Kristen H. (tigger5677) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 43 - Page:
The Abortionist's Daughter
The Abortionist's Daughter
Author: Elisabeth Hyde
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 5/10/2008


This was a quick interesting read. Not a hard core mystery as it's pretty easy to figure out who the killer is, but it's worth the time.


All Through the Night (Troubleshooters, Bk 12) (Audio CD-MP3) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 11/10/2007


I love the Trouble Shooter's/Seal Team 16 books. That being said, this was not one of the better ones. Brockmann did a fantastic job with Robin and Jules and the wedding plans, but the story lacked the depth and intensity that most of the other books have. It's possible that this happened because the book is shorter than the others, and her first attempt at the "Holiday Novella". Molly and Jones also make an appearance here, making me think that their story isn't finished (yeah!). Regardless of the lack of suspense it is a wonderful, quick, funny and romantic read. **Three cheers for MA and the work of all the folks at MassEquality, otherwise how would Jules have gotten married?**


Alone (D. D. Warren, Bk 1)
Alone (D. D. Warren, Bk 1)
Author: Lisa Gardner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 653
Review Date: 2/8/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Kept me guessing most of the way and even after I finished I still had my doubts.


Behind the Gates (Tomorrow Girls, Bk 1)
Behind the Gates (Tomorrow Girls, Bk 1)
Author: Eva Gray
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/21/2011


It is really nice to see a survivalist science fiction series geared exclusively toward girls that does not include vampires and werewolves. My 9 year old daughter loves these books and is desperately waiting for the fourth installment due out next month. As a whole the series is intriguing without being overly dramatic. Very well done futuristic series for the 9-12 set.


Born in Death (In Death, Bk 23)
Born in Death (In Death, Bk 23)
Author: J. D. Robb
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 300
Review Date: 11/16/2006


Mavis and Leonardo's baby arrives!


Dark Places
Dark Places
Author: Gillian Flynn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 5/30/2009
Helpful Score: 7


7-year-old Libby Day survives the night her mother and sisters are brutally murdered in their home in Kinnakee Kansas. Libby testifies that her 15 year-old brother committed the crime. Now at the age of 32 Libby has no job and no money when a group of armchair detectives approach her to try and garner information that may free her brother. Information she trades for cash. The novel is told in both present and past vignettes through the eyes of Libby, her brother and her mother, spinning a tail of dysfunction and desperation that at times will leave you feeling sick to your stomach. This novel is a truly twisted psychological thriller, with no really likable characters. I had no sympathy for any of the characters, and yet it was an incredible read. At times I had to stop and put the book aside because of the intensity and the utterly dark and depressing places that this book took me to in my own mind, so leave the lights on.


Dead on the Dance Floor (O'Casey Brothers, Bk 1)
Dead on the Dance Floor (O'Casey Brothers, Bk 1)
Author: Heather Graham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 198
Review Date: 2/8/2006


couldn't get into it


Defense for the Devil (Barbara Holloway, Bk 4)
Defense for the Devil (Barbara Holloway, Bk 4)
Author: Kate Wilhelm
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 2/8/2006
Helpful Score: 1


good legal thriller filled with suspense


The Doctor's Wife
The Doctor's Wife
Author: Elizabeth Brundage
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 665
Review Date: 8/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book did not really impress me. The story is compelling enough to get you to finish the book, (took me two weeks but I did finish the book) but I had a great deal of trouble finding any sympathy whatsoever for the characters. I did not like the Doctor and his ego, I did not like the wife and her actions, the artist came off as a pompous jerk, and the artist's wife was a flaming nut job. I ended up feeling really bad for the clinic doctor, the kids and the dog. Everyone else got what they deserved.


Driving with Dead People
Driving with Dead People
Author: Monica Holloway
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 1/25/2009
Helpful Score: 5


I will first say that I am not a fan of memoirs. That being said, this book was fascinating. While it is portrays abysmal parenting, sexual abuse, violence and dysfunction at it's absolute worst, the author manages to do so without whining or making excuses for poor choices. The tone is humorous and forthright and I enjoyed the book immensely.


Echo Burning (Jack Reacher, Bk 5)
Echo Burning (Jack Reacher, Bk 5)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 7/12/2007


. An excellent read.


The Edge (FBI, Bk 4)
The Edge (FBI, Bk 4)
Author: Catherine Coulter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 354
Review Date: 7/29/2005


FBI series


Falsely Accused (Butch Karp and Marlene Ciampi, Bk 8)
Falsely Accused (Butch Karp and Marlene Ciampi, Bk 8)
Author: Robert K. Tanenbaum
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 2/8/2006


Excellent......


Firestorm (Anna Pigeon, Bk 4)
Firestorm (Anna Pigeon, Bk 4)
Author: Nevada Barr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 181
Review Date: 8/31/2005
Helpful Score: 3


Let me put it this way I received it this morning and finished it in one sitting!
Excellent fast paced read.


G is for Gumshoe (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 7)
G is for Gumshoe (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 7)
Author: Sue Grafton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 454
Review Date: 2/8/2006


excellent


A Gentleman's Wager (Black Lace)
A Gentleman's Wager (Black Lace)
Author: Madelynne Ellis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/12/2007


sexually explicit


The Hard Way (Jack Reacher, Bk 10)
The Hard Way (Jack Reacher, Bk 10)
Author: Lee Child
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 156
Review Date: 6/22/2006


True to form!


Hey Nostradamus!
Hey Nostradamus!
Author: Douglas Coupland
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 11/24/2010


This is a really well written novel, with great perspective and amazing depth of character. It is both beautiful and tragic at the same time, and leaves the reader with a sense of loss at the conclusion that three days later I still can't shake.


Hoax (Butch Karp and Marlene Ciampi, Bk 16)
Hoax (Butch Karp and Marlene Ciampi, Bk 16)
Author: Robert K. Tanenbaum
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 77
Review Date: 7/29/2005


Butch Karp Marlene Ciampi novel


Killer Dust (Em Hansen, Bk 8)
Killer Dust (Em Hansen, Bk 8)
Author: Sarah Andrews
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 8/23/2005
Helpful Score: 1


a bit confusing with all the scientific stuff but it had a great story line.


1 to 20 of 43 - Page: