Julie G. (LivingInPurple) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 44 - Page:
The Almost Moon
The Almost Moon
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 467
Review Date: 8/20/2009


Bizzare, wow and true to her writing style. Great read as are all of her books.


Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Meth Addiction
Beautiful Boy: A Father's Journey Through His Son's Meth Addiction
Author: David Sheff
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 157
Review Date: 3/7/2009
Helpful Score: 3


At one point about half way thru I almost put this book down. I was looking for more about the story of what happened than the facts of the addiction. I am happy that I kept reading. What an eye opener for me of how I have been dealing with the addicts in my own life.


Before and Again
Before and Again
Author: Doris Mortman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 1/25/2008


I could not put this down! I will read more from this author!


The Big Bad Wolf (Alex Cross, Bk 9)
The Big Bad Wolf (Alex Cross, Bk 9)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 718
Review Date: 10/21/2008


Great read!


Can You Keep a Secret?
Can You Keep a Secret?
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 798
Review Date: 3/1/2007


A fun and easy read!


The Confession
The Confession
Author: Rose Remington
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 1/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/30/2012


When I read the initial synopsis of this book I was very intrigued. After reading it I wish I never had read it. Warning to anyone that reads this book in my opinion it needs to be listed with an X rating. The graphic detail that the author uses to describe the sexual exploits take away from the "story" of this book. The reviews that are on the back cover of the book had to have been written by family and friends.


The Consolations of Philosophy (Vintage International)
The Consolations of Philosophy (Vintage International)
Author: Alain De Botton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 7/5/2010


Book was very informative and a good read.


Disgrace
Disgrace
Author: J. M. Coetzee
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/28/2011


Great easy read. First time reading this author. Enjoyed his writing style.


The Diving Bell and the Butterfly : A Memoir of Life in Death
Review Date: 1/3/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I could not put this down once I started it. I read it in one afternoon.


Down River
Down River
Author: John Hart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 1/16/2012


Loved it! I found the story line engrossing and at times did not want to stop reading this one. This is the 2nd of John Hart I have ready and I already have the 3rd one waiting for me.


Fly Away Home
Fly Away Home
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 5/20/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Good summer reading!


The Glass Castle
The Glass Castle
Author: Jeannette Walls
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 3374
Review Date: 5/26/2007
Helpful Score: 2


What a great book! At times brought tears to my eyes while at other times made me laugh out loud.


Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2851
Review Date: 11/22/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Was a bit slow getting started but once I got into it was a really great read. Definately had some twists that I was not expecting. Needed a couple kleenex!


Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, Bk 7)
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows (Harry Potter, Bk 7)
Author: J. K. Rowling
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 2055
Review Date: 10/21/2008


Took a while to get thru this one just because of the size of it. Was great and worth the read!


Hello, It's Me
Hello, It's Me
Author: Wendy Markham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 84
Review Date: 12/27/2008


Cute book kind of predictable but good book for a rainy day.


Honeymoon
Honeymoon
Author: James Patterson, Howard Roughan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 438
Review Date: 2/20/2007


Wow what an easy read! Once I started I could not stop. Very entertaining.


I Hope They Serve Beer In Hell
I Hope They Serve Beer In Hell
Author: Tucker Max
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 314
Review Date: 2/23/2009


I did not like this book at all. When I first started to read it I thought it was quite funny. Then when the author started to use the F word in every other sentence I lost interest.


The Last Child
The Last Child
Author: John Hart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 284
Review Date: 1/16/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I really llike Joh Hart's writing style and found this book a really good read at times even hard to put down. This was the first of his that I read and I havecontinued to read 2 more by this same author.


The Lost Symbol (Robert Langdon, Bk 3)
The Lost Symbol (Robert Langdon, Bk 3)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1035
Review Date: 7/30/2010


It was a little slow starting but once it got going it was really good. Definately not an ending I expected!


Max (Maximum Ride, Bk 5)
Max (Maximum Ride, Bk 5)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 9/28/2010


I did not care for this book at all. Style & story were both lame.


1 to 20 of 44 - Page: