Julie V. (ivydell) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 20
Beverly Hills Dead (Rick Barron, Bk 2) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 4/29/2010


Stuard Woods delivers an enjoyable tale, as always. I actually have not quite finished, and still haven't figured out who dun it - JV


The Brass Verdict (Mickey Haller, Bk 2) (Harry Bosch, Bk 14) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 3/20/2012


I always enjoy the Mickey Haller books, but this one is my favorite so far. There's a little interesting twist at the end regarding Harry Bosch!


Crazies to the Left of Me, Wimps to the Right: How One Side Lost Its Mind and the Other Lost Its Nerve (Unabridged Audio CD)
Review Date: 3/20/2012


Okay, but sort of out of date.


Executive Privilege (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 1/7/2014


Good enough. It kept me entertained on a long drive.


Falling Angel (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Falling Angel (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Tracy Chevalier, Anne Twomey (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 11/9/2015


I enjoyed this book ever so much! It isn't my usual genre, so I was surprised to find this story of two young girls and their unusual young friend was quite absorbing.


Ford County (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Ford County (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 8/31/2016


It is short stories, not a novel. I just don't like short stories.


Heat Lightning (Virgil Flowers, Bk 2) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 6/24/2012


Loved this book - The more of John Sandford's books I read, the better I like them.


The Hit (Will Robie, Bk 2) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 2/9/2016


Good entertainment for driving time.


How to Talk to a Liberal (If You Must) : The World According to Ann Coulter (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 12/9/2011


This is a little dated, but fact checked and hilarious!


Intervention (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Intervention (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: George Guidall (Narrator), Robin Cook
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 5/16/2011


More about the New York City Medical Examiner who rides his bicycle to work. As well written as you'd expect from Robin Cook - with an unexpected plot twist!


Mad River (Virgil Flowers, Bk 6) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 11/18/2014


I always enjoy the books about Virgil Flowers. He reminds me of someone I know, or maybe someone I knew in the past. Tight plot, tense situation, and he keeps you guessing.


Nights of Rain and Stars (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 10/28/2010


Maeve Binchey always develops characters you care about. In this book, it's a story of tourists from four different countries who meet in a small Greek village. A tragic boating accident delays their travels. Their personal stories are uncovered and their futures are changed as they learn the truth about each other and themselves.


Nine Dragons (Harry Bosch, Bk 15) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 10/8/2012


With each of Michael Connelly's books I read, I become a bigger fan. This one was kept me worried and not sure what was going to happen almost all of the way through. Harry Bosch is an old friend, so I'm delighted when he gets things worked out.


The Prince of Beverly Hills (Rick Barron, Bk 1) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 10/3/2010


Good story - just what you would expect from the author & familiar characters!


Rhett Butler's People (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 1/28/2012


This book attempts to piggyback on the fame of "Gone with the Wind" by telling everything you ever wanted to know about the life and times of Rhett Butler. I found it very tedious, and gave up reading after three chapters.


The Scarecrow (Jack McEvoy, Bk 2) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 5/25/2012


I was already a fan of Michael Connelly's books when I got this one, and it is the best yet. He uses a couple of characters we have already met, and tangles their lives in a murder mystery/thriller that is satisfactory to the end!


The Shape Shifter (Joe Leaphorn/Jim Chee, Bk 18) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 1/15/2011


If you love Tony Hillerman's books as I do, you will love this story about Lt. Leaphorn, who is now SUPPOSED to be retired. He keeps you guessing until the end.


The Society (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
The Society (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Michael Palmer, J. Charles (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 4/22/2015


Pretty good plot, but the dialogue, which includes a lot of bantering under life-and-death circumstances, seems immature. Also, at the end our hero and heroine are left dangling in great danger, then hey presto we fast forward in time without explaining how they got out of the mess.


The Tenth Circle (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
The Tenth Circle (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Carol Monda (Narrator), Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 4/14/2011


Very well written, but I hated the story line. I didn't listen to the whole thing - too upsetting!


True Evil (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
True Evil (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Greg Iles, Dick Hill (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 8/24/2012


This is the first Greg Iles book I have read, and the plot is intricate, the characters well-developed, and the the suspense is gripping. I have a new favorite author!


1 to 20 of 20