Nancy M. (ropedancer) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 33 - Page:
Again Calls the Owl
Again Calls the Owl
Author: Margaret Craven
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/7/2006


The sequel to the bestseller "I heard the Owl Call my Name"


Angels on the Roof
Angels on the Roof
Author: Martha Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/11/2006


I read this when I was about fifteen or sixteen. I remember enjoying it but I have no urge to read it again.


Black Dawn (Night World, Bk 8)
Black Dawn (Night World, Bk 8)
Author: L. J. Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 5/15/2006


The eigth book in the Night World Series.

I was so in love with The Night World Series during Middle school. But, seeing as I haven't read them SINCE that time and I need shelf space, away they go!


Borrowed Light
Borrowed Light
Author: Anna Fienberg
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 5/11/2006


A YA novel which deals with teen pregnancy. I read this back when I was fifteen and enjoyed it.


A Branch of Thorns
A Branch of Thorns
Author: Kyle A. Bladow
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/25/2006


An indepdant horror novel published by a Teen Author.


Dark Angel (Night World, Bk 4)
Dark Angel (Night World, Bk 4)
Author: L. J. Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 5/15/2006


The fourth book in the Night World Series.

I was so in love with The Night World Series during Middle school. But, seeing as I haven't read them SINCE that time and I need shelf space, away they go!


The Devil Wears Prada
The Devil Wears Prada
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1732
Review Date: 7/18/2006


An amusing tale about a job that a million girls would die for, with the worse boss ever.


The Dreaming, Vol 1
The Dreaming, Vol 1
Author: Queenie Chan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 2/10/2007


A horror manga about two girls that go to a boarding school in Australia, only to find that something is horribly wrong. The art is sharp and clean and the story is mysterious and interesting. Despite the fact that this is not really an incredibly frightening manga, it provides us with some truely creepy moments.


Emma
Emma
Author: Jane Austen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 5/11/2006


One of my favorite novels!


The Field Guide (Spiderwick Chronicles, Bk 1)
The Field Guide (Spiderwick Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: Tony DiTerlizzi (Illustrator), Holly Black
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 153
Review Date: 5/11/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I light, enjoyable kids book. Reccomended for fans of Lemony Snicket


Huntress (Night World, Bk 7)
Huntress (Night World, Bk 7)
Author: L. J. Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 5/15/2006


The seventh book in the Night World Series.

I was so in love with The Night World Series during Middle school. But, seeing as I haven't read them SINCE that time and I need shelf space, away they go!


Industrial Magic (Women of the Otherworld, Bk 4)
Industrial Magic (Women of the Otherworld, Bk 4)
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 534
Review Date: 2/10/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Industrial Magic is the fourth book in the Women of the Otherworld series and a follow up to Dime Store Magic. Industrial Magic stars Paige and her boyfriend Lucas as they attempt to stop a murder who is killing off the children of important Cabal members. Along with the exciting plot, we get a sweet romance, and plenty of expansion on the Underworld universe. We learn about vampires and LOTS about the afterlife, which will set things up for the next book, Haunted. Industrial Magic, like all of the books in the series before it, is an example of well written horror/paranormal. I can't wait to read the next book.


Kare Kano: His and Her Circumstances, Vol 1
Kare Kano: His and Her Circumstances, Vol 1
Author: Masami Tsuda
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 2/10/2007
Helpful Score: 3


To everyone else, Yukino is perfect. She's attractive, intelligent and kind. She's the girl that everyone wants to be friends with and every guy wants to date. But in actuality, she is nothing but a fake. Yukino's biggest worry is what other think about her, and she wants nothing more than to appear to be perfection. Her life takes a surprising turn when she meets Soiichiro, a young man who appears to be everything she pretends to be. Jealous, Yukino strives to surpass the perfect Soiichiro, but she soon learns that he is less impressive than she suspects.

Kare Kano is a fascinating study of the pyschology behind type-A teens. With plenty of comedy, drama, and romance, volume one of Kare Kano is everything that a shoujo manga should be.


Kitty Goes to Washington (Kitty Norville, Bk 2)
Kitty Goes to Washington (Kitty Norville, Bk 2)
Author: Carrie Vaughn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 510
Review Date: 2/10/2007


In Kitty and the Midnight Hour, Female werewolf and late night DJ Kitty Norville played a huge role in exposing the supernatural community to the outside world. In Kitty Goes to Washington, she has to deal with the consequences. Kitty is asked to appear in Washington DC to answer questions and solve any misgivings people have about supernaturals. Things, of course, don't go smoothly at all. Kitty has to deal with cult-leaders, ultra-conservative polititians, mysterious scientists, and the politics of supernatural community in Washington DC. Can Kitty come out of this situation with both her life and dignity?


Life 1 (Life (Tokyopop))
Life 1 (Life (Tokyopop))
Author: Darcy Lockman, Michelle Kobayashi, Keiko Suenobu
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 2/10/2007


Ayumu wants nothing more than to go to the same high school with her intelligent best friend, Shii-chan. When the test results come back, Ayumu is thrilled to learn that she has gotten into a top-notch school. But when she discovers that her friend has not, things take a turn for the worst. Shii-chan blames Ayumu for her poor test scores and ends their friendship. Now Ayumu is very much alone, unable to make any other friends. To deal with her pain, she falls into cutting herself with a box cutter.

There's no cute romance and wacky antics to be found here. Life is a peek into the darker side of the high school age. The cutting scenes are incredibly intense. I would not reccomend this manga to a recovering self mutilator.


Magic Knight: Rayearth I, Book 2
Magic Knight: Rayearth I, Book 2
Author: Clamp
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 9/1/2006


This is actually Magic Knight Rayearth I, Book 2.


The Memory Keeper's Daughter
The Memory Keeper's Daughter
Author: Kim Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5394
Review Date: 2/10/2007


How can one bad decision effect the lives of one family over decades? This novel beautifully tells the story of a family. When a woman gives birth to twins, her husband recognizes right away that his new daughter has down syndrom. In a panic, he tells his nurse to take the child away and informs his wife that her daughter died in childbirth. The nurse decides to raise the child on her own, and his wife begins to decdend into depression.

The Memory Keeper's Daughter deserves all of the praise it recieves. The characters are flawed but interesting. The prose style is absolutely enchanting. I highly reccomend this novel.


Middlesex
Middlesex
Author: Jeffrey Eugenides
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2499
Review Date: 2/10/2007
Helpful Score: 28


Cal has lived a life in two genders. Raised as a girl, he eventually discovers that he is a hermaphrodite, a person born with both male and female organs. But the story doesn't start here. To discover why Cal is the person he is, we have to go back in time to his grandparents in Greece, then to his parent's relationship, and finally back to Cal's life story as a little girl who found her life dramatically changing once she hit puberty. Middlesex is a wonderfully written novel about a controversial subject. In many ways, it is an epic. By the end of the novel, you will find yourself changed by the story of a little girl who grew up to discover that she was something else.


Moon Called (Mercy Thompson, Bk 1)
Moon Called (Mercy Thompson, Bk 1)
Author: Patricia Briggs
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1158
Review Date: 2/10/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Mercy Thompson is a skinwalker, a shapeshifter than can turn into a Coyote. She works as an auto-mechanic and spends a lot of time working on a VW bus for a local vampire. Her next door neighbor is a rough werewolf and pack leader. It's easy to say that Mercy's day-to-day life is quite different. Unfortuantly, when a young werewolf arrives in town, things soon turn from quite different to to downright dangerous.

Mercy is a great character. She's a strong, powerful woman, but far from a Mary Sue. The dialogue and storytelling in this book is really strong. Things fall apart a bit near the end, but it manages to be an entertaining novel.


Of Two Minds (Minds, Bk 1)
Of Two Minds (Minds, Bk 1)
Author: Perry Nodelman, Carol Matas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 5/11/2006


An interesting kids fantasy book with a twist ending.


1 to 20 of 33 - Page: