Mandy D. (MLLoudRed) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 34 - Page:
Angel Falls
Angel Falls
Author: Kristin Hannah
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 3/13/2007


Mikayla is a loving wife with two children and known throughout the small town of Angel Falls. She suffers from a head injury and goes into a coma. Her husband sits with her, talking and singing, bringing her flowers, doing everything he can to wake her. The only word she says is "Jules" and her husband figures out, with the help of her mother and a dress found in the closet, that she was once married to movie star Julian True. At the end of his ideas, he calls Julian, hoping he will remember her and come to visit her and be able to awake her. The family is tested as Mikayla has to choose which life she will return to and where her love and loyalty lie. Her husband's love never ceases and he put himself on the line for her, but will it end in her leaving him behind?


Annie Freeman's Fabulous Traveling Funeral
Annie Freeman's Fabulous Traveling Funeral
Author: Kris Radish
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 297
Review Date: 1/31/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book is chick lit to the extreme, as in feminist. If you can get over the estrogen overload (and noticeable lack of prominent male characters) then the story is creative and the friendship enjoyed by the members of the traveling funeral is admirable.


Bitterroot Landing
Bitterroot Landing
Author: Sheri Reynolds
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 4/19/2007


I read this book for a reading circle in class. Which was good, because it definitely required some discussion. Gave me insight to the world of sexual abuse survivors and the struggles they face. Not a light read, but a thought-provoking novel.


Chocolate Beach
Chocolate Beach
Author: Julie Carobini
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 1/11/2008
Helpful Score: 2


I'll admit that I was caught by the cover of the book, but it was a good story too! Definitely within the confines of chick lit, this story is about Bri Stone and those around her. There's her work-a-holic husband, her surfing teenage son and his friends, the mother-in-law, and her best gal pal Gaby, that she can't resist playing matchmaker for. The story is set in Ventura, California, and yes there is plenty of beach and chocolate inside!


Clara Lee and the Apple Pie Dream
Clara Lee and the Apple Pie Dream
Author: Jenny Han, Julia Kuo
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/27/2010


**I read an ARC of this book where much of the art was not finalized**

This book was short and sweet, about a Korean- American girl named Clara Lee who has dreams of being on the Apple Blossom Festival. She has a dream that her grandfather interprets to mean good luck, which leads her to keeping track of all the good things that happen to her. As the list grows, she gets the courage to sign up for the speech contest that determines who will ride on the float. But as her luck seems to turn, will she be able to talk in front of the whole school on her own? Nice lesson about every day being sprinkled with good and bad luck, and nice integration of the Korean culture. The art that was included looked promising, gentle sketches that flowed with the story but didn't detract from it.


The Copper Beech
The Copper Beech
Author: Maeve Binchy
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 1/2/2008


Maeve Binchy always tells a good story and this one is no exception. Copper Beech tells the story of a small town in Ireland, Shancarrig. The same span of twenty years or so is covered from the viewpoints of nine different residents of the town. It's fascinating to see how all of their lives are intertwined. The copper beech of the title is a huge tree that stands by the schoolhouse, and it has years worth of history carved into it as it has become tradition for each member of each graduating class to carve something. The residents of Shancarrig and the stories told with the help of the beech tree carvings will find their way into your heart.


The Cubicle Next Door
The Cubicle Next Door
Author: Siri L. Mitchell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 3/22/2008


This book was funny, I was actually laughing out loud while I was reading it. Very clever how the blog is intertwined with the story, giving it a contemporary feel and helping us see Jackie as the other characters in the book see her.


Every Young Woman's Battle : Guarding Your Mind, Heart, and Body in a Sex-Saturated World (The Every Man Series)
Review Date: 6/15/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I thought this book was very well written and gave me insight into some of the biblical passages that promote sexual purity. Definitely a topic that needed to be written about and Shannon Ethridge did a great job with it.


Fearless (Fearless,  Bk 1)
Fearless (Fearless, Bk 1)
Author: Francine Pascal
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 3/9/2007
Helpful Score: 6


This is the first of a series that lasts for 36 novels (plus two special editions). It is about Gaia Moore, a blond teenager in New York City who doesn't know she's beautiful and would rather beat someone up than wear a dress. She is the daughter of a CIA agent and was born without the fear gene. I read the whole series, and it kept my interest. But it is a little twisted sometimes, and there's a lot of violence. I wouldn't recommend this series to those under 13.


Forever (Firstborn, Bk 5)
Forever (Firstborn, Bk 5)
Author: Karen Kingsbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 167
Review Date: 2/23/2007


This book was amazing, even for Karen Kingsbury. A satisfying finish to the Firstborn series, a few tissues for the strong emotional reaction, and of course looking forward to the Sunrise series coming out to continue the adventures with these characters.


God's Gift
God's Gift
Author: Dee Henderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 105
Review Date: 5/18/2007


Really enjoyed this book. Stayed up late to finish it. I liked the characters and was glad the plot wasn't wholly predictable.


How I Fell in Love with a Librarian and Lived to Tell about it
How I Fell in Love with a Librarian and Lived to Tell about it
Author: Rhett Ellis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/10/2009


Not sure what I expected from this book, just requested it because I work in a library and the title caught my eye. It's a short, sweet story that takes place in a small town. The preacher falls in love with the new librarian and they take on the town council that wants to close the library. A quick read.


If You Could See Me Now (aka A Silver Lining)
If You Could See Me Now (aka A Silver Lining)
Author: Cecelia Ahern
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/9/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This book falls most closely into the romance category, but I'm reluctant to call it that. Ivan is far from a knight in shining armor and the relationship he has with Elizabeth Egan is romantic, but not sexual. Ivan brings out the child in her, teaches her how to have fun in life-- to forget the problems of her family and even to introduce color into her wardrobe. The effects of his time in her life will last forever, even though he has to move on, for reasons that Luke understands but Elizabeth takes much longer to work through.


Larousse Mini French/English English/French Dictionary
Larousse Mini French/English English/French Dictionary
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/17/2007


At just over 300 pages, this dictionary isn't big. But the 40,000 translations were enough to get me through middle school and high school French. The book measures 4.5 by 3 inches, and is only 1 inch thick. The size is convenient, you could carry it in a backpack, a purse, even your pocket if you had to.


Mandy
Mandy
Author: Julie Andrews Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 52
Review Date: 6/5/2007
Helpful Score: 3


One of my all-time favorite books. Mandy lives in an orphanage and finds a little cottage in the woods. She doesn't know who it belongs to, but she goes back often and makes it a place all her own. But Mandy gets very sick one day in the cottage and wishes she had told someone where she was going...


The Memory Keeper's Daughter
The Memory Keeper's Daughter
Author: Kim Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5391
Review Date: 11/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I decided to read this book because it had gotten a lot of hype, which it deserved. The story is a very powerful one, very intriguing, and definitely keeps your attention. You wonder how something like this could happen, but at the same time you see how it so easily could. Definitely recommended. A beautiful realistic portrait of family life and of down syndrome.


The Penny
The Penny
Author: Deborah Bedford, Joyce Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 9/18/2007
Helpful Score: 10


This book came recommended by two family members, so I had to read it. The main character is a young girl named Jenny who lives with her sister and her parents in the 1950s. Her sister Jean is about to go off to secretarial school, and she's afraid of being left to face their father alone. But then one day, Jenny Blake finds a penny and picks it up, a decision that causes a chain of events that change the course of the rest of her summer and maybe even her life.

The characters were all portrayed very realistically, and you always felt the pain or triumph of the main character. A great story of love, especially of Christ's love and it's power to renew and change us for the better.


Playing For Pizza
Playing For Pizza
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 453
Review Date: 1/6/2008
Helpful Score: 5


I haven't read any of Grisham's other books, but from what I understand, this is a different style for him. This story is of an American football player whose only hope of playing another season lies in the small town of Parma, Italy, of Parmesan cheese fame. Rick Dockery arrives dressed in Florida golf wear and not sure what to expect. What he finds is a team that plays for the love of the game, not for money, and a comradery that crosses language barriers. He also finds a different culture, that appreciates long meals with good food and good company. I got lost in some of the football details of the story, but the characters were so well portrayed that it didn't even matter. Definitely worth all the attention it received.


Remember (Redemption, Bk 2)
Remember (Redemption, Bk 2)
Author: Karen Kingsbury, Gary Smalley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 171
Review Date: 3/8/2007
Helpful Score: 4


This book was very well written. It struck a chord with me, and I'm sure everybody can find something to relate to. But I do recommend having tissues nearby, because in addition to the usual emotions Kingsbury's books bring up, this book also had the Baxter family dealing with September 11th. Definitely worth reading, though I do recommend reading Redemption first.


Remember Tuesday Morning (9/11 Series)
Remember Tuesday Morning (9/11 Series)
Author: Karen Kingsbury
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/17/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Just to let you know, this book was previously released under the title "Every Now and Then," so you may have already read it.


1 to 20 of 34 - Page: