Reviews - Maureen O. (read4fun)

1 to 20 of 31 - Page:
Beauty's Punishment (Sleeping Beauty, Bk 2)
Beauty's Punishment (Sleeping Beauty, Bk 2)
Author: Anne Rice, A. N. Roquelaure
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 161
Review Date: 1/26/2008


"After reading the first book in the series I was not shocked by the erotic tone of the book. A bit repetative in its erotic value but good enough character development to make me want to read the next book."


The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty (Sleeping Beauty, Bk 1)
The Claiming of Sleeping Beauty (Sleeping Beauty, Bk 1)
Author: A. N. Roquelaure, Anne Rice
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 454
Review Date: 1/23/2008
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is the first erotica book I've ever read. A little shocking in the begining but not too bad. Kinda fun to read about what could have happened to a fairy tale character. Good enough to read the rest of the series."


The Constant Princess
The Constant Princess
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 752
Review Date: 8/2/2008


"I really enjoyed this book. The author does a great job describe the time so we understand why the characters do the things they do. This story historically takes place before her previous published books but that doesn't take away any enjoyment into the story. This book centers on Catherine of Aragon."


Day and Night (Pop-Up Prayers Series)
Day and Night (Pop-Up Prayers Series)
Author: Felicity Henderson, Felicity Henderson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  ?
Review Date: 9/1/2008


"Cute little book but only one page is a pop-up."


Eclipse (Twilight, Bk 3)
Eclipse (Twilight, Bk 3)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 982
Review Date: 8/26/2008
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Third in the series and still holding strong. This is the first book I've "bought" in a long time. I like the 1st and 2nd books more but this one was still good. I have a feeling that a lot of this book was to set the stage for the fourth book. At some points the story drags but then goes too fast in another points (as does real life). This "young adult" series still has this "grown up" reader interested enought to keep reading more by this author."


ESPN 25: 25 Mind-Bending, Eye-Popping, Culture Morphing Years of Highlights
Review Date: 9/1/2008
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This books is accompanied by a DVD of Classic Commercials from the ESPN Library. It is a book of how ESPN came about and a bunch of interesting sport tidpids. My husband loved reading this book. Great choice for any sports fan."


Fenway Park 1,2,3
Fenway Park 1,2,3
Author: Red Sox Wives
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  ?
Review Date: 1/6/2008


"This is a cute book for Red Sox Fans. It is a children's number learning book. Numbers are taught by relating them to Red Sox baseball things. Examples: 1 Fenway park, 7 innings, 16 pieces of equipment... (Goes from #1-20)"


The Fifth Vial
The Fifth Vial
Author: Michael Palmer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 147
Review Date: 2/23/2008
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Good intensity, good character developement. Sometime his books have the same feel (good DR, bad DR, good cop, bad cop) but the story line was good enough to keep me going. Plot was believalbe enough ro be a possible "real" medical thriller. One of the reasons M. Palmer is still one of my favorite authors."


The First Patient
The First Patient
Author: Michael Palmer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 3/29/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book follows along the usual flow by this author. Good cop/bad cop, good dr/bad dr. It has a lot of twist and turns but sometimes I feel that I've read everything by this author that I can predict were its going. That being said I still thouroghly enjoyed this book and will continue to read everything by Michael Palmer. There is a good mix of politics and medical research that get your mind thinking, "Could this really happen?" Not enough medicine in it to make it as good as another of his books "The Fifth Vial" but still a worthy read."


I Hope You Dance (Little Melody Press Series)
I Hope You Dance (Little Melody Press Series)
Author: Tia Sillers
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/6/2008


"Very cute boardbook. Comes with CD single of the song "I Hope You Dance". The first page has a place to slip a picture in and a spot to fill out: Presented to... From... Date...
Pages are bright and vivid colors. Good to keep a child interested. A very nice mother daughter book."


Juggling for the Complete Klutz
Juggling for the Complete Klutz
Author: B. C. Rimbeaux, John Cassidy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 1/23/2008


"Good enough to teach this uncoordinated "klutz" how to juggle. Definetly a beginners book!"


The Kite Runner
The Kite Runner
Author: Khaled Hosseini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5561
Review Date: 1/23/2008


"Interesting story line. Was able to learn a bit about another culture. Character developlement was fantastic. I wanted to keep reading for find out what happened to everyone. Will definetly read more by this author."


The Last Templar (Sean Reilly and Tess Chaykin, Bk 1)
The Last Templar (Sean Reilly and Tess Chaykin, Bk 1)
Author: Raymond Khoury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 429
Review Date: 7/1/2008
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Interseting take on what the Knights Templar's big secret is. This book does seem to follow the current trend in theis genre: Museaum worker, good cop, good religous person, bad religous person, chasing clues, drama, violence, and history. One aspect of the book I like is how the historical information is presented. Some of the chapter are from the point of view of a character in the past, then the next chapter goes back to the present. I would rate this book 4 out of 5 stars."


McKettrick's Pride (McKettrick Men, Bk 2)
McKettrick's Pride (McKettrick Men, Bk 2)
Author: Linda Lael Miller
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 401
Review Date: 8/16/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is the first I've read of this author's writtings but now I'll be looking for more. It is a nice little romance (not my favorite genre) The second in the series which is still easy to follow without reading the first. Cute characters, nice plot, nothing over the top. One of the main characters has a book shop so I thought that was really cute to read about since PBS is like my bookshop."


My Sister's Keeper
My Sister's Keeper
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 347
Review Date: 9/30/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"So far this is my favorite book by this author. The emotions she is able to pull out is incredible. She makes you care about every character. I especially love that each chapter of this book is written by a differnt character. Keep your tissues close while you read this one!!!"


New Moon (Twilight, Bk 2)
New Moon (Twilight, Bk 2)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3916
Review Date: 8/26/2008
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is the second book in the Twilight series. The characters in the books keep you fully engrossed into the story. I couldn't put this "young adult" book down. Even though some of the plot was predictable it made the emotions the main character was going through that much more believable. It is possible to read this book without reading the first in the series but I wouldn't recommend it. I had to run out to get the third in the series the second I put this book down."


The Night Before the New Baby (Reading Railroad Books)
The Night Before the New Baby (Reading Railroad Books)
Author: Natasha Wing
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  ?
Review Date: 10/31/2008
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is a cute book about a little girl waiting for her mom to have a baby. It is poetically set to the tone of "The Night Before Christmas". Nothing technical about having a baby in this book. It is just a fun little story: little girl waits with Grandma at home when Mom and Dad go to the hospital, then she goes and visits her new baby....you'll have to read it to find out!"


The Night Circus
The Night Circus
Author: Erin Morgenstern
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 8/9/2013


"I loved this book, mostly because it does not flow in chronological order. Often the only way to notice the time change was by catching the date in the chapter title since chapters bounced from the point of view of different characters. It is full of mystery, magic, and love."


The Other Queen
The Other Queen
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 148
Review Date: 5/23/2009
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I would only recommend this book to other Philippa Gregory fans. It is not one of her better works but I love reading about characters from different books and what happens to them even if they are not the main characters. This book dragged a bit and it always seemed like it was leading up to something big and then just skipped to the end. If readers remember their history they will know what is going to happen anyway but its who the author gets us their which is what I usually like about Gregory books. This one was OK. I do love how she writes each chapter from a different character point of view. That makes it a much more entertaining read."


Pandora's Daughter
Pandora's Daughter
Author: Iris Johansen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 218
Review Date: 6/16/2008
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Not one of Iris Johansen's better books but the characters were intersting enough to make me care what happens to them. Worth while to read incase these characters come up in later books. More of the sci-fi/psychic genre, but had enough mystery and suspense to keep me wondering what will happen. My favorite thing about this authors books is how minor characters in one book become main characters in another while the book can stand alone and one does not need to have read any previous book by this author to be able to follow along."


1 to 20 of 31 - Page: