Diane K. (dmkay) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 208 - Page:
8 Sandpiper Way (Cedar Cove, Bk 8)
8 Sandpiper Way (Cedar Cove, Bk 8)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 472
Review Date: 10/11/2008
Helpful Score: 11


I did not enjoy this book and skipped a lot of the chapters. I like this author's writing; I don't like it when each chapter is a separate story and the reader needs to learn a whole new story, new people and new circumstances every few pages. The story is all chopped into pieces and it's several chapters before you return to the story and people you started with. Then you read another few pages about them, then suddenly the next chapter is about someone else you probably met about 4 chapters ago, and so on and so on. If you like this style of writing and you have kept up with all the people living in Cedar Grove during the past several books, you'll probably enjoy this book. But if you don't yet know anyone in Cedar Grove, I would recommend you start with an earlier book in the series.


About That Man (Trinity Harbor, Bk 1)
About That Man (Trinity Harbor, Bk 1)
Author: Sherryl Woods
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 114
Review Date: 6/3/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Perfect town, sensible unmarried Sunday School teacher, orphaned boy - mix thoroughly. Then try and add the boy's long-lost uncle, a big-city cop and watch the feathers fly! Very enjoyable.


After Dark  (Harmony, Bk 1)
After Dark (Harmony, Bk 1)
Author: Jayne Castle
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 286
Review Date: 8/29/2006


"An oasis of delight for readers who appreciate nuance and wit, as well as the heady charm of a great romance." - Romantic Times


All Through the Night (Troubleshooters, Bk 12)
All Through the Night (Troubleshooters, Bk 12)
Author: Suzanne Brockmann
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 134
Review Date: 5/29/2010


This was not one of my favorite Suzanne Brockmann books, but she never really writes a bad one. Thia one was overly concerned with the personal relationships of Jules, and didn't focus enough on the suspense part of the story. Okay, already, he's gay, we accept that. Can we move on?


Almost a Lady (Rose Trilogy, Bk 3)
Almost a Lady (Rose Trilogy, Bk 3)
Author: Heidi Betts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 2/9/2007


Interesting story of a female Pinkerton agent.


The Amen Trail (Letty & Eulis, Bk 2)
The Amen Trail (Letty & Eulis, Bk 2)
Author: Sharon Sala
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 10/21/2014


What a fun read! It's a fitting follow-up to "Whippoorwill", but you don't have to read that one first, if you can't. Eulis and Letty are both such strong, adaptable people and I never tired of accompanying them on all their adventures and all the scrapes into which they landed. I highly recommend this book.


An Angel in Time
An Angel in Time
Author: Stella Cameron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 1/16/2008


A very sweet story, at Christmas or any time, with a touch of the paranormal.


Atonement (Beartooth, Montana, Bk 4)
Atonement (Beartooth, Montana, Bk 4)
Author: B. J. Daniels
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 4/2/2014


This book starts out very well, but gets confusing and involved in too many side stories pretty early on. It's difficult to concentrate and keep all the characters straight (as to which story you are dealing with now). Sometimes there is absolutely no transition from one character to another, or from one situation (side story) to another. Not this author's best effort.


The Bastard (Kent Family Chronicles, Bk  1)
The Bastard (Kent Family Chronicles, Bk 1)
Author: John Jakes
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 7/19/2006


Book 1 of the Kent Family Chronicles. Exciting and well written, the story of the illegitimate son of the Duke of Kentland who travels to America, changes his name, works in a printing house and becomes embroiled in the Revolutionary War.
A Painless way to learn about history; I couldn't put it down!


Beachcomber
Beachcomber
Author: Karen Robards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 136
Review Date: 5/11/2007
Helpful Score: 3


Excellent! The story moves along with a good pace; full of suspense, but fun, too.


Because You're Mine (Capitol Theatre, Bk 2)
Because You're Mine (Capitol Theatre, Bk 2)
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 304
Review Date: 9/11/2007


Excellent story; one of her best!


Belle Pointe
Belle Pointe
Author: Karen Young
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 7/18/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Suspense, romance, and Southern charm & backbiting. Great reading!


Beloved Impostor (Beloved, Bk 1)
Beloved Impostor (Beloved, Bk 1)
Author: Patricia Potter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 4/11/2007


Ms. Potter's books are a guaranteed good read.


Beneath a Silver Moon
Beneath a Silver Moon
Author: Deborah Schneider
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 9/2/2006


What a fun romp with plenty of sizzling romance, too. This author has a great sense of humor!


Best Laid Plans
Best Laid Plans
Author: Constance O'Day-Flannery
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 4/11/2009


First book in the Yellow Brick Road Gang (otherwise known as Metaphysical Misadventures in the Search for Enlightenmant). This book is such fun! If you haven't read anything by Ms. O'Day-Flannery yet, you're missing out. She always comes up with out-of-the-ordinary plots and characters, along with the sexy romance. The hero in this book is part fantasy, part angel and all man. I give this one at least a 4.5.


Bet Me
Bet Me
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 879
Review Date: 3/31/2007
Helpful Score: 1


A really fun book - I like all Jennifer Crusie's work. She develops her characters fully and the dialogue is always witty. From the back: "...Crusie delivers a novel about long shots, risk management, true love and great shoes...".


Beware of Virtuous Women (Romney Marsh, Bk 3)
Beware of Virtuous Women (Romney Marsh, Bk 3)
Author: Kasey Michaels
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 69
Review Date: 8/27/2006


1813 England. The Beckets of Romney Marsh - protecting their neighbors' smuggling efforts with their Black Ghost Gang - securing the area and operating in peace for 2 years. Then an alliance is formed between the oldest Becket daughter and a business associate - to pose as man and wife in order to bring down the vicious Red Men Gang who are terrorizing the area.


Blow Me Down
Blow Me Down
Author: Katie MacAlister
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 405
Review Date: 7/17/2006


financial analyst Amy spends online time as Earless Erika, battling Black Corbin on the virtual reality game Buckling Swashes.
GREAT contemporary romance with some mystery and suspense rolled in!


Blue-Eyed Devil (Travis, Bk 2)
Blue-Eyed Devil (Travis, Bk 2)
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 260
Review Date: 1/16/2011


Excellent book! The author gives a very accurate accounting of exactly what it's like to live in an abusive marriage. I know, I've been there. It was almost uncanny how similar Haven's experience was to my own. There must be many, many women out there to whom this has happened. I got out, but the feeling of failure was there. I would recommend this book to anyone, but especially those who are or have been in a relationship with a narcissistic personality.


Blue Twilight (Wings in the Night, Bk 11)
Blue Twilight (Wings in the Night, Bk 11)
Author: Maggie Shayne
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 240
Review Date: 8/29/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I love Maggie Shayne's books! This book, in order of the characters' lives, fits right after "Twilight Hunger" and before "Embrace the Twilight". "Mad Maxie" Stuart, private investigator, and her unsettled relationship with Lou Malone.


1 to 20 of 208 - Page: