Gerri R. - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
11/22/63
11/22/63
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 271
Review Date: 1/16/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Interesting idea, but not exactly what I thought the book would be. I was hoping for more information about the Kennedys and less about the Oswalds. I do enjoy time travel novels, and it has some interesting ideas. It will be interesting to see what Stephen King does next. I've read a lot of his older books, and this was somewhat of a departure, but a good one.


Dear John
Dear John
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 804
Review Date: 3/1/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I've read all of Nicholas Sparks books; some are better than others....this one is my favorite along with The Notebook. It had more than one theme in it and I loved that the female character had some morals. There is also a great understanding of people who are different; who have some sort of mental or emotional troubles. I didn't expect it to be more than a romance, but it was and I really liked that!


Fever 1793
Fever 1793
Author: Laurie Halse Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 189
Review Date: 3/13/2009
Helpful Score: 4


I read this book after my daughter read it and told me how good it was. I enjoyed it very much; it was the first time I really grasped the history of the era and how many people suffered. I read a lot of young adult books to understand history better. They are well-written and easier to read than adult novels. This is one of my all time favorite young adult novels; it is great for all ages! I highly recommend it.


Gluten-Free Grocery Shopping Guide 2008-2009
Gluten-Free Grocery Shopping Guide 2008-2009
Author: Mara Matison, Dainis Matison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/28/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent for taking to the store or even checking out food items at home and checking online to see if the info is still correct. Even though it's a bit out of date, lots of the info is still helpful, especially for those who are new to being gluten free.


I Capture the Castle
I Capture the Castle
Author: Dodie Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 148
Review Date: 2/26/2011
Helpful Score: 2


This is a wonderful story....very unique and makes you wish she had written dozens of books. It's a gem. It's the kind of book to read when you want to escape everything and pretend again. It's a young adult book which I originally purchased from my teenage daughter's school book order. I wish I had discovered it when in my teens, but I'm so happy I found it!! One of a kind!


Interpreter of Maladies
Interpreter of Maladies
Author: Jhumpa Lahiri
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 710
Review Date: 7/10/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I had to read some of these stories for a class I was in and I was engaged from the beginning. After the semester was over, I read the rest of them. What a great book! The title doesn't fo it justice at all. Even if you think you don't like short stories, you will change your mind. This is a wonderful book, and I can't wait to read "Unaccustomed Earth" her new short story collection..too bad they can't come up with better titles for her books. She is a treasure to read.


Mackinac Island
Mackinac Island
Author: Gail Gaymer Martin, DiAnn Mills, Janet Spaeth, Jill Stengl
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 3/1/2009
Helpful Score: 2


These 4 stories go through the beginnings of the island to today and tell stories about people who somehow manage to be related to each other! It was fun to read as I love visiting the island and it takes me back to being there. I love reading wholesome romance novels that focus on a Christian message....this one is very good!


Patty Jane's House of Curl
Patty Jane's House of Curl
Author: Lorna Landvik
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 247
Review Date: 7/29/2011
Helpful Score: 3


This book is unique; a gem in a sea of the same old stories. I didn't expect it to be so interesting. I wish there were more books that really surprise me like this one did. It reminds me of the feelings I used to get reading books when I found a lot of authors who had new styles.


the silent gift
the silent gift
Author: Michael Landon Jr. and Cindy Kelley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/3/2010
Helpful Score: 3


This book is not what I expected at first; I thought it would be an easy fun read, but it's a really disturbing novel about the difficulties life can throw at us. It is not easy to read, but worthwhile and, thankfully, has a happy ending after all!


Texas Belles
Texas Belles
Author: Kimberley Comeaux
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 49
Review Date: 3/1/2009


This book was much better than I expected. All 4 stories are interwoven about the same people and answer the questions you have when you read the first stories. It is a great Christian form of chick lit; great wholesome romance and the message of the Gospel shines through in the book!


1 to 10 of 10