Brandy M. (jimaneye) - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim
Dress Your Family in Corduroy and Denim
Author: David Sedaris
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 515
Review Date: 6/14/2008


Dark humor. In my opinion, this is the best Sedaris book I have read. Not as dark as some of his other books. A quick read.


The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test
The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test
Author: Tom Wolfe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 5/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I read this for a Journalism class towards my Masters Degree. I found it to be a very hard read. It has a lot of history (first hand knowledge) about the 60's "hippie" culture. I found myself longing for the end of the sentence, which could be 2 pages away. Interesting but very difficult to get through.


Moose: A Memoir of Fat Camp
Moose: A Memoir of Fat Camp
Author: Stephanie Klein
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 10/2/2009


I enjoyed this book. I think it helps the enjoyment if you were raised in the 80's. I don't think it's for everyone but I liked it!


Novel Ideas: Contemporary Authors Share the Creative Process
Review Date: 6/14/2008


I kept this book in my bookshelf for at least 5 years. I would periodically pick it up and try to get some "Novel Ideas". This book just did not provoke my book writing.


The One Year Book of Hymns
The One Year Book of Hymns
Author: Robert K. Brown, Mark R. Norton, William J. Petersen, Randy Petersen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/14/2008


The hymns in this book are older hymns (and I have some old hymnals which still do not include these hymns). Or posibly these hymns are not popular in the Baptist Hymnals. I often wanted to play the hymn I was reading about but could not find the music in any of my hymnals.

But, the information for each hymn is interesting.


The Shining (Signet Book)
The Shining (Signet Book)
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 5/19/2007


I am a big Stephen King fan. The only reason I am listing this book is because I know I will never read it again. Scared the mess out of me. Just can't do it again. GREAT!!!


Skin
Skin
Author: Ted Dekker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 11/18/2009


I really enjoyed this book. It kept me entertained!


The Street Lawyer
The Street Lawyer
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1048
Review Date: 5/19/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Too many coincidences. This book kept me interested for the first half but the story just became too..well, coincidental.


The Ultimate Weight Solution: The 7 Keys to Weight Loss Freedom
The Ultimate Weight Solution: The 7 Keys to Weight Loss Freedom
Author: Phillip C. McGraw
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 244
Review Date: 5/19/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Well, great tips. But as weight loss goes, you have to be ready to make a life change.


A Year Without "Made in China": One Family's True Life Adventure in the Global Economy
Review Date: 6/14/2008


You can read the title and use your own imagination for a more interesting time.


1 to 10 of 10