (FBI / U. S. Attorney, Bk 3)
Author: Julie James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 5/3/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Julie James is one of my can't go wrong authors. Loved this book, just like all of her previous books. It has witty and smart dialogue, along with a great love story. Def. worth a credit!


The Best of Friends
The Best of Friends
Author: Susan Mallery
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 106
Review Date: 11/14/2010


For me, Susan Mallery is a sure bet for a great contemporary romance, and this book is no exception. Great storyline, well-developed characters, and a happy ending. Read it in a day!


Caught (Gemini Men, Bk 1)
Caught (Gemini Men, Bk 1)
Author: Jami Alden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 90
Review Date: 7/8/2010
Helpful Score: 3


This is everything I look for from a book in this genre. Great hero/heroine, an actual PLOT, and steam! Loved it!


The Doctor Wears A Stetson: The Diamondback Ranch Series (Volume 1)
Review Date: 3/4/2013


Well, I added this to my "Books I've Read" list, but really should have added it to the "Books I've read halfway through, and then skimmed to the end" list.

The H/h go on one date (the prom) in high school and fall in love, which lasts through a marriage and 15 years. Doc comes back to town, and they are instantly together again. The interactions are juvenile. Not overly impressed with the writing.


The Duke's Night of Sin (Seven Deadly Sins, Bk 3)
The Duke's Night of Sin (Seven Deadly Sins, Bk 3)
Author: Kathryn Caskie
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 2/19/2012


First of all, this book was so poorly edited, my 5th grader could have done better. Sheesh!

I really enjoyed the first two books of this series. This one was OK at best. Could not relate to the personal turmoil the heroine went through. She encounters the hero in the library in the first chapter, and basically goes for it. Then for the rest of the book she is worried about honor and all that. So I just could not really buy into the conflict of the story.


A Duke's Temptation (Bridal Pleasures, Bk 1)
A Duke's Temptation (Bridal Pleasures, Bk 1)
Author: Jillian Hunter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 6/28/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This book started out wonderfully, and went down hill fast. It seems like Jillian Hunter of old wrote the first half and then somebody else took over. Was not one of my favorites.


Everyone Loves a Hero...and That's the Problem
Everyone Loves a Hero...and That's the Problem
Author: Marie Force
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 6/12/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Gosh, this book had such promise. I just felt like the main characters and their interactions were at times so "high schoolish." I had the same problem with the ending pages of this book that I had with her last book, "Love at First Flight." I just can't find it all that believable when the 2 main characters are sooooo in love, that they could go months without speaking to each other with no resolution. Gave it 3 1/2 stars.


Four Dukes and a Devil: The Irish Duke / The Duke Who Came to Dinner / Devil to Pay / Catch of the Century / Charmed by Her Smile
Review Date: 7/26/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Ordered this for the Tracy Anne Warren story and it was just OK. Ended up liking Cathy Maxwell's better. The other 3 stories included a contemporary short-story, vampire short story and another short historical by Sophia Nash. I was not greatly impressed with the latter 3 at all. I think I would save my credit and look for this one in a deal in the book bazaar.


Game for Seduction (Bad Boys of Football, Bk 2)
Game for Seduction (Bad Boys of Football, Bk 2)
Author: Bella Andre
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 91
Review Date: 1/31/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Gave this 4 stars. Like in the first Bad Boys book, the conflicts between the Hero & Heroine are somewhat laughable. The Hero's big secret that he's hidden since high school is pretty much a yawner. But the interactions and steam more than make up for the flaws. I guess I'm just a sucker for a hunky football hero.


Good Girls Don't (Donovan Brothers Brewery, Bk 1)
Good Girls Don't (Donovan Brothers Brewery, Bk 1)
Author: Victoria Dahl
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 122
Review Date: 10/7/2011


Loved it. Endearing characters and fast moving dialouge. Bought Book 2 and I'm looking forward to reading about Jamie!


Hell on Wheels (Black Knights Inc., Bk 1)
Hell on Wheels (Black Knights Inc., Bk 1)
Author: Julie Ann Walker
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 10/24/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I'm in the middle of book #2 in this series, and I am loving it as much as I loved this book. The author's phrasing is laugh-out-loud funny at times. Both H & h are likable characters with a slow build-up to the steam. Putting this author on my must-buy list! Very much worth a credit.


His Sinful Secret (Notorious Bachelors, Bk 3)
His Sinful Secret (Notorious Bachelors, Bk 3)
Author: Emma Wildes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 5/30/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This is your classic "jaded doesn't believe in love" Lord marries innocent younger Lady out of duty. Of course they fall in love. I found this whole series pleasant enough reading, but not earth shattering.


Holding Out for a Hero (Men of Hawaii, Bk 4)
Holding Out for a Hero (Men of Hawaii, Bk 4)
Author: HelenKay Dimon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 11/28/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This book was just OK for me. The H/H go from hating each other to loving each other in about 4 days. That was just a bit too unbelievable for me. There's a mystery aspect to the book, which is actually pretty interesting. Love scenes were good and steamy.


If You Were Mine (Sullivans, Bk 5)
If You Were Mine (Sullivans, Bk 5)
Author: Bella Andre
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 8/31/2012


I absolutely love this series by Bella Andre. I've read all 6 she has out to date (bought #6 for my Kindle yesterday), and I tend to read them in one sitting they are so good. It's the kind of series you almost shouldn't start until you have them all, because it kills you to wait for the next book to come out.


I've Got Your Number (Large Print)
I've Got Your Number (Large Print)
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 9/6/2012
Helpful Score: 1


At this point, I don't think Sophie Kinsella could write a book that I do not love. This book, like many of her previous books, somehow manages to be totally hysterical while drawing you in to a sentimental love story. My absolute favorite part were the footnotes by Poppy. They are laugh out loud funny!


Long Live Earth
Long Live Earth
Author: Meighan Morrison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/8/2011


The message and words of the book are fantastic! I wasn't really crazy about the "quilt-like" illustrations, and 5 year old son who usually points to pictures and asks a million questions must have agreed. He was totally quiet!


A Lot Like Love (FBI / US Attorney, Bk 2)
A Lot Like Love (FBI / US Attorney, Bk 2)
Author: Julie James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 105
Review Date: 4/8/2011


I just love Julie James! She has such witty dialogue and likable characters, I have a hard time putting her books down. This was a 5 star book for me! As an added bonus, we get to catch up a bit with Jack Pallas & Cameron Lynde from her previous book "Something About You."


Love at First Flight
Love at First Flight
Author: Marie Force
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 55
Review Date: 1/16/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I loved Marie Force's first book, Line of Scrimmage, so I picked this up in hopes that I'd love it just as much. I thought the book was really good, until the last chapter or two kind of ruined it for me. It just wasn't all that believable. Wish she would have wrapped it up differently.


Men Out of Uniform: Soul Possession / Wanted / Taking the Heat
Review Date: 1/15/2012


All three stories were great. Not usually a huge fan of anthologies, but gave it a whirl due to Maya Banks. Liked them all!


The Missing
The Missing
Author: Shiloh Walker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 8/11/2011


This book had a nice love story to it, as I would expect from Shiloh Walker. The mystery aspect of the book was a little too obvious, but because the heroine is a psychic and used her abilities throughout the story, I think it was able to keep me interested.


1 to 20 of 41 - Page: