Melissa T. (LuvtheBuckeyes) - Reviews

1 to 8 of 8
Beach Road
Beach Road
Author: James Patterson, Peter de Jonge
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 7/16/2007


An ending that I didn't see coming. I enjoy James Patterson's book and this one did not disappoint!


Call Me by Your Name
Call Me by Your Name
Author: Andre Aciman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 6/13/2008


This book was very highly recommended by several magazine book reviewers and the book description made it sound interesting. It was a good book, however, NOT what I thought it was going to be. There were a few parts of the book that actually made me a bit uncomfortable.


Daughters for a Time
Daughters for a Time
Author: Jennifer Handford
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 5/27/2013
Helpful Score: 1


A wonderfully written book describing the journey that one woman takes with infertility, loss of family and the joy of adoption. As someone who has contemplated adoption, this book stirred that desire back in me. It also is a touching example of learning that your past doesn't have to define who you are or the people you surround yourself with.


The Front (Winston Garano, Bk 2)
The Front (Winston Garano, Bk 2)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 193
Review Date: 8/4/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I am a huge fan of Patricia Cornwell and was greatly disappointed in this book. The story really doesn't go anywhere nor does it pull you in. It's deinfintely a quick read but I wouldn't read it again.


Going Overboard : The Misadventures of a Military Wife
Going Overboard : The Misadventures of a Military Wife
Author: Sarah Smiley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 2/21/2013


As a fellow military wife I was very disappointed in this book. The author comes across as a whiner and I'm not sure what the point of writing the book was - sympathy? Maybe civilians might find some, but the military community would read this and just say "buck-up little camper"


Japan Took the J.A.P. Out of Me
Japan Took the J.A.P. Out of Me
Author: Lisa F Cook
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/23/2011
Helpful Score: 1


REALLY enjoyed this book! I lived in Okinawa for a year and some of the very same things the author discusses are very close to home with my experiences. Gives the reader a much better understanding of another culture, but with a decidedly funny take on it. Just recommended it to my friends who lived over there!


Making Toast: A Family Story
Making Toast: A Family Story
Author: Roger Rosenblatt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 3/1/2013
Helpful Score: 3


I cannot being to imagine what it must be like to lose a child. While I appreciate Mr. Rosenblatt trying to give us insight into their lives after the death of their daughter, there might have been a better way to go about it. The book is an easy read and not broken up into chapters - more like little snippets of stories.

I was turned off by his name-dropping. I'm not sure at what point who he knows and what his daughter was given as a wedding gift from Jane Pauley is important to his family's struggle to continue living after their loss.


A Thousand Days in Tuscany : A Bittersweet Adventure
A Thousand Days in Tuscany : A Bittersweet Adventure
Author: Marlena De Blasi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 10/28/2011


We "read" this for book club and not one of us was able to finish it. It is a very slow read and has so much description that the plot of the story is lost. I was very disappointed.


1 to 8 of 8