Jerri R. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 33 - Page:
10th Anniversary (Women's Murder Club, Bk 10)
10th Anniversary (Women's Murder Club, Bk 10)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/21/2012


I've read them all and The Women's Murder Club series of books are all really good. Quick easy chapters to read as usual.


3rd Degree (Women's Murder Club, Bk 3)
3rd Degree (Women's Murder Club, Bk 3)
Author: James Patterson, Andrew Gross
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1050
Review Date: 8/27/2009


A lot of details but you don't get lost. Fast paced and keeps you hooked. I really enjoy the Lindsay Boxer character.


5 Bodies to Die For (Body Movers, Bk 5)
5 Bodies to Die For (Body Movers, Bk 5)
Author: Stephanie Bond
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 8/5/2011


The book doesn't really have an end otherwise the story is interesting. I guess that you have to read the whole series of books to know what's what.


The 6th Target  (Women's Murder Club, Bk 6)
The 6th Target (Women's Murder Club, Bk 6)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 384
Review Date: 8/27/2009


Easy to read and a real page turner. Subject matter is very intriguing and keeps you wanting to know what is next. Women's Murder Club books have all been excellent.


The 9th Judgment (Women's Murder Club, Bk 9)
The 9th Judgment (Women's Murder Club, Bk 9)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 8/23/2011


Story line was not my favorite as it involved children. Book is well written (typical of Patterson) but the ending was pretty punk. I'll read his next book regardless.


Anything Goes (Grace and Favor, Bk 1)
Anything Goes (Grace and Favor, Bk 1)
Author: Jill Churchill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 4/12/2016


Frankly I found it boring but I tend to read books by James Patterson and Robert B Parker. I am looking for new authors so am trying out a variety of authors that I've never read before. This one was way too light and didn't entertain me.


Bullseye (Michael Bennett, Bk 9)
Bullseye (Michael Bennett, Bk 9)
Author: James Patterson, Michael Ledwidge
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 7/25/2017


Too many characters for me. I don't have the time to read a book in one sitting so I had to do a lot of back tracking to refresh my memory.


The Dark Tide (Ty Hauck, Bk 1)
The Dark Tide (Ty Hauck, Bk 1)
Author: Andrew Gross
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 10/23/2011


Fast paced and entertaining. A really good book with an interesting ending. Andrew Gross is an excellent writer and spins a really good yarn.


Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, Bk 1)
Fifty Shades of Grey (Fifty Shades, Bk 1)
Author: E. L. James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1046
Review Date: 6/22/2012


When I first heard about this book I couldn't wait to get it so I ordered it for London. I kid you not this was a huge mistake for me. I am NOT into S&M therefore I simply couldn't stand the book. Most people that I've talked to think that it's porn but I don't think that it is. It is twisted in that getting beaten up enhanced their sexual experiences. Somehow I don't think that bruises in hidden places is much of a turn on. Spankings that leave your skin bright pink don't appeal to me. And then there is the beating with a belt that really turned me off. Don't get me wrong I like a nice dollop of sex in my books just like anybody else but S&M just isn't entertainment to me.


Ford Country
Ford Country
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/19/2010


One thing about it John Grisham knows how to write a really sad story just like when he wrote The Chamber and one of his stories in this book is just that gut wrenching. Fortunately it was a short story. I have read every one of his books (and waited 4 months for this one)and was disappointed. Regardless I will buy his next book. I wouldn't want to miss out just in case the next one is super good.


Honeymoon
Honeymoon
Author: James Patterson, Howard Roughan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 438
Review Date: 9/15/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Typical Patterson book in that it kept you wondering until the end BUT this time the end disappointed me. We deserved more on the end of the villain. All in all it was a pretty good read.


Invisible
Invisible
Author: James Patterson, David Ellis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 12/28/2015


James Patterson is an excellent writer but for me this one was way too dark and intense. I only read the first 200 pages and had to let it go.


Gray Mountain
Gray Mountain
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 8/9/2015


I've read most of Grisham's books and for the most part really enjoyed them, with the exception of The Chamber, I didn't even remotely care for this one. I'm just as concerned about the environment as the next person but I read for enjoyment not to read about ALL of the injustices taking place in the coal industry in West Virginia. Granted I don't have any warm feelings for the coal companies but when I do have the time to sit down to read it's for entertainment not 260 pages of all of the wrongs committed by the coal companies assisted by our government. The last 100 pages weren't as intense on the subject but still had a lot of all of the ugliness of the first 260. But if you enjoy that sort of thing then by all means you should read this book. It is well written and informative.


Jake & Mimi
Jake & Mimi
Author: Frank Baldwin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 12/30/2010


If you like mind benders and thrillers then this is the book for you. I had a hard time following all of the characters making the story hard for me to follow.


Mrs. Robinson's Disgrace: The Private Diary of a Victorian Lady
Mrs. Robinson's Disgrace: The Private Diary of a Victorian Lady
Author: Kate Summerscale
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 11/25/2012


Not a good read unless you like tedium. At best it was a story set in the victorian era that detailed a fluttery woman's life. YAWN!!!


Pale Kings and Princes (Spenser, Bk 14)
Pale Kings and Princes (Spenser, Bk 14)
Author: Robert B. Parker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 9/2/2015


Typical Parker novel. Good, easy summer read. Lots of twists and turns.


Potshot (Spenser, Bk 28)
Potshot (Spenser, Bk 28)
Author: Robert B. Parker
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 7/26/2015


Spenser has an interesting sense of humor that offsets the ugly crimes so that the book doesn't get real heavy. All of Robert Parker's books (and I've read about 85% of them)are easy reads.


The Private School Murders (Confessions, Bk 2)
The Private School Murders (Confessions, Bk 2)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 1/28/2015


Patterson lost me in this book when he started kidnapping and killing babies. Certainly not his finest effort!! Generally Maxine Paetro is stellar but not this time. This series is more like a continuing soap opera than independent story in each book.


Private Vegas (Private, Bk 9)
Private Vegas (Private, Bk 9)
Author: James Patterson, Maxine Paetro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 10/6/2015


I really like most of James Patterson but this series is just not my style. The problem for me is that there are way too many characters to keep up with. I started making a list so that I could backtrack and see who/what they were about. This book had nearly 50! Lots of different story lines as well. Too busy!!


The Rana Look
The Rana Look
Author: Sandra Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 92
Review Date: 11/16/2015


YAWN


1 to 20 of 33 - Page: