Rob K. (beachnbooks) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 62 - Page:
Area 7 (Scarecrow, Bk 2)
Area 7 (Scarecrow, Bk 2)
Author: Matthew Reilly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 148
Review Date: 8/30/2015


Well as another review described it was certainly BANG, BOOM, and KAPOW! What was amazing is that it was so non stop from start to end. Mr. Reilly seems to have an overactive mind and I don't know how he turns it off to sleep. How did these characters not simply reach a point where they sat down and say "enough, I'm pooped"? Well it was a fun read in the style of a high tech serial cliff hanger.


Bad Monkeys
Bad Monkeys
Author: Matt Ruff
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 6/27/2015


A very good and quite unique story with the author acknowledging Philip K Dick as one who helped him to shape it. That I can believe.


Big City, Bad Blood: A Novel
Big City, Bad Blood: A Novel
Author: Sean Chercover
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 11/7/2011


A good first book by the author that I was able get through quickly, and the author has set up a number of characters for a potential ongoing relationship. Unfortunately I read this book immediately after "Shadow Man" and I'm afraid this book may have been unfairly overwhelmed by "Shadow Man's" impression on me. Might be best to re-read this one in the future.


Black Hawk Down: A Story of Modern War
Black Hawk Down: A Story of Modern War
Author: Mark Bowden
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 72
Review Date: 10/12/2011


For me, an excellent read. I believe I bought this book after seeing the film and as usual, the book brought much more context to the story of men in a difficult combat situation.


The Blade Itself
The Blade Itself
Author: Marcus Sakey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 10/12/2011


An excellent debut book by a new author for me. I thoroughly enjoyed the pacing, the characters, plot line, and the close. I look forward to additional titles from Mr. Sakey.


Bleed for Me (Joseph O'Loughlin, Bk 4)
Bleed for Me (Joseph O'Loughlin, Bk 4)
Author: Michael Robotham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 5/29/2016


The characters and the plot line held up really well. The 3d book I've read by the author and each has been rewarding.


Both Sides of the Fence
Both Sides of the Fence
Author: Jean Chapman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/17/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This was a enjoyable read. My first book by this author and I thought she did a good job in getting me comfortable with the setting, the characters, and then the story. I wouldn't put this story in the camp of "thriller" but had a good element of suspense to it along with the protaganist's love for his partner.


The Bottoms
The Bottoms
Author: Joe R. Lansdale
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 6/1/2017


Spoiler Alert!!
I enjoyed this book but I kept comparing the characters in the story to those in "To Kill a Mockingbird". 2 children, a father respected by the black community, a death of a woman by a suspected black man, the young daughter attacked, young daughter saved by a man rarely seen. I know the breadth of the 2 stories are different but still there was a lot of similarities for me.


Box 21
Box 21
Author: Borge Hellstrom, Anders Roslund
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 6/11/2014


No need to make up something new ... see Cathy and Nelly's reviews. This book was fantastic and I highly recommend it.


The Breach (Travis Chase, Bk 1)
The Breach (Travis Chase, Bk 1)
Author: Patrick Lee
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 125
Review Date: 1/26/2013


This turned out to be an excellent first book in the trilogy that is combined action, thriller, sci-fi, and is
a great read. When I read the book blurb about the protaganist finding a plane that carried the President's wife I thought "ehhh". Well pardon me. That turned out to be a very mistaken presumptive ehhh. The follow up to this book is called "Ghost Country". If you're not a sci-fi fan, don't let that influence you into turning away from one terrific story.


By the Rivers of Babylon
By the Rivers of Babylon
Author: Nelson DeMille
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/15/2012


This was a book that I took a flyer on many, many years ago after reading a story outline blurb, but I was really taken by what a great storyline this turned out to be. He followed up with a 2nd book "Cathederal", also an exceptional story and read which turned me into a follower. I've not been disappointed by his any of his books although these first 2 were extremely powerful for me.


Champagne and Cocaine: A Novel
Champagne and Cocaine: A Novel
Author: Richard Vetere
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/1/2018


An enjoyable read with enough twists to keep you engaged, A story of sex, drugs, violence, and friendship. You're exposed to back room deals and danger in a world that once you rip the curtain isn't glamorous at all.


City Blood
City Blood
Author: Clark Howard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/3/2012


This was a book that I was not looking for, nor had heard anything about, prior to coming across it on a members bookshelf while doing a box of books swap. I liked the summary and thought I'd give it a go. When I finished it a couple of nights after receiving it I was very thankful that I had blundered across this fantastic story. Take the time to read this book, you'll love it...


City of the Sun (Frank Behr, Bk 1)
City of the Sun (Frank Behr, Bk 1)
Author: David Levien
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 8/26/2011


This first book by writer/screen writer/producer David Levien was, for me, outstanding. The key was the relationship that built between the main character and his client. The story line is about a parent's worst nightmare come true and the "at all cost" efforts of hoping to undo that nightmare. I really liked this book and the author co-wrote the screen plays for Rounders, Ocean's 13, and others and he's retained the option on this book for future filming.


The Cold Dish (Walt Longmire, Bk 1)
The Cold Dish (Walt Longmire, Bk 1)
Author: Craig Johnson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 12/3/2012
Helpful Score: 5


I waited patiently for this book even though I had already picked up some of the follow on titles in this series. I wanted to start from the beginning and I wasn't let down after having waited. This book was better than I had hoped! The writing style, the story line, the dialogue, and the relationships were all just terrific. I know that everyones likes are different but you'll not be sorry if you invest time in reading this book and this author.


Dead Men's Dust (Joe Hunter, Bk 1)
Dead Men's Dust (Joe Hunter, Bk 1)
Author: Matt Hilton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/29/2012


Started out really well and maintained a good storyline through 3/4 of the book. At that point I felt that the story began to draw out due to an overabundance of dialogue between characters that did not assist the storyline. This book would have been outstanding if the story had been condensed by 20 or so pages. The editor could have helped here in my opinion.


Deep Sky (Travis Chase, Bk 3)
Deep Sky (Travis Chase, Bk 3)
Author: Patrick Lee
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 1/29/2013
Helpful Score: 1


The last book in the trilogy was as enjoyable as the first two. He tied things together and wrap up very nicely while making me think. I can't believe these were 3 independent writing because they were so seamless. I felt as though this writer was someone who had written many books before to hone his skills but it's my understanding that this trilogy were his first writings. What a great way to start a career.


Douglas Adams's Starship Titanic
Douglas Adams's Starship Titanic
Author: Terry Jones
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 5/10/2012


I really liked this book. It has a grand feel to it and of course when you team up Terry Jones with Douglas Adams, well, just read it and see.


Douglas Adams's Starship Titanic
Douglas Adams's Starship Titanic
Author: Terry Jones
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 5/10/2012


I really liked this book. It has a grand feel to it and of course when you team up Terry Jones with Douglas Adams, well, just read it and see.


Drover (Jimmy Drover, Bk 1)
Drover (Jimmy Drover, Bk 1)
Author: Bill Granger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/26/2016


Very early on I was a bit put off by the style of writing and thought about moving on. I decided to keep going and shortly thereafter I was immersed in a very good story and found the style was the key to that. On to finding the next Drover story.


1 to 20 of 62 - Page: