Karen J. (surfwidow) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 37 - Page:
Bad Things
Bad Things
Author: Tamara Thorne
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 5/15/2009


It's not her best but it's still entertaining. A horror story about greenjacks, tiny mischevious demons who can steal souls.


The Bookseller of Kabul
The Bookseller of Kabul
Author: Asne Seierstad, Ingrid Christophersen (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 299
Review Date: 2/8/2010


This book is highly recommended if you are interested in learning about Afghan culture. Both informative and heartbreaking at times.


The Borgia Bride
The Borgia Bride
Author: Jeanne Kalogridis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 5/11/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Well-written historical fiction about the Borgias and Aragons in the late 1400s. I couldn't put it down!


Review Date: 2/20/2011


More super funny tales from Ms. Lancaster, although Bitter is still the best.


Candle Bay
Candle Bay
Author: Tamara Thorne
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 2/16/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I'm not into the vampire craze but I still enjoyed this horror story involving human/vampire hybrids who run a hotel in Candle Bay, CA. Thorne dishes up humor and sex as well as horror. It's almost as good as Haunted.


The Color of Water : A Black Man's Tribute to His White Mother
The Color of Water : A Black Man's Tribute to His White Mother
Author: James McBride
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 550
Review Date: 7/8/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I loved it! What an interesting woman the author's mother is!


The Constant Princess
The Constant Princess
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 776
Review Date: 7/22/2009


I thought this was much better than The Queen's Fool but not as good as The Other Boleyn Girl. I've gotten used to Gregory's repetitious writing style. The minor historical changes she made didn't bother me. It is fiction after all. A minor nitpick: I wish her thoughts about Bessie Blount and Henry Fitzroy had been included.


Cruel Deception
Cruel Deception
Author: Gregg Olsen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 4/13/2009
Helpful Score: 2


This is my first Gregg Olsen book, but definitely not my last. Well-written true crime account of a mother who has Manchausen Syndrome by Proxy, something I had not heard too much about. She was a bored homemaker who used her children to get attention from those around her by making them sick by deceptive means.


The Darkest Night: Two Sisters, a Brutal Murder, and the Loss of Innocence in a Small Town
Review Date: 12/11/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Franscell is a wonderful writer. This book far exceeded my expectations. I'll never look at bridges the same way again!


Dreams from My Father: A Story of Race and Inheritance
Dreams from My Father: A Story of Race and Inheritance
Author: Barack Obama
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 371
Review Date: 9/19/2009


While I don't share his political views, I really admire this man. The first and third parts of this book are wonderful, the middle part I felt lagged just a bit, but it was still interesting to read about his early rise in Chicago politics. I was impressed to find out he's as idealistic, caring and intellectual as the media reports. This is a must read for those who are curious about the background of our president.


Funny in Farsi : A Memoir of Growing Up Iranian in America
Funny in Farsi : A Memoir of Growing Up Iranian in America
Author: Firoozeh Dumas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 108
Review Date: 3/20/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book was in the style of A Girl Named Zippy. Both are funny and the fathers are prominent characters in the books. I thought Zippy was funnier though.


A Girl Named Zippy: Growing Up Small in Mooreland, Indiana
A Girl Named Zippy: Growing Up Small in Mooreland, Indiana
Author: Haven Kimmel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 522
Review Date: 1/7/2009


I'm 3 years younger than Zippy so I can relate to many of the childhood experiences she had, except I lived in the suburbs, she in the country. My mom never knew where I was either and it wasn't a big deal. Those were innocent times growing up in the 70s! Kimmel recalls it all in a funny, refreshing writing style.


The Good Girl's Guide to Getting Lost: A Memoir of Three Continents, Two Friends, and One Unexpected Adventure
Review Date: 12/3/2012


Enjoyable read about a young American woman who's caught between wanting to make her parents happy (hence the good girl in the title) by starting a career and having a strong urge to travel to faraway places. I liked her travel tidbits about the different countries she visited.


In the Company of the Courtesan
In the Company of the Courtesan
Author: Sarah Dunant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 228
Review Date: 7/30/2009


I enjoyed this tale of a courtesan and her dwarf in Venice in the early 1500s. I appreciate Dunant's research and found the time period fascinating. Almost as good as The Birth of Venus.


The Innocent Man
The Innocent Man
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 165
Review Date: 5/8/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I've always been pro death penalty but this book has made me reconsider my values. I would've given it 5 stars but felt that Grisham inserted his opinion too much, as if he didn't trust his readers to see the injustice done to Ron Williamson and others who were actually innocent of the crimes they were accused of.


Isabel's Daughter
Isabel's Daughter
Author: Judith Ryan Hendricks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 12/21/2008
Helpful Score: 1


What a wonderful read. Love the writer's sense of humor, the setting of Santa Fe, the love story. Avery searches out the people who knew her mother, whom she never knew, and ends up searching her own soul. Sounds corny but the story isn't. I'm going to read Bread Alone and keep an eye out for any others Hendricks writes in the future:=)


Jesus Land: A Memoir
Jesus Land: A Memoir
Author: Julia Scheeres
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 201
Review Date: 1/6/2009
Helpful Score: 5


After reading this book, I wish that I could've met David. He sounds like a great brother:=) This was a well-written memoir, but it needs some background on what made her parents into such devout Christians and why her mother was such a emotionally detached parent.


The Last Wife of Henry VIII
The Last Wife of Henry VIII
Author: Carolly Erickson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 7/17/2009
Helpful Score: 5


This book threw me when one of her husbands was completely changed and I never recovered:-( She was known for her common sense and some of her actions in this book contradicted those traits she was known to have. I just didn't buy all the changes. I know historical fiction IS fiction, but why not concentrate on the lesser known parts of her life to fictionalize instead of major ones? Maybe I'll try another by this author since I've read that this isn't one of her better ones.


Losing It: And Gaining My Life Back One Pound at a Time
Losing It: And Gaining My Life Back One Pound at a Time
Author: Valerie Bertinelli
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 177
Review Date: 11/10/2009


This seemed shallow, like a girl's childhood diary.


More Than You Know
More Than You Know
Author: Beth Gutcheon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 131
Review Date: 12/19/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I really liked this one. It doesn't hurt that I'm partial to ghost stories. Spooky with shades of Lizzie Borden.


1 to 20 of 37 - Page: