H B. (3boysmom) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 41 - Page:
Amadeus best friends
Amadeus best friends
Author: Eli Aleksandersen Cantillon
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/27/2006


A touch and feel book about a polar bear cub and his friends. Great for ages 1 1/2 thru 3 yrs.


Autobiography of a Fat Bride : True Tales of a Pretend Adulthood
Autobiography of a Fat Bride : True Tales of a Pretend Adulthood
Author: Laurie Notaro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 291
Review Date: 3/14/2006


Laurie Notaro is hilarious! There are several times during the book that I had tears in my eyes from laughing so hard.


Baby Faces
Baby Faces
Author: Dorling Kindersley Publishing
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/8/2005


My two year old loved this book from about 6 months until he was about 1 1/2 years old. It shows babies depicting different feelings....happy, sad, angry, worried, surprised, etc. Very cute. It is a chubby board book, with easy to clean pages.


Baby's First Nursery Treasury
Baby's First Nursery Treasury
Author: Adam House, Anthony Esposito
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/30/2006


Great illustrations that my little ones loved to look at. 40 nursery rhymes that we can all remember from our childhoods.


Be My Pal!
Be My Pal!
Author: William Joyce
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/30/2006


Cute Rolie Polie Olie board book.


Beautiful Bugs (Ana's Animals)
Beautiful Bugs (Ana's Animals)
Author: Ana Larranaga
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 1/30/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Cute board book. Great for ages 1 1/2 to 3 yrs. My 2 sons loved it. The bugs are not actual bugs, they are illustrations that are cute and friendly.


Bedroom Secrets (Silhouette Desire, No 1656)
Bedroom Secrets (Silhouette Desire, No 1656)
Author: Michelle Celmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 10/8/2005


Playboy Tyler Douglas loved everything about women-how they looked, the way they smelled, how they felt and tasted....But after a recent embarassing encounter, he was afraid to have anything to do with them. Until Tina Deluca, with her sweet innocent face and curvaceous body, walked into his life. He couldn't resist the shy virgin, especially when she offered to help him get over his "problem" with a sensual course in Lovemaking 101. They tried to take it slowly, but soon touching turned to kissing, and kissing turned to tasting.....and Tyler realized he was in over his head. Was he finally ready to offer his heart-and his body-to love?

This is a brand new book. I did not read it, so I can't give my personal opinion, but hopefully the description on the back of the book helps.


Behaving Bradley
Behaving Bradley
Author: Perry Nodelman
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 10/8/2005


My 11 year old son read this book in a little under two days. That says a lot to me, sometimes it feels like I am pulling teeth to get him to read. With this book, I had to ask him to put it down to come to the dinner table. He did tell me that there are some swear words in there, but nothing worse than I know he already hears at school from peers. He said he would highly recommend it.


Belly Laughs: The Naked Truth About Pregnancy and Childbirth
Belly Laughs: The Naked Truth About Pregnancy and Childbirth
Author: Jenny McCarthy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 187
Review Date: 10/10/2005
Helpful Score: 3


A witty and upfront look at the ups and downs, although mostly downs, of pregnancy. Jenny McCarthy is refreshingly honest. If you don't like "too much personal information", then this is not a book for you. If you are pregnant now, it gives you an honest look at some things you might experience that you may be embarassed to talk about with even your closest friends. If you are not pregnant, but have been, it allows you to have a good laugh remembering all the bad things about pregnancy. Overall, a quick and funny read.


Between Husbands and Friends
Between Husbands and Friends
Author: Nancy Thayer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 10/7/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Can you marry young and remain faithful all your life? Will marriage fulfill your deepest desires? Is a secret the same as a lie? To whom should you be most loyal, your best friend or your spouse?
These are some of the questions troubling Lucy West, the wife of Max West, editor of a small-tow Massachusetts newspaper. The Wests' best friends are the glamorous Cunninghams; their four children are friends too. Every August for ten years the two families have shared a summer house on Nantucket.
When they met in their twenties, Lucy and Kate Cunningham, vivacious young women who found their lives limited as wives and mothers, shared a certain restlessness that led to some wild times that their husbands knew nothing about. Lucy kept Kate's secrets from Chip, Kate's husband. Through the years, the secrets accumulated. And Lucy had some secrets of her own. Then one summer a pivotal event forces Lucy to expose what she's been hiding. And now they all must sift through the tangle of lies and love to discover where desire has led.

I have this book on my "favorites" list. The realness of the characters allows you to connect to them and the drama that they are experiencing. An excellent read that I would highly recommend.


Birnbaum's Walt Disney World 2006
Birnbaum's Walt Disney World 2006
Author: Birnbaum
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/10/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A great guide to doing the Disney experience. I have used the Birnbaum's guides all 3 times that I have gone to Disney. A must have!


Review Date: 9/7/2006
Helpful Score: 1


HILARIOUS!!!!


Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir
Change Me into Zeus's Daughter: A Memoir
Author: Barbara Robinette Moss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 3/14/2006


A wonderful book about a girl's childhood--growing up poor, with an abusive alcoholic father. I would liken it to The Glass Castle. An absolutely great read!


The Cheerios Animal Play Book
The Cheerios Animal Play Book
Author: Lee Wade
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 10/11/2005
Helpful Score: 1


My 4 yr and 2 yr olds loved adding eyes to the mice and giving the leopard his spots! It is a cute little book that can keep little hands busy and little mouths munching on a healthy snack!


Clothes (Pop It in the Pocket)
Clothes (Pop It in the Pocket)
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/27/2006


Cute little book with removable pieces of clothing on each page and pocket/closet to put the clothing in. Good for working on fine motor skills.


The Creek
The Creek
Author: Jennifer L. Holm
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/7/2006


My 12 yr old breezed through this book in 2 days. That really says something!:) He did say it is "a little freaky."


Cyndy Szekeres' Hugs (Golden Board Book)
Cyndy Szekeres' Hugs (Golden Board Book)
Author: Cyndy Szekeres
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 2/20/2006


Cute book appropriate for ages 1yr old thru 3 yrs. All about hugs--different kinds and different times to give/get them.


Dinosaur's Binkit
Dinosaur's Binkit
Author: Sandra Boynton
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/10/2006


Cute! Anyone who has a toddler will enjoy having this book. About a dino who can't go to bed without his "binkit" (favorite blankie).


Dora's School Day!
Dora's School Day!
Author: Emily Sollinger
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 5/5/2007


This is a Dora The Explorer book that is actually shaped like the character "Backpack" that Dora wears on the show. It is a very sturdy board book and has a velcro closure at the top, just as if it was a backpack. Very cute!


Evening News
Evening News
Author: Marly A. Swick
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 10/7/2005


From the book jacket:
Giselle thought she finally had it all together. She'd escaped from the Midwest to temperate southern California with her young son, Teddy. She'd married Dan Trias, the imapssioned professor of her Thursday evening composition class at Cal Tech. Dan seemed the perfect man for her: handsome, literate, articulate. They had a baby-Trina-who bound the four of them together. They had become a family, inviolable. Or so she'd thought.
When Trina and Teddy are involved in a terrible accident, fault lines immediately appear, revealing them as a family divided. Dan's ability to communicate lapses in the the face of the crisis and Giselle finds herself pulled between her grieving husband and her shocked son. And as she struggles to piece her family back together, Giselle has to teach herself the hardest lesson a mother can learn: how to forgive your child the unforgivable.


1 to 20 of 41 - Page: