Pat N. (patmat) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 176 - Page:
Abigail (Wives of King David, Bk 2)
Abigail (Wives of King David, Bk 2)
Author: Jill Eileen Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 11/1/2010
Helpful Score: 4


I did not read the first book in this series (Michal) before reading this one, but did fine with it because I knew the Biblical accounts somewhat. Having said that, I absolutely loved this book. I enjoyed the way Ms Smith fleshed out her characters and made them seem even more real. I love the book of Psalms and this book showed how the verses interwove with real life.

Abigail is shown as a strong woman who also knew how to be tender and supportive. She was just a young girl when first married to Nabal and to watch her hopes and dreams be crushed was both sad and realistic. I love her story as it continues when she goes to David.

I can highly recommend this story to a reader- you will not be bored or sorry to spend time with this book. Even if you are not into Christian fiction, this book would still be a good read just for the tale of Abigail's life.


After Anne (Coming Home to Brewster, Bk 1)
After Anne (Coming Home to Brewster, Bk 1)
Author: Roxanne Henke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 4/19/2008
Helpful Score: 5


If you are looking for a tear-jerker read about the depth of friendship, this is the one for you. I loved how it didn't soft-soap the mistakes, the closeness, the whole battle with cancer. The events at the end are a shocker. I literally wept thru the last few chapters without cease. What a beautiful book about friendship, forgiveness, and how the journey of our lives can take twists and turns that break you, heal you, strengthen you.


After the Rain
After the Rain
Author: Karen White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 6/8/2014


Found this book utterly charming and the characters were believable. I sometimes wanted to shake the one sister, but... we are all human. Recommend this book highly. Southerners will especially "get it"


Alice's Tulips
Alice's Tulips
Author: Sandra Dallas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 123
Review Date: 7/15/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Ms. Dallas has an interesting way of capturing the speech mannerisms of certain periods or regions. I like the quirkiness of this and the story background is very interesting also. An enjoyable read on a rainy day.


All She Ever Wanted
All She Ever Wanted
Author: Lynn Austin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 10/12/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This is one of my favorite Lynn Austin books. It holds your attention from Chapter one and on. This author is excellent when it comes to capturing characters in a true-to-life way. Highly recommend this book.


All Through the Night
All Through the Night
Author: Davis Bunn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/9/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I really wanted to like this book, but between the disjointed feel of it and the overuse of the "outcast" factor, I never got attached to the story.


Always Green (Garden Gates, Bk 2)
Always Green (Garden Gates, Bk 2)
Author: Patti Hill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 7/15/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is part of a series and I do recommend reading the series. The characters are interesting and the situations that come up are believable. She writes in an easy-to-read manner. This series is about a woman who has lost her husband and how she struggles to get on with life. Not deep and depressing but it does deal with some emotional stuff.


Always Jan (Coming Home to Brewster, Bk 4)
Always Jan (Coming Home to Brewster, Bk 4)
Author: Roxanne Henke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 4/19/2008


Enjoyed this book, but not as much as "After Anne". I am glad that I read it as part of the series though. It is still worth reading and has a good, deep message for all of us.


And the Shofar Blew
And the Shofar Blew
Author: Francine Rivers
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 2/15/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This an excellent book with good, strong characterization. It holds your interest from start to finish. This is the type of book that you will want to re-read some time in the future.


Angels Watching over Me (Shenandoah Sisters, 1)
Angels Watching over Me (Shenandoah Sisters, 1)
Author: Michael Phillips
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 7/15/2009


If you like to read about the Civil War period of time, this book (and the series) is for you. It follows a young orphaned girl and one of the slave girls as they try to cope with what is happening around them. I loved the storyline and the historical nuggets seeded throughout.


Asylum
Asylum
Author: Nan Corbitt Allen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 10/12/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I cannot recommend this book strongly enough! The story will catch your heart and your attention. I read it in one day because I kept wanting to see what was going to happen to this child who had had such a difficult life. Good story, good writing.


At Home in Mitford (Mitford Years, Bk 1)
At Home in Mitford (Mitford Years, Bk 1)
Author: Jan Karon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 7/15/2009


I suppose this is a much-reviewed book wherever you go on the internet, but will chime in with my opinion. This book is like wrapping up in your favorite blanket and sitting by the fireplace with a cup of tea- comfortable and comforting, a lovely lazy read of small town life through the eyes of a mini-philosopher.


Bad Ground
Bad Ground
Author: W. Dale Cramer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 3/6/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Another great book by Cramer. The characters are so believable and it is easy to get caught up in their imperfect lives. His writing is so poignant in its' simplicity and it is lyrical at the same time. I could not put this book down. This author has that unique ability to get you to buy into the characters right away.


Bathsheba (Wives of King David, Bk 3)
Bathsheba (Wives of King David, Bk 3)
Author: Jill Eileen Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 7/25/2011
Helpful Score: 2


I have already been enchanted by the two previous books in this series and this book just amped up my appreciation for her writing style. She makes you "see" the characters as the humans they were and you will find yourself understanding the actions of the people involved based on mores and rules of the times.

This book doesn't excuse David or Bathsheba for what they did. Instead, she focuses on why the two of them may have acted as they did. I know this is fiction, but it made me read and look at the Old Testament differently.

This author now has a steadfast and enthusiastic fan!!


Beading 101 #2338
Beading 101 #2338
Author: Hot Off the Press
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 11/29/2011


Great booklet! This is one of the best and simple to understand books on beading that I have ever found. Clear instructions, great tutorials on tools usage, proper wire/thread/etc use, and great ideas to top it off. I will give this a "highly recommended"


Beyond the Blue
Beyond the Blue
Author: Leslie Gould
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 3/31/2008


My favorite book of Ms Gould's so far. The storyline kept me interested the whole time. I felt it was well written. I highly recommend this book.


Beyond The Threshold
Beyond The Threshold
Author: Linda Lael Miller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 7/15/2009


Just struggled with this- not sure why, but had a hard time following storyline and characters were "eeh"


The Bishop's Daughter (Daughters of Lancaster County, Bk 3)
The Bishop's Daughter (Daughters of Lancaster County, Bk 3)
Author: Wanda E. Brunstetter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 226
Review Date: 2/2/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Enjoyed this book; good quick read. It definitely follows the "formula" for this writer but it is a nice part of a series.


Blue Moon Promise (Under Texas Stars, Bk 1)
Blue Moon Promise (Under Texas Stars, Bk 1)
Author: Colleen Coble
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 6/8/2013


Loved the characters in this book and loved that they were not perfect. The storyline e was interesting and I loved the revelation at the end that tied up some loose ends. Can't wait to read the next book in this series. A nice no -taxing read!


The Bone Collector (Lincoln Rhyme, Bk 1)
The Bone Collector (Lincoln Rhyme, Bk 1)
Author: Jeffery Deaver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 2/2/2008


Deaver never disappoints. He takes situations and puts new and even more macabre twists on them. Lincoln Rhymes is the best and this book gives you goosebumps. I read the last part late night and then slept with the light on in the hall, LOL.


1 to 20 of 176 - Page: