Evelyn B. (grannydingdong) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 39 - Page:
A Big Little Life : A Memoir of a Joyful Dog
A Big Little Life : A Memoir of a Joyful Dog
Author: Dean Koontz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 10/24/2014


This is the most fantastic, personal, book I have ever read about someone's dog. I am generally not a fan of the kind of books that Dean Koontz writes, not that he is not a great storyteller.
But, this book is so much out of the realm of what he generally writes, that I literally could not put it down. It is such a heart-rending, personal, loving tribute to his 'daughter' Trixie.
In reading this book, I learned so much more about the great author, as a person, and he gives so much of his personal life and beliefs to his readers in this memoir.
This is truly an amazing book about an amazing dog by an amazing author.
I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone.


Blendable Curves: Stack, Slice & Sew Unique Quilts in a Weekend
Review Date: 10/21/2014


This looks like a fairly easy concept for quilting with curves instead of straight lines.
I have not tried any of the patterns yet, but they are explained very clearly in words and pictures.
A unique idea on a traditional craft.


The Butler: A Witness to History
The Butler: A Witness to History
Author: Wil Haygood
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 2/13/2016


This is a fascinating book about a man who rose from a history of slavery to being a butler in the White House. It gives a heart-warming account of the personal life of he and his wife.

You will love the main character, and remember this book long after you read it. What a kind, honorable, and humble man he was.


The Cat Who Came Back for Christmas: How a Cat Brought a Family the Gift of Love
Review Date: 10/31/2016


This is one of the best books I have read in a long time! It is such an inspiring and unbelievable story that I kept checking the front cover to verify that it is really a true story.
You will be amazed at this story, whether you are a 'cat person' or not.
You must read this......it will touch your heart.


The Clothes They Stood Up In / The Lady in the Van
The Clothes They Stood Up In / The Lady in the Van
Author: Alan Bennett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 5/24/2016


What a wonderful, entertaining book.
I loved both stories in this book.....of course, after seeing the movie THE LADY IN THE VAN, who wouldn!'t love the book?
And the book and movie pretty much followed along the same.
Great, quick read, with a lesson to be learned about life, in each story.


Conversations with Skip
Conversations with Skip
Author: Donna Mabry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/29/2016


This is a cute story and a quick read. It is both humorous and touching.
I would recommend it for all dog lovers.


Cooking Light Oops!: 209 Solutions for Everyday Kitchen Mistakes
Review Date: 10/19/2015


This book is a handy book full of all kinds of tips about cooking and baking. It shows how to avoid mistakes in cooking, substitutions when you are out of an ingredient how to fix the mistakes you DO make how to use the correct tool and so much more.
It is full of information for the adult, but written and illustrated in basic enough, concise terms that are easy for the beginning baker/chef to understand.
I got ontefor my 12 year old grand-daughter and she was thrilled and has used its tips a lot!


Creature Camp: Make Your Own  18 Softies to Draw, Sew & Stuff
Creature Camp: Make Your Own 18 Softies to Draw, Sew & Stuff
Author: Wendi Gratz, Jo Gratz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/1/2015


This is a great book, especially for young ones just starting to sew. My grand-daughters and I have enjoyed using many of the ideas and patterns to come up with our creations for them to give as gifts to their friends.

The instructions are very easy to understand, along with lots of pictures, for those 'visual' learners.


The Deep End of the Ocean
The Deep End of the Ocean
Author: Jacquelyn Mitchard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 178
Review Date: 8/22/2014


This was a great book. Once I started it, it was hard to put down. The ending was very unexpected and surprising.
It definitely rates five golden stars!!!!!!!!!!!!!


The Doll People (Doll People, Bk 1)
Review Date: 12/28/2011


I got this book for my grand-daughter, who is 9, and not into reading for pleasure, hoping she would like it. She seemed so-so about it, but after I read the first chapter to her, she was hooked!! She immediately read the next 3 chapters to me.
I read the book beforehand, and it is a delightful, imaginative book, which really 'grabs' the young reader right away. A very worthwhile book to have.


Emily, Alone (Emily Maxwell, Bk 2)
Emily, Alone (Emily Maxwell, Bk 2)
Author: Stewart O'Nan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/22/2014


This was an excellent book once I got into it. I could identify with some of the different situations she wrote about.
A different perspective and refreshing book that leaves you pondering your own life.


Fleecie Pets: Easy-to-Make Cuddly Animal Friends
Fleecie Pets: Easy-to-Make Cuddly Animal Friends
Author: Fiona Goble
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/13/2015


This is a very detailed book with nice patterns for making cute fleece animals
I have not made anything from it yet, but am going to try it out with my grand-daughter.


Gal: A True Life
Gal: A True Life
Author: Ruthie Mae Bolton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 3/24/2012


This is an excellent book about a young girl who just keeps bouncing back time after time through many years of neglect and abuse.
It is well written and easy to read. It puts you right in the middle of what is happening to her as she grows up.
A great book.


House Rules
House Rules
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 261
Review Date: 12/28/2011


In my opinion, this is one of the best of all the books that Jodi Picoult has written. It is very informative about aspergers syndrome, and has a thread of mystery that runs through the book, keeping you on the edge of your seat as the end of the book draws near.
As usual, the ending totally surprised me!!!!
A great read.


I Am Nujood, Age 10 and Divorced
I Am Nujood, Age 10 and Divorced
Author: Nujood Ali, Delphine Minoui
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 144
Review Date: 10/18/2016


A great book, but a heart-breaking book. Very well written,and a tribute to a very brave young girl. If not for her strength an extreme bravery, the ending would have
been tragic.


Just Another Kid
Just Another Kid
Author: Torey Hayden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 2/3/2015


This was another fantastic book by Torey Hayden. It was almost impossible for me to put down until I was finished reading it. It is so amazing what she can do to turn these kids' lives around....and then to be able to put down the story of the process in such an interesting and informative way is even more amazing.
She is a truly gifted person.
I would recommend this book to anyone who loves children, but it will make you cry at times.


Kitchen Privileges
Kitchen Privileges
Author: Mary Higgins Clark
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 10/8/2014


This was a very interesting, quick read about the growing-up years of a great author. When I ordered it, I expected it to be a book about poverty and hardship, and although it was not a book about growing up privileged, it was not the sorrowful book I imagined.
This book was a good book, and one I would encourage anyone who likes to read a book by Mary Higgins Clark add to their reading list.


Life Happens (Next)
Life Happens (Next)
Author: Sandra Steffen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 3/25/2015


This was a very good book;one that was hard to put down. It was the first book I have read by this author so I will definitely be checking to see if she has written anymore.


Murphy's Boy
Murphy's Boy
Author: Torey Hayden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 1/22/2015


This was an amazing book written by an amazing teacher. Torey works wonders with the troubled children she deals with.
And she has such a knack for writing about them that gives readers books that are very hard to put down before the end. I have read almost all of her books now, and have only been disappointed once.
I would recommend this book to anyone who loves real stories about real kids with real issues.
A very humbling book, when you see what these kids go through in the struggle to survive.


Notes Left Behind
Notes Left Behind
Author: Brooke Desserich, Keith Desserich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/24/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This is a very touching story of a little girl's bravery and will to live in her battle with cancer.
I finished it in one day, and a half box of kleenex. You will remember this story long after the tears have dried.
This is a must read for all parents.


1 to 20 of 39 - Page: