Jan A. (rudy) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 39 - Page:
The Amateur Marriage
The Amateur Marriage
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 3/12/2006


I really enjoyed this book. Was a sad account of a WWII marriage that probably never should have been.


The Beach House
The Beach House
Author: James Patterson, Peter De Jonge
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 757
Review Date: 9/3/2009


I always enjoy James Patterson's book. This was another good one!


Because of Winn-Dixie
Because of Winn-Dixie
Author: Kate DiCamillo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 12/30/2006


Wonderful book for children and adults alike. I had heard so much about this book and every wonderful thing I heard was true.


Bound to Forgive: The Pilgrimage to Reconciliation of a Beirut Hostage
Review Date: 5/9/2006


Wonderful read


The Broker
The Broker
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 997
Review Date: 2/6/2006


This is one of his best I think. Couldn't put it down.


Cry, The Beloved Country
Cry, The Beloved Country
Author: Alan Paton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 222
Review Date: 1/20/2006


We read this book in a book club that I go to and I found it fascinating. Well written and yet disturbing because of the subject matter of life in South Africa


Deadly Grace
Deadly Grace
Author: Taylor Smith
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 46
Review Date: 4/16/2007


`Great read. Taylor Smith is an excellent mystery writer. Lots of twists and turns. A real page turner.


Don't Sweat the Small Stuff in Love (Don't Sweat the Small Stuff)
Review Date: 1/28/2006


Loved this little book filled with suggestions on how to strengthen your relationships


Ellen Foster
Ellen Foster
Author: Kaye Gibbons
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 482
Review Date: 2/7/2006


I liked this book. It was a little hard to catch onto the language but it was interesting and thought provoking


Empire Falls
Empire Falls
Author: Richard Russo
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 629
Review Date: 12/17/2005


If you liked the movie, the book is even better


The Final Frontiersman: Heimo Korth and His Family, Alone in Alaska's Arctic Wilderness
Review Date: 9/14/2005


True story of a family who choose to live alone in Alaska's artic wilderness. With the father of the family as his guide, the author gets a first hand look at the idea of the frontier life. A good read.


Fire Sale (V.  I. Warshawski, Bk 12)
Fire Sale (V. I. Warshawski, Bk 12)
Author: Sara Paretsky
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 123
Review Date: 9/6/2006


Wonderful book. If you like private investigator, V.I. Warshawski, you will like this book.


The Five Love Languages: How to Express Heartfelt Commitment to Your Mate
Review Date: 9/24/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Excellent book - amazing to see how you can change a person's attitude by discovering their love language


Flesh and Blood  (Alex Delaware, Bk 15)
Flesh and Blood (Alex Delaware, Bk 15)
Author: Jonathan Kellerman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 204
Review Date: 5/2/2006


Great read.


A Green Journey
A Green Journey
Author: Jon Hassler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 4/23/2006


This was the first Jon Hassler book I read but it wont' be the last. It was wonderful.


In My Hands: Memories of a Holocaust Rescuer
In My Hands: Memories of a Holocaust Rescuer
Author: Irene Opdyke, Jennifer Armstrong
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 4/16/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is a wonderful book - one that you will mull over and it will sit in your soul for days.


In the Presence of My Enemies
In the Presence of My Enemies
Author: Gracia Burnham, Dean Merrill
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 2/15/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Fascinating read about missionaries held as hostages in the Phillipines for over a year - I had a hard time putting it down


Into Thin Air: A Personal Account of the Mt. Everest Disaster
Into Thin Air: A Personal Account of the Mt. Everest Disaster
Author: Jon Krakauer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 403
Review Date: 10/14/2005


Great book. Great writer.


Jayber Crow
Jayber Crow
Author: Wendell Berry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 9/23/2005
Helpful Score: 1


Read this book for a book club I am in. Great discussion. Slow read at times but kept me interested.


The Memory Keeper's Daughter
The Memory Keeper's Daughter
Author: Kim Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5399
Review Date: 6/30/2006


Wonderful book, Kept my interest and was actually hard to put down.


1 to 20 of 39 - Page: