Sharon D. (dulcimer42) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 108 - Page:
90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
Author: Cecil Murphey, Don Piper
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 872
Review Date: 3/14/2008


An awesome true story of a man who dies in an horrific accident, was pronounced dead by EMT's on site, and returns to life 90 minutes later. You will never fear death, after reading this.


Adventures in Darkness: Memoirs of an Eleven-Year-Old Blind Boy
Adventures in Darkness: Memoirs of an Eleven-Year-Old Blind Boy
Author: Tom Sullivan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 9/6/2011


An amazing story of Tommy, who just wanted to be a normal kid........and how, with his Dad's determination, a special friendship, and later the woman who loved him, he did just that. And by the way, Tommy just happened to be blind. This is one of those books you read, and just think: "WOW!" (You'll LOVE it!)


Against Medical Advice
Against Medical Advice
Author: Cory Friedman, Hal Friedman, James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 151
Review Date: 12/30/2010
Helpful Score: 1


A glimpse into the life of one who experienced OCD and Tourette's from the age of 5. His parents stood behind him and sought the best of treatments, but it it appalling the trial and error he experienced medically. Medicines which made things worse... nearly being committed to a home for the insane... I could hardly lay this book down. An amazing, and true, story.


All Over But the Shoutin'
All Over But the Shoutin'
Author: Rick Bragg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 236
Review Date: 2/2/2009
Helpful Score: 1


One of the most beautifully and honestly written stories ever. The best book I've read in a long time. Rick Bragg began his life as the poorest of the poor in Alabama. A drunken father, and a mother and grandma who were always there to support and direct him.... and his own determination and luck.... were that background which he never forgot. Without a college education, but because he had a natural talent for writing, and because he could relate to the people of his storiew and told their stories with honesty and respect...... Rick Bragg ended up working for the New York Times and was a Pulitzer Prize winner. But he remained that same Rick, all through his life, who never saw himself better than anyone else. My words are trivial in trying to describe a book of such unforgetable emotion. You will never forget this book.....


All Souls : A Family Story from Southie
All Souls : A Family Story from Southie
Author: Michael Patrick MacDonald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 2/1/2010


A fascinating story of a kid growing up where the unusual is usual and the usual is unusual. Violence was all around, but nobody talked about it. That was just part of the life in Southie... One of those books I could scarcely lay down... It was that compelling a story.


Alleluia America!: An Irish Journalist in Bush Country
Alleluia America!: An Irish Journalist in Bush Country
Author: Carole Coleman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/14/2008


A fun and informative documentary of an Irish journalist's travels across America. I hated the tiny winding roads when I visited Ireland. She was terrified of our expressways, especially with the big trucks passing her!


Along Came Love (Love Inspired, No 345)
Along Came Love (Love Inspired, No 345)
Author: Carrie Turansky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 2/21/2009


A beautiful story of Christian faith, trust and love. I highly recommend it.


American By Choice : The Remarkable Fulfillment of an Immigrant's Dream
Review Date: 9/13/2013


A young immigrant boy from Lebanon, came alone to Americe with a few hundred dollars in his pocket. The story of how he became one of America's most successful businessmen.


American Hostage: A Memoir of a Journalist Kidnapped in Iraq and the Remarkable Battle to Win His Release
Review Date: 9/9/2013


Wow! A book from the perspective of the hostage as well as from his journalism partner (soon to be fiancée). You will learn much about Iraq, good and bad, kind and unkind. You will learn the most about the resiliency of an American hostage and the power of love to sustain one in difficult circumstances. Yes, I would recommend this book! Highly.


Among Schoolchildren
Among Schoolchildren
Author: Tracy Kidder
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 11/18/2010
Helpful Score: 1


We hear so much about the declining quality of education in America. Well, this is a story about the opposite viewpoint. Here is a young teacher, teaching in the depressed "flats" of Holyoke, Massachusets. She shares their joys, catastrophes and their small but significant triumphs. Makes one appreciate those teachers who really do care about the kids..... A wonderful story. You'll love it!


And a Hard Rain Fell: A Gi's True Story of the War in Vietnam
And a Hard Rain Fell: A Gi's True Story of the War in Vietnam
Author: John Ketwig
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/6/2010


Wow! Awesome insight into the life of a young soldier in Viet Nam. Especially meaningful to me, because when my brother returned from his time there, he was a different person. He never talked about it, but we knew, he wasn't the same. Reading this book helped me understand that which can never be comprehend, unless you were there. But it makes me want to reach out and thank every soldier who was there, or in other areas, fighting "for their country."


Angela's Ashes
Angela's Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 481
Review Date: 8/30/2010


An incredible book about growing up as a poor little boy in Ireland. So good, I had to immediately purchase its sequel.


Autobiography of a Face
Autobiography of a Face
Author: Lucy Grealy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 171
Review Date: 4/3/2009
Helpful Score: 5


Can you imagine: being a teenage girl, losing much of your face to cancer, and returning to school. This is a story of pain, taunting, resiliency and strength. How she went through school, graduated from college - and all she endured in the process. A beautifully written story of an unconquerable spirit. You will love this book.


Behind the Bedroom Wall
Behind the Bedroom Wall
Author: Laura E. Williams
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 12/21/2008


A story of a girl, a dedicated member of the Nazi youth group, who not only must face the fact that her parents have been helping to hide a Jewish mother and daugher.... but she herself actually gets to know and care for the two of them. I enjoyed it myself, but it would be a good read for a teenager who would like to learn about what happened many years ago in Germany.


Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 1)
Big Stone Gap (Big Stone Gap, Bk 1)
Author: Adriana Trigiani
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 465
Review Date: 11/9/2014


One of those books where the characters become your friends, you know and understand them so well. Life in Big Stone Gap begins to feel like home. And Ave Maria feels like she could have been your sister, you are that much like her. This is a feel good book and I savoured the last few pages, as I hated for it to come to an end. Yes, I recommend it. You'll be glad you read it.


The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
The Boy in the Striped Pajamas
Author: John Boyne
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 10/8/2009


The Holocost from a different viewpoint - that of a little boy, who just happened to be the son of the German commandante. A very touching story of the innocence, and friendships, of a young boy. You've never heard the story portrayed in a more moving manner....


Bringing Elizabeth Home : A Journey of Faith and Hope
Bringing Elizabeth Home : A Journey of Faith and Hope
Author: Ed Smart, Lois Smart
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 3/14/2008


An awesome story of the faith of a family and how it saw them through the crisis of a missing young daughter.


Change Me into Zeus's Daughter
Change Me into Zeus's Daughter
Author: Barbara Robinette Moss
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 12/30/2009


A sad, but funny, story of growing up poor and ugly in the South, in a disfunctional family. How she finally beat the odds and found real change in her life. A story you will enjoy reading.


CHILDREN OF THE TROUBLES : OUR LIVES IN THE CROSSFIRE OF NORTHERN IRELAND
Review Date: 11/7/2008


True stories written by children who lived through the difficult years of fighting in northern Ireland


Come Back: A Mother and Daughter's Journey through Hell and Back
Review Date: 7/3/2009
Helpful Score: 1


They had been so close. But drugs and the friends on the street became the daughters family. And mother was dying inside. She made a difficult choice - but the only choice left. Read this powerful story of the mother and daughter's journey ...... and how they found their way back. I could hardly lay this book down, it was so compelling and powerful.


1 to 20 of 108 - Page: